Topic Title: Lots of problems with my Radeon 6770
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/24/2013 03:29 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/24/2013 03:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hgrslayer
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/24/2013

- Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6770 1GB

- AMD Catalyst Version: 12.104.0.0

- Issue Details: I'm having FPS issues with some games and I also see some screen tearing

- Power Supply: I have a 500W PSU that I don't know the brand.

- Applications and Games: World of Warcraft: Mists of Pandaria, DOTA2 and Counter-Strike 1.6.

- CPU Details: Itel Pentium D 915 2.80GHz Dual Core

- System Memory: 3GB, Kingston.

- System info: Windows Vista 32bits, SP2 

 

 07/24/2013 04:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12188
Joined: 04/17/2008

WoW is a RAM and CPU bound game. Dota 2 was just released and your system barely meets the minimum requirements of a 2.8ghz dual core, though since you have an old dual core it may actually be below the requirements.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/24/2013 08:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hgrslayer
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/24/2013

I agree that some of the specs aren't good, but I used to get better fps, like 40 on DOTA, 100 all the time on CS 1.6 and 40-60 on wow during RBGS, that's why I think that there's something wrong.

 07/24/2013 08:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7029
Joined: 11/13/2009

What catalyst version are you using? 13.6? 13.4?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 07/24/2013 08:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hgrslayer
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/24/2013

Catalyst Version: 13.4

 07/24/2013 08:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7029
Joined: 11/13/2009

How old is the power supply? Can you take the side off the computer and read the sticker? That card requires 450watts minimum...maybe yours is failing. Also, have you tried the 13.6 beta?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 07/24/2013 08:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hgrslayer
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/24/2013

I've changed it recently, I think it was 3 months ago, so it's still new. On the sticker it says:
Model: WSCW-500W-1X12

And no, I haven't tried the 13.6 beta version, gonna do it. Thanks for now  

 07/24/2013 10:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12188
Joined: 04/17/2008

A search for that model brings up Wisecase which is a Brazilian power supply brand with two 12v rails rated at 12A and 18A. If your 12v rails don't add up to at least 95% of the rated power output (in this case a combined 30A x 12v = 360w) it's a huge red flag that that is a piece of crap. Web page here But the power draw of the 6670 should be low enough at 66w that it shouldn't affect it.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/25/2013 05:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 530
Joined: 01/15/2011

I agree, that so-called "500W" power supply is a problem...

Also, 13.4 seems to a have a few problems with some games.

Example:

13.4 does not work with Doom 3 - BFG Edition. I had to update from 13.4 to 13.6 for Doom to work (which I recently bought on Steam).



-------------------------

Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.1GHz FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Radeon HD Dual-X 7970 @ 1150/1500 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64

Statistics
84121 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.