Topic Title: Gigabyte Radeon Hd 7870 and display port
Topic Summary: Does display port send sound as well as video
Created On: 10/14/2013 01:46 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/14/2013 01:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ricanvillin
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 10/08/2013

I connected my sony 50' flat screen to my pc per a hdmi to display port adapter and video is coming up perfectly but there is no sound. A message pops up when i connect it that i have made a dvi connect which i know doesnt cary sound but mini display port is suppose to...how can i fix this if its fixable....PLEASE HELP my kids wanna watch netflix on the tv

 10/15/2013 07:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ricanvillin
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 10/08/2013

Also when i scroll over links the bottom of my screen where the task bar is flickers and tears...is there a way to fix this? this only happens when the hdmi-displayport is plugged in

 



Edited: 10/15/2013 at 09:19 AM by ricanvillin
 10/15/2013 08:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12552
Joined: 04/17/2008

Does your adapter state it supports sound transmission?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/15/2013 09:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ricanvillin
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 10/08/2013

The cable fully supports all features include in the DisplayPort 1.2 specification, including support for audio for appropriately equipped computers.

 10/15/2013 09:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ricanvillin
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 10/08/2013

I think i fixed it. Just connected my moniter withe the hdmi-displayport and the sound works but i had to majorly scale it, so no i can connect my tv with the regular hdmi cable...should i have had to scale it so much?

 10/15/2013 09:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ricanvillin
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 10/08/2013

When i connected my hdmi-hdmi to my tv i still got the message"An hmdi to dvi connection has been made an audio cord is required for sound"....but it isnt an hdmi-dvi cord its hdmi-hdmi...my head hurts...Its not the cord becuase its the same cord i had my moniter hook up to my video card...catalyst reconizes my tv but doesnt reconize an audio sourse for it



Edited: 10/15/2013 at 10:35 AM by ricanvillin
 10/15/2013 04:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ricanvillin
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 10/08/2013

So i restarted my computer for an update and the hdmi-hdmi to my tv works fine and the hdmi-diplayport  from my monitor to computer has no sound and isnt detected...video works great though

Statistics
85760 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.