Topic Title: Need help choosing graphics card and set up with 6 monitors
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/22/2013 08:41 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/22/2013 08:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
suzook1
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 08/22/2013

hi there

 

I need some help

I have a 6 monitor set up, four which have a 2560x1600 native res and two with a 2560x1440.

Will a ATI 7750 eyefinity 6 allow me to connect them all and display at native resolution? I am not looking to make them one big monitor just extended.

 

This is for office related work, not games .

 08/22/2013 09:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mark@AMD
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 01/16/2013

The Radeon HD7750 Eyefinity 6 Edition from Visiontek will do it.

Here is a link to that card:

http://www.visiontek.com/products/graphic-cards/7000-series/hd7750.html

The ATI Radeon HD 7750 Series GPUs can upscale video display to 2560x1600 on six monitors with ATI Eyefinity technology which is almost six times the display resolution of 1080p display



-------------------------



AMD Customer Care



The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied

 08/22/2013 09:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
suzook1
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 08/22/2013

mark

 

I appreciate the fast response. To give myself some headroom, I decided to go with the 7870 also made by Visiontek. I cant wait to see all six monitors running.

 

I should be able to extended the desktops correct.

 08/22/2013 10:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
suzook1
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 08/22/2013

hi mark. One other question

 

I have realized I could get the visiontek model number 900506 which has two mini dp and save about $130 in the process. 

 

My question is, if I go out from the video card via the mini display port, do the rest of the connected monitors have to be connected using mini as well. Or can I use regular size display port cords to connect them all

 

 08/22/2013 11:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mark@AMD
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 01/16/2013

Only if you are doing 1920X1080.

For 2560X1600 you will have to get the Eyefinity 6 Edition Cards.

More Information on driving multiple displays from a single Displayport output:

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/DrivingMultipleDisplaysFromaSingleDisplayPort.aspx

 



-------------------------



AMD Customer Care



The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied

 08/22/2013 11:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
suzook1
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 08/22/2013

Mark

 

Ok thank you for clearning that up. I went with the 7870 eyefinitity 6

 08/22/2013 09:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1395
Joined: 07/13/2009

You should post a picture of your setup.  That's such a ridiculous amount of screen real estate that I just need to see it.

 

 08/23/2013 07:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
suzook1
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 08/22/2013

card received and its works like a charm. So very please.

pic included

 

 

 08/24/2013 03:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1395
Joined: 07/13/2009

Do you have a make and model for that desk?

 08/29/2013 04:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
suzook1
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 08/22/2013

hey all I am back.

 

I am running into a problem getting the 6th monitor to light up.

I even went so far as to swap out the monitor and the dp cable (all 1.2 spec)

 

The catalyst properties can see the card but the display message says "there is no signal coming from your computer

 

Just to be even more sure, I ordered another visiontek 7870 eyefinity 6 and the same result.

 

Have I possibly maxed out with the five monitors?

4 are running at 2560x1600

1 at 2560x1440

 

Stumped?

Statistics
85333 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.