Topic Title: Far rendering issue
Topic Summary: When Im looking at a wall, prefab model or something in a game, it looks one way. When i get a tiny bit closer, changes
Created On: 09/22/2013 02:04 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/22/2013 02:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ianx47
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/22/2013

Graphics Card

MSi R7770 Power Edition 1GD5/OC

No overclock done.

AMD Catalyst Driver version, and Driver History

Catalyst 13.4

2d Driver version 8.01.01.1295

3d driver version 9.14.10.0969

OpenGL Version 6.14.10.12217

Operating System

Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bits

Issue Details

When im playing almost any game, things from far displays one way (like textures or models) and when i get a tiny bit closer that thing changes.

Here's a nice example: http://youtu.be/GP5k7I70qlI?t=3m56s

at 3:56, see the wall. You can see how it changes drastically. It happens to me in many games. Tried different settings on the gaming tab of CCC. Disabled surface format optimization, enabled it. Enhanced settings, override, amd optmized, almost everything. Keep Happening. Always at max resolution (1080p), too.

Motherboard

Gigabyte G31M-ES2C rev 1.3 (1.x)

PSU

XFX PLATINUM ATX550w

Display Devices

Samsung SyncMaster S23B350 (1920x1080) via HDMI

Also happens on LG L1753S (1280x1024) via VGA (DVI adaptor used)

Applications and games

Outlast, Modern Warfare 3, Black Ops 2, CoD4 Battlefield 3 (Including with all on Ultra), Half Life 2.. All games maxed out.

CPU Details

Intel Core2Duo e7400 2.8GHz @ 3.8GHz (OC)

400mhz X 9.5 (multiplier). Voltage = 1.475v (Default: 1.28v)

Overclocked via BIOS

Motherboard BIOS Version

F8 (latest)

System memory tipe and amount

Kingston 800mhz DDR2 (generic kingston entry model)

Additional Hardware

No extra PCI or PCIe devices.

Hardrive: Western Digital Caviar Green 500GB SATA2

Additional Details

System checked with MalwareBytes Anti-Malware.

Also formatted and done a fresh install. Stills happening.

 

Thanks in advance.



Edited: 09/23/2013 at 05:04 PM by ianx47
 09/22/2013 05:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12863
Joined: 04/17/2008

Have you run Memtest86+ to rule out a faulty RAM module? "entry level" or "ValueRAM" is not the stuff you want to use.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/23/2013 03:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1465
Joined: 07/13/2009

Mipmapping.

If the distance to an object means you can only fit 100 pixels, why use a texture that has over 4000 pixels?  You're wasting compute time and memory.  Instead, you can use a smaller version of the same texture that has closer to 100 pixels.  You can do this for many different distances, and each step in resolution is called a mipmap level.

In a perfectly designed game, each mipmap level would have at least as many pixels in the texture as in the surface being rendered, so the actual detail level is never below the possible detail level.  The switch from one level to the other would be transparent.

Games are not perfectly designed, and when it comes to mipmapping, many are much further from perfection than others.  Since you need a separate texture for each mipmap level, a space budget will limit the number of levels you can support.  Sometimes the textures themselves are very poor matches for each other, so the apparent content changes instead of just the detail level. 

So with too few mipmap levels, getting closer to an object means it gets blurrier and blurrier until the next level snaps in and it becomes clearer.  If the textures don't match up, this will also mean things look markedly different when the the mipmap level changes.

It's also possible to have too many levels, where you're spending so much memory bandwidth loading textures that you lose the performance advantage of rendering smaller textures.

On top of this is consolitis, where games designed for console systems often don't have any proper high resolution textures at all, making them look blurry on high resolution PC displays.  And if the PC port does include higher resolution textures, the mipmap levels may be poorly tuned, which could mean jumping from a blurry mess to crisp detail suddenly, or having great detail and horrid performance.

There are other factors which affect the end experience, like lazy texture loading, which reduces or eliminates loading delays, at the expense of not getting higher resolution textures loaded in time, which results in the texture popping you see in the video you linked.

While there's room for the driver to impact how mipmapping behaves, it is for the most part a game design issue. 

 

 09/23/2013 05:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ianx47
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/22/2013

Is there a way I can reduce bad mip mapping?

 09/24/2013 11:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1465
Joined: 07/13/2009

CCC used to have a setting for mipmap quality.  You can still adjust that setting using RadeonPro.

It may or may not help.  Pretty much all console ports suffer from the problem to one degree or another.

 

Statistics
87391 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.