Topic Title: Will this PSU enough for an R9 290X Crossfire?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/27/2013 03:06 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/27/2013 03:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KillerKollar
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 10/22/2008

I have a Corsair HX 850W PSU,will this be enough to run 2 R9 290X cards in uber mod?I DO NO plan to overclock them.

 10/27/2013 04:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
druuzil
Grinding Levels

Posts: 128
Joined: 10/26/2009

What's the rest of your system like?  I'd say you'd be borderline.



-------------------------

My Rig:

i7 3930k w/Corsiar H100i
Gigabyte X79-UP4 Motherboard 
Creative SB Recon3D 
2x 128GB Kingston SSDNow! SATA III in RAID 0 
2x Sapphire R9 290x in Crossfire
Antec TruPower 1000w PSU
LG Blu Ray Burner
1.5TB Storage
Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3 1600
Cooler Master HAF 932

 10/27/2013 05:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KillerKollar
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 10/22/2008

ASRock Z77 Extreme4,Intel Core i7 3770K@4.5 Ghz,8Gb DDR3 Kingston HyperX RAM,1 TB HDD+64 GB SSD,Coolermaster HAF 932 case.



Edited: 10/27/2013 at 05:16 PM by KillerKollar
 10/27/2013 05:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

The only thing I have seen on crossfire with R9-290X has been done with a 1200W, but that was done for a bench marking article. Always side with caution, better safe than sorry.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 10/27/2013 06:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 878
Joined: 09/11/2008

These are the psu requirements for the R9 280X,So the R9 290X would be at the very least this:

  • 750W (or greater) power supply with two 150W 8-pin PCI Express power connectors recommended
  • 1000W (or greater) power supply with four 150W 8-pin PCI Express power connectors recommended for AMD CrossFire® technology in dual mode.


  • -------------------------

    AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

     10/27/2013 08:49 PM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    Thanny
    Alpha Geek

    Posts: 1340
    Joined: 07/13/2009

    AMD told reviewers typical (non-vsync) power consumption would be 250W.  Some reviewers said they thought 300W was more appropriate.  So that's 500-600W for the two GPU's.  Add in your overclocked CPU, which will draw somewhere around 150W at full load, and you're at 650-750W. 

    You might be OK, since that PSU has a big single 12V rail, and almost all the load from CPU and GPU's will be at that voltage.  But it's cutting it awfully close, and it's generally best to size your PSU at twice your typical load, since that's where they're most efficient.

    I do think you'll be perfectly OK trying, and seeing if your actual load warrants a bigger PSU.  A Kill-a-Watt at the wall is the best way to measure total power consumption.  Keep in mind that the number you see is 10-20% larger than what the PSU is providing to the computer (that's what the efficiency value means).  So a wall reading of 1000W would be closer to 800W load on the PSU, given 80% efficiency.

     

     10/27/2013 10:00 PM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    Vantharas
    Polygon Pusher

    Posts: 3506
    Joined: 03/01/2009

    The thing is, as long as you don't go overclocking those R290X's, that PSU will be just fine. 

    If you do, you need to step it up another 200W to a 1000W unit. Typical load while gaming on a stock 290X is 220~250W, depending on the game. however you overclock it and you step righ up to 300W per card pretty much all the time. 



    -------------------------

    I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

     10/27/2013 10:36 PM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    black_zion
    80 Column Mind

    Posts: 12365
    Joined: 04/17/2008

    It will be adequate for now since you aren't overclocking, but when the Black Friday/Cyber Monday sales are on, you really need to look over on Newegg for something in the 1000-1200w range, both for headroom and efficiency. A power supply is its most efficient at 50% load, so I would go more towards 1200w.

    HOWEVER, I would suggest you WAIT for the board partners to release their own custom cooled versions AND you start with ONE card. The R290 is exceedingly powerful, and unless you have a 2560x1600 or 4K display, two cards are overkill.

    -------------------------
    ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
     10/27/2013 10:49 PM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    Vantharas
    Polygon Pusher

    Posts: 3506
    Joined: 03/01/2009

    yes! bz has a point please god wait for custom coolers the stock one is garbage. god its so bad. (whomever at AMD said yes we should use "this" cooler should be fired) 

    Side note Crossfire 290X's are also good for eyefinity :-)



    -------------------------

    I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers



    Edited: 10/27/2013 at 10:59 PM by Vantharas
     10/28/2013 03:22 AM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    KillerKollar
    Peon

    Posts: 11
    Joined: 10/22/2008

    Thanks for the answers Well if it's okay if i do not overclock then i'm not going to spend another ~200$ to get another PSU.You guys said that my PSU will not be the most efficent at this load,will that decrease the performance of the system?

     10/28/2013 09:10 AM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    black_zion
    80 Column Mind

    Posts: 12365
    Joined: 04/17/2008

    If you're going to spend $1100 on new video cards, you need to go ahead and spend another $200 on a 1000w PSU so you don't run a PSU so close to the maximum rated output.

    Plus, say you get a defective card. They (whoever made your cards) will use the fact that you are using a PSU below the minimum spec to deny RMA service.

    -------------------------
    ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
     10/28/2013 11:37 AM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    KillerKollar
    Peon

    Posts: 11
    Joined: 10/22/2008

    So if i use a psu close/below the recommandation it could damage my cards physically?



    Edited: 10/28/2013 at 01:54 PM by KillerKollar
     10/28/2013 06:09 PM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    Thanny
    Alpha Geek

    Posts: 1340
    Joined: 07/13/2009

    A badly broken PSU that overheats and fails to shut down can kill an entire computer (I'm not speculating on that).  One that supplies too high voltage can fry anything connected to it.

    However, a merely overloaded PSU that drops voltages well below spec will not damage any components.  They will not work properly (being starved of power), but they will not be damaged.  There are some edge cases where a poorly designed circuit can be permanently damaged by very low voltage, but the system will have shut down long before such conditions are met.

     

     10/29/2013 03:13 AM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    KillerKollar
    Peon

    Posts: 11
    Joined: 10/22/2008

    So with my configuration and with this PSU is this a real threat or you just told these the it`s possible, but not with this system(with my corsair hx 850 and non-oc 290x cf)?Corsair models are supposed to be qualitative psus,they have protection that stops the psu from frying the whole system and shuts down before any damage,right?



    Edited: 10/29/2013 at 03:21 AM by KillerKollar
     10/29/2013 09:14 AM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    black_zion
    80 Column Mind

    Posts: 12365
    Joined: 04/17/2008

    As you've been told before, you are going to be pulling between 625-750w with two 290X cards and your overclocked CPU. As you've also been told, an 850w PSU is below the recommended spec, so you will most likely have zero warranty coverage if you get a defective card. Yes your PSU will run them, but even a two year old 850w PSU is only capable of putting out about 820w due to capacitor degeneration (~2% per year.) I would not recommend running two 290X off that power supply, I would not do it myself, and just because a PSU has protection against catastrophic failure, it does not have protection against voltage droop below 11.8v, or insufficient amperage, both of which can lead to BSODs as well as potential data loss and disk corruption.

    -------------------------
    ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
     10/29/2013 10:31 AM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    KillerKollar
    Peon

    Posts: 11
    Joined: 10/22/2008

    http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/Corsair-HX850W-Power-Supply-Review/741/10

    This test suggest that my PSU can handle up to 1000W,that should be enough for this system if i do not overclock.By the way I have the cards,everything is fine so far,hope it stays that way

     10/29/2013 02:49 PM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    black_zion
    80 Column Mind

    Posts: 12365
    Joined: 04/17/2008

    You're going to regret it. AMD's stock cooler is a piece of *****, and in Crossfire you will rarely have both cards running at full speed.

    -------------------------
    ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
     10/29/2013 09:57 PM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    Vantharas
    Polygon Pusher

    Posts: 3506
    Joined: 03/01/2009

    Originally posted by: black_zion You're going to regret it. AMD's stock cooler is a piece of *****, and in Crossfire you will rarely have both cards running at full speed.

    Well this isn't entirely true. Its just the stock one on the R9 series are.. just.. God I wish I knew how the engineers got away with it. 



    -------------------------

    I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

     10/30/2013 09:06 AM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    black_zion
    80 Column Mind

    Posts: 12365
    Joined: 04/17/2008

    With the new way PowerTune works it only amplifies the problem. Taking into account the rubbish cooler and restricted airflow to the top card, it's not going to running at full speed very often. AMD is afraid of upsetting the board partners by making a cooler so good that bad OEMs like Diamond will seem to be a good option, but AMD does need to save a few thousand dollars a year and fire the engineer who came up with that cooler's design, and then save a few thousand more by firing the guy who said "Let's see, we have two BIOS's here and a switch...so let's just make one run the fan 15% faster! People don't need it any faster!"

    -------------------------
    ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
    Statistics
    84840 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
    There are currently 3 users logged in.

    FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.