Topic Title: Radeon 5970 Noise + Frame Drop
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/05/2013 07:33 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/05/2013 07:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MajinUltima
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/05/2013

Graphics Card:  ATI Radeon HD 5970

Catalyst Version:  13.4

OS:  Windows 7 64-bit

Power Supply:  800watt

CPU:  AMD Phenom II X6 3200mhz 6 Core

Motherboard:  ASUS

For about a year, I've been occasionally having a grinding noise from my graphics card when the card became particularly hot (which I'd assumed was the fan), and went away for several cooler months of the year.  Hotter temperatures caused it to return, but keeping the house cool often kept the issue away for not more than several minutes.  The noise will go away several seconds after minimizing a game window no matter how persistent and loud it had been.

Very recently, the noise has gotten worse and much more common.  I removed the card previously to check for any kind of apparent damage or loose parts and did so again to see if the fan was exceptionally dusty.  I also used my finger to stop the fan several minutes ago during a loud patch and noticed NO change in the noise, prompting me to consider asking more about it since my assumption seems to have been wrong.

This last week, I've been experiercing major framerate drops in World of Warcraft (normally I'd run 50-60fps manually capped at 60 fps, but now it's ~15-20fps), though performance in Final Fantasy 14 and Civilization 5 seems about normal.  This morning, it's just going crazy with the noise during FF14, no performance issues of note, but the noise is fairly constant.



Edited: 09/05/2013 at 09:52 AM by MajinUltima
 09/05/2013 07:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MajinUltima
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/05/2013

Thanks, now my post is readable at least.



Edited: 09/05/2013 at 07:56 AM by MajinUltima
 09/05/2013 07:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Practikill
Grinding Levels

Posts: 153
Joined: 08/07/2009

If you're using IE you need to use the compatability mode. Click that little torn page icon at the end of the address bar.



-------------------------

Asus P5Q-SE+ / Core2 Duo E7400 2.8GHZ / 4GB DDR2 / HD6870 1GB / Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer / Ultra 650watt PSU / Windows 7 X64

Statistics
87599 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.