Topic Title: Low fps
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/09/2013 07:39 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/09/2013 07:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JasonHeadshot007
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 09/08/2013

Hello,

 

I recently bought a AMD HD 7790 and I can run Battlefield 3 on ultra settings with 80+ fps just fine (Stable)

But when I play the game Counterstrike (1.6) and try to get higher fps it doesnt go more than 150 stable (This game is more than 10 years old and my gpu should not have any problems handling higher fps)

My friend who has a HD 7770 gets 600 fps stable.

 

My computer specs are pretty good and I shouldn't be having any problems handling 700+ fps on CS, and I had no problems before I got this upgrade.

Can you help me?

 

Thanks,

Jason

 09/09/2013 08:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12379
Joined: 04/17/2008

So are you playing Counterstrike on a true 240hz display? If you're not, then even 150fps is more than the monitor can display.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/10/2013 09:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JasonHeadshot007
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 09/08/2013

I have a LG Flatron w1934s @ 1440x900

 09/10/2013 04:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12379
Joined: 04/17/2008

So according to LG that monitor has a maximum refresh rate of 75hz which means it can only display a maximum of 75 frames per second. You are getting twice that, so what is the problem?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/14/2013 07:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JasonHeadshot007
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 09/08/2013

I get 130 fps on Black Ops 2, So I don't think that is the case, but nevertheless I will try another monitor and tell you if there is any difference

 

Thank you by the way

 09/14/2013 12:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1352
Joined: 07/13/2009

You're confusing the number of frames generated on your computer with the number of frames displayed on your monitor during any given time interval.

With a refresh rate of 75Hz, your monitor will display a new image 75 times per second.  If you have a game rendering 150 frames per second, that means each time the monitor changes, you'll be seeing half of two different frames (more or less, depending on the exact timing).  Raise the frame rate, and you'll be seeing a smaller fraction of more frames on the same single screen update.

As for the 150 limit, that's imposed by the game engine.  There's a way to set the limit higher, but you gain nothing by doing so.

 

 

 09/25/2013 03:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JasonHeadshot007
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 09/08/2013

About the game,

 

It allows up to 1000 Fps to be displayed, The higher the fps the smoother the game will be and the slower the game will run

 

That is what I am looking for

As I have said above, My friends play with 600/700 fps and the game is very smooth. My gpu which is better gets just 150 fps unstable

 

Will changing the monitor help?

 10/25/2013 02:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JasonHeadshot007
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 09/08/2013

I get 200 fps in CS:GO....

I don't think it is a problem with my specs

Statistics
84951 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.