Topic Title: ATI Radeon HD 7750 Crashes/Hangs PC
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/03/2013 11:10 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/03/2013 11:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Typherion
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/03/2013

Recently upgraded my GPU to Radeon HD 7750 x2 (for xFire). Ever since I installed the new GPU, my computer has been rebooting, freezing at random times. I am trying to figure out what the cause is, but it's so random to where I can't seem to trigger the freeze/erratic reboot. I tried disabling xFire, but it seems to do the same thing. Sometimes the crash/freeze (when pc is even idle, not using it at all) would have graphic strips across the monitor, i'd screenshot it if I could, but I can't...

I installed/reinstalled new drivers, did a factory reset to original settings of the pc back to 2010, same issues still arise...please help!

The PC originally came with 2x ATI Radeon HD 5670 xFire.

PC Information: 

Alienware Aurora R1 (2010)

Graphics Card
- XFX Radeon HD 7750
- Didn't Overclock 

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
- include driver version currently used, and version(s) tested previously

Operating System
- Win 7 SP1, Home Premiere, 64-bit


Issue Details
- PC hangs/freezes, auto reboots unexpectedly (all very random, tried to reproduce, but can't)
- When using pc/not using pc it would randomly hang or reboot
- For Gaming, I maxed everything, AA and all. Sometimes crashes/hangs (pc), tried lowering everything to standard low options, still happens. 
-

Motherboard or System Make & Model
- Dell Alienware Aurora R1 , Bios Version A11, MB Version A02, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz
 


Power Supply

- This I don't know the brand, but I know it is 875w

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
- Sony 24'' display (DVI link) SDM-P234, native..no idea been too long


Applications and Games

- Everything, even when nothing is open only on desktop, or windows login screen. Somtimes would hang at the "Starting Windows" screen (where there is a windows logo glowing). You can tell it froze because the logo isn't moving...


CPU Details
- Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz
- GenuineIntel, Intel64 Family 6 Model 26 Stepping 5, Current Clock Speed: 2641MHz,
 
Motherboard BIOS Version
- the BIOS version is displayed as soon as your system is powered on (ex: ASUS BIOS 1015)

System Memory Type & Amount
- I know it's made by Hyundai...Hydrix or something 2046mb each bar, x3 (6gb ram total)

Additional Hardware
- Sound Blaster, and Wireless card installed. 1 CPU fan on MB, 1 small ram fan on top of chasis inside, and 1 main PC fan (Liquid Cooled), CATALYST Version 3.14

Additional Details
- Did a MemTestx86, ChkDsk, Full PC hardware test (everything passed). Couldn't figure out what is wrong. 
- Tried swapping the graphics cards in different slots, using only 1 gpu, same results...(remember i'm using 2x XFX Radeon HD7750 for xfire, but I disabled the xFire in Catalyst at the moment). I even ran a GPU Stress test to the max and pc didn't hang/freeze or reboot...super strange. 


- Also, i'm curious about the Ram Information @ The System Information. There are times where it would just say 6.00GB, but right now it says 6.00GB (3.99 Usable), and sometimes it would say 6.00GB (1.99 Usable)...not sure why. I never noticed that until now. 



Edited: 09/04/2013 at 10:23 AM by Typherion
 09/04/2013 08:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7231
Joined: 11/13/2009

Please read the sticky "Read Before Posting".
http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=440&threadid=160417&enterthread=y

 

Please supply the following:
    ( Please don't paste dxdiag )

1. Processor (I5-xxxx, A10-xxxx, etc)
2. Graphics card (HD6970, HD4850, Mobility, etc)
3. OS (Win7, Win8, WinXP, 32 or 64bit, etc)
4. Catalyst version (13.2, 12.10, etc)
5. Power Supply..list make and model and wattage
6. RAM
7. Did your computer come with the OS (upgraded?) and Graphics card (previous card?) you have now?
8. Monitor resolution (native), connected by (DVI, HDMI, etc)


 
 
 

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 09/04/2013 10:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Typherion
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/03/2013

Sorry, updated and cleaned it up a bit.

Statistics
84905 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.