Topic Title: R9 280x 2d Flickering
Topic Summary: Asus R9 280x flickers randomly when downclocked
Created On: 10/28/2013 11:04 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 7 8 9 10 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/21/2014 12:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sakiboj
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/01/2014

Originally posted by: victorji Ok guys, here´s the vbios.

 

Please notice: This is a test vbios for Sapphire DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC (UEFI) (check images)

 

Message from sapphire to me:

 

My card, please notice part number:

 

 

 

VBIOS AND INSTRUCTIONS: https://www.dropbox.com/s/n8yx44fbx4gkdv4/R9%20280X%20VBIOS%20flash%20SOP%2811221-00%29_635207229899970402.rar

 

 

BIOS version (after flashing):

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hey, can this bios go on this gpu with sku: 11221-00-25G?

 06/17/2014 10:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sterling1214
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/14/2014

FIXED : i have a XFX r9 280x, i downloaded sapphire trixx tool, reset my OC settings in CCC, then reset all the OC settings in sapphire trixx, completely smooth now it is the VDDC.

 06/17/2014 10:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: Sterling1214 FIXED : i have a XFX r9 280x, i downloaded sapphire trixx tool, reset my OC settings in CCC, then reset all the OC settings in sapphire trixx, completely smooth now it is the VDDC.

 

What settings in CCC did you change?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 07/08/2014 12:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
leo96
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/07/2014

hello all:

 

please could some 1 email step to step instructions on how to follow the instructions. i have the same card , same problems, much worse for gaming . it is a very bad card , i am not a pc wizard i do not understand how to change the vbios never had to. how to i change position 1 and 2 between uefi and legacy, what is that , where is thjat , what is uewfi and legacy ?  i do not get information screen in dos  where is the switch for position 1 and 2 ??  this is so complicated  , i really need help , please some1 kind enough to get me throught this !! thank you regardfs leo

 08/13/2014 10:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HaTaXX
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/13/2014

My Card Model : XFX R9 280x Double Dissipation (1000/1500)

I fought with this for a while and I've noticed a trend with forum postings on the issue, either people aren't really resolving it or they're not coming back to post what they did to resolve it!

I had the 2D flickering / jumping issue where the screen would jump downwards for just a split second while browsing or whatever. It was happening when the card would shift clock frequencies on the GPU & Mem, or at least that's what I identified as happening when the flicker / jump occurred.

I tried many different driver versions, 13.12 seemed like it had the least amount of jumping. At one point I had it set so my GPU was never sleeping, that prevented the jumps as well. Thinking I'd go down the BIOS route only after I had exhausted other possibilities, after all it's a new card and XFX doesn't post any BIOS downloads on their webpage...

So the other day I got sick and tired of it, and it actually was messing with my head (headaches) while I was working on some programming. Lines of text and that jumping every 30-60 seconds will drive you nuts and make your eyes sore, I had to get it fixed.

Over at this webpage you can search for BIOSes for your video card:
http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/i...&model=R9+280X
(That webpage is a search for my XFX card and model, you'll need to adjust it for your card)

Looking at the options there it was hard to tell which one to try, people said the Double Dissipation Black Edition was fine to use on the previous non-Black model and would provide a small speed boost. I tried about 4 different BIOSes before I found the one that worked best for me, the one at the top of the list compiled '2014-01-16 03:04:00'. Note that this is a Black edition firmware, but I only loaded it as the others either didn't fix the flicker, or weren't initialized properly within windows. (Low res mode, complaints the video card wasn't working)

I used ATIWinflash to flash the BIOSes and GPU-Z to backup my original BIOS and inspect the card's BIOS versions before & after flashing.

Not sure that this particular BIOS would fix it for people, so I thought I would list my troubleshooting list in hopes it leads someone to a fix.

It's an old thread I know, but this problem literally gave me a headache and I wanted to get my tests and results out there for people to see.

 08/13/2014 11:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
yukapuka
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 08/04/2013

i solved this problem today, thank God, it was simple solution

i ripped out the roots of evil out of my motherboard called the r9 290x and returned it to theretailer and purchased a 780 ti gtx

and all i can say is that now i can finally breathe

never againa AMD, you such you losers  

 08/22/2014 06:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sajador
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/22/2014

Hi

Just wanted to report that my Club 3D Royal Queen 280x also has this Flicker Problem.

 

New Clean Driver Installations didnt helped,and i don want to tinker with the Bios since it still has Warranty.

 

Currently running the Newest Catalyst.

 

:c

 08/25/2014 03:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DeathStarEnterprises
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 08/21/2014

This, royaly, sucks.
Is it VDDC, is it voltage, is it VBIOS, is it factory overclocks, is it driver?
What is it! Why won't amd give a DAMN clear answer on this!

This is unnaceptable!  

 08/26/2014 02:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sajador
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/22/2014

True

I Got my Royal Queen a bit cheaper then normal from Amazon.

It was Used but in a perfect condition etc.

Already sent the Seller a Warranty ticket

 

Everything is fine with the card.. just that ***** flicker problem and coil whining (wich seems to be a normal thing at high framerates for those Club 3D cards)

 

Today i didnt had flickering tough and i didnt changed drivers or whatever

 

 

Very strange,and kinda horrible since no one knows if this problem could destroy the card over a longer time.

 

 08/28/2014 06:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zme-ul
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 12/20/2007

I am done with AMD

I've been a loyal and happy ATi customer for nearly 14 years; I avoided nVidia like the plague - I've owned ATi video cards since Radeon 7000 era

about 3 weeks ago, my 2 year old HD7870Ghz Ed crashed (with heavy artifacts) while playing Guild Wars 2 - RMAed it, the guys there told me the card is beyond repair and since it's no longer manufactured they said they'll send me a 280X as replacement

I said OK with 1/2 voice because I knew the R9 was a big pile of steaming poo, forums filled with people reporting issues with these cards, even here on official AMD forums

and on top of that, 280X is just a rebranded HD7970Ghz Ed - it just bogles the mind that videocard manufacturers have REV 2.0 of this card, let alone a pledora of BIOSes

the card arived, unistalled every trace of AMD driver and software then installed the latest WHQLs, I thought my brain is playing jokes on me when I saw the image jumping down - googling around I found that this is quite "normal" (pun inteneded), my head exploded

I can RMAit, again, but they'll just send one exactly the same since it appears it's a BIOS issue, not hardware

 

AMD, you and me are over! I just hope a new company pops up, not eager to dish out GPUs every year like candy, but more oriented towards stability

AMD, I spit on your grave



Edited: 08/28/2014 at 06:58 AM by zme-ul
 08/28/2014 07:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD_BSOD
Peon

Posts: 36
Joined: 08/04/2014

Originally posted by: Medussa I cant believe that no answer from AMD. If you browse net you can find that Sapphire and MSI admit error and they relese new VBIOS, flicker free BIOS for R9 270X cards. What ASUS w8ing for?

 

We all have problems with this. AMD is a new world for me and i dont like the world. You have to know so much about it. But in the end ... you cant do anything ... because its the driver or the AMD hardware.

 09/03/2014 03:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
clem_fr
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 09/03/2014

Originally posted by: victorji Ok guys, here´s the vbios.

Please notice: This is a test vbios for Sapphire DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC (UEFI) (check images)

Message from sapphire to me: [IMG][/IMG]

My card, please notice part number:

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

VBIOS AND INSTRUCTIONS: https://www.dropbox.com/s/n8yx44fbx4gkdv4/R9%20280X%20VBIOS%20flash%20SOP%2811221-00%29_635207229899970402.rar

BIOS version (after flashing):

[IMG][/IMG]


I just used this on my Sapphire Radeon R9 280 Dual-X 3GB

On boot, my bios isn't loading or at least nothing is showing up on the screen, either with DVI or HDMI. I can't load or do anything.

I tried the screen separately with another computer, everything seems fine. 

Any help would be appreciated.

 

MB: MSI H97M-G43

I had been experiencing screen flickering both in games and internet browsing, with black/white horizontal lines and screen freezes after a while.

 09/05/2014 01:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zme-ul
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 12/20/2007

I installed 14.8 drivers, that somehow AMD has only listed them for APUs: http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/desktop-apu-catalyst-software.aspx

they worked, so far, for my 280X - the image jumping while in desktop (browsing/plaing movie) is gone

 

don't forget to remove current drivers with DDU (latest version recomended )

 09/05/2014 07:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
daredaw
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/04/2014

@zme-ul

Well - IDK why did you avoid nVidia, my first attempt to have ANYTHING AMD branded, ended up in a dissapointment. Never had a single issue with nVidia, always was loyal to them and it was all good. This 290 card seems too good to be true - "Titan killer" etc, for fairly less money. I broke my tradition of using nVidia and I was very sorry. I will try to get rid of this card ASAP and go back to the "green" team.

This is just ridiculous for one hardware manufacturer.

 09/05/2014 08:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zme-ul
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 12/20/2007

I avoided nVidia because their "deal" destroying 3DFx - I was a 3DFx owner and they screwed me, not only me .. every 3DFx owner

I didn't "had to have" everything AMD, in fact I distrust them just as much; I had ATi cards, until that went sideways and ended up in AMD's court, sad day

I initially gave them the benefit of the doubt, but no more .. if I needed convicing, they did it! they made me angry

 09/07/2014 10:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Shittiestdriverteamintheworld
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 09/07/2014

Still no ***** update on this issue.

I am so done with AMD and their horrible,I MEAN HORRIBLE drivers.

You guys are losing customers at the speed of light and 280x users are being left in the dark with their expensive videocard.

 

I'm returning my XFX 280X to the shop monday and swqitch it for a 770,AMD can go and ***** themselves.

 09/11/2014 03:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
luhshot
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 09/11/2014

I've been going crazy with this issue, my ***** card is new. Recently I reinstalled the last beta driver and MSI Afterburner. In the Afterburner I marked the option "force constant voltage" and while I'm not having the flickering problem.

Windows 7 x64


-------------------------

AMD FX-8320 @4320
Gigabyte GA-970A-D3P
Kingston HyperX KHX1866C10D3/4GX x2
MSI R9 280x 3gb
Cougar CMX 700w

 09/16/2014 10:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
climber
Peon

Posts: 18
Joined: 02/12/2014

My CPU is a APU A10-7700K and my video card is a Sapphire R9 280X, it does work with driver 13.101-130604a-163312C-ATI(13.6) I have try newts versions but they don’t work they just install and after restart the computer the system recognize the onboard video card and the R9 280X as a Microsoft generic video devise.

 

Is there any way to fix this?

 09/17/2014 02:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Septor
Nerfed

Posts: 71
Joined: 11/24/2009

Originally posted by: climber My CPU is a APU A10-7700K and my video card is a Sapphire R9 280X, it does work with driver 13.101-130604a-163312C-ATI(13.6) I have try newts versions but they don’t work they just install and after restart the computer the system recognize the onboard video card and the R9 280X as a Microsoft generic video devise. 

Is there any way to fix this?

Wow, really offtopic, you should start a new thread... but try disabling onboard graphics in system BIOS settings.

 

 

AMD Support and Game » AMD Radeon™ Graphics » R9 280x 2d Flickering

<< 7 8 9 10 Previous Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
85502 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.