Topic Title: HD7850 No Display on Bootup
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/27/2013 07:28 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/27/2013 07:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Winternacht
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/22/2013

I recently purchases a Powercolor HD7850 as an upgrade for my HD6670. When I install the HD7850 the monitor doest recognize the display adapater and I see nothing on the screen. I have a 600w power supply with the appropriate power lead for the card. The card comes on and the fan starts turning once its hooked up. My motherboard is an MSI MS-7778 (Jasmine) which does has a PCI X 16 Gen 2 slot. Everything ive read is that gen 3 cards will work in gen 3 slots. If the new card is plugged in it overrides my onboard display adapater and I see nothing. Any idea's, Im at a loss.HP P71241 with AMD Quad Core Processor10GB ramMSI MS-7778 (jasmine) motherboardAny help would be greatly appreciated thanks.

-------------------------
 08/27/2013 09:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Well I just had to RMA my old 7850 for that exact problem. Since we basically have the same setup sounds like the card is bad.

I'm assuming that you have a A10-5700 processor which is like my A10-5800K. 

One thing to check is with the 6670 you had Dual Graphics and would have your monitor hook to the built in ports. With a 7850 you must hook your monitor cables to the cards port.

So if you have tried the cables on the card with a black screen RMA the card.

Let me know.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 08/27/2013 09:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Winternacht
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/22/2013

This is actually the second 7850 with the same results. I sent the first back in case it was bad and now I have the same problem. I thought perhaps their might be a BIOS update needed but MSI's website is near worthless.

-------------------------
 08/27/2013 10:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Winternacht
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/22/2013

Oh forgot to mention with both cards I had them directly connected to the video cards HDMI port. With the 6670 works great 7850, notta.

-------------------------
 08/27/2013 10:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

My system has AMI 7.07 dated 4/20/2012 on my Jasime board and is a P7-1235. If your BIOS is something else then maybe download the updates from HP.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL



Edited: 08/27/2013 at 10:50 PM by WMudrockJr
 08/27/2013 11:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Winternacht
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/22/2013

did yours ever work? Ive never got it to successfully boot up. And yes, I have the same BIOS you do.

-------------------------
 08/27/2013 11:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Yes it does and there is no BIOS settings to tweak for graphic card. The only thing I did in the BIOS was with Virtualization so I can run VM clients. 



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 08/28/2013 06:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Winternacht
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/22/2013

So I found a fix on Toms Hardware that might work for you. If you go into the boot menu, select legacy bootup rather than secure and for the windows 8 guys thats been fixing the problem. Im running windows 7 and dont seem to have that option.

-------------------------
 08/30/2013 05:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gordon
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/30/2013

I have a HDMI problem with my new 7850 it works fine with the VGA but not when I run a HDMI cable between the Samsung's other connection which is HDMI.  I want to have the digital, I do not know what I am doing wrong

 09/01/2013 12:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Delta_Fixer
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/03/2008

I had this exact issue. I tried two different 7850s but they both wuldn't show an image. Turns out my motherboard, Intel DX58SO, needed a BIOS update. The latest BIOS fixed the issue.

Statistics
80937 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.