Topic Title: Why wont my AMD HD7800 do three moniters?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/25/2013 05:00 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/25/2013 05:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
muffinman356
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/25/2013

i have having troubles getting this to work. Right now i have it DVI, DVI, mini displayport. i have the AMD HD7800. Is there setting that i need to mess with or does this graphic card not support 3 moniter. If you need more info just tell me and i will post it.Thanks, Nicholas

-------------------------
 07/25/2013 05:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 548
Joined: 01/15/2011

Hey Nicholas,

How are you connecting your displays to your graphics card?

Is it DVI (back of card) to DVI (monitor)?

Mini Displayport (back of card) to Mini DisplayPort / Displayport (monitor)?

If you are using an adapter for the mini Displayport, MAKE SURE the adapter is an ACTIVE one.

Something like these:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814999034

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814999033

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815129012

 

By the way, which HD 7800 card do you have (7850? 7870?)?

What is the make a model of it? (Sapphire? XFX? ASUS?)



-------------------------

FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7970 + Dual-X HD 7970 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64

 07/25/2013 07:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
muffinman356
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/25/2013

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812816183that is the cord i used i guess i am using the wrong thing there.here is the graphics card that i got.http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150609

-------------------------
 07/25/2013 08:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 548
Joined: 01/15/2011

Correct, that is your issue there.

Some devices can use Passive adapters or direct cable - like the one you have there. With graphics cards, you need an Active Adapter (even with the Green team ).

I was asking for which particular graphics card you have, so if we need to do any further troubleshooting, we know what we are working with.



-------------------------

FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7970 + Dual-X HD 7970 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64

 07/25/2013 09:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
muffinman356
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/25/2013

thanks for  the help rascal

-------------------------
 08/01/2013 05:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
muffinman356
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/25/2013

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815129012 This is the one i got and now i am having problems getting to detect on my computer. Is there some setting that i need to change or something?

-------------------------
 08/02/2013 03:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1458
Joined: 07/13/2009

Plug the monitor in question by itself into the card via the DVI cable.

Then remove it and plug it into the mini-DP port via the adapter.

If you get a signal in the first case, but not the second, then there's something wrong with the adapter.

 

 

Statistics
86399 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.