Topic Title: R9 280x 2d Flickering
Topic Summary: Asus R9 280x flickers randomly when downclocked
Created On: 10/28/2013 11:04 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/12/2013 09:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EnderDragon
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 11/10/2013

Please. If my experience came in handy to someone, I'm very happy about it.



-------------------------

MSI Z77A-G43, Intel Core i5-3570K, 8Gb(2x4Gb)Kingston HyperX Genesis,SAPPHIRE DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC, SSD SATA III OCZ Vertex 3,ATX 750W Thermaltake TR2,Thermaltake Commander MS-II, Windows 8.1 Pro x 64

 11/12/2013 11:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
revolucion09
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 11/08/2013

Haha, its what I said in page 2 you could have saved a lot of time xD

but as BF4 is smoother with beta 9.2, im just underclocking my gpu with overdrive when in 2D mode and no flickering either

Originally posted by: revolucion09 update: Even though using older drivers fixes the flickering, the clock jumpiness that causes it is still there

 

--

 

I "Think" I have fixed it so far 10 minutes of Chrome Browsing with no flicker. This was all my procedure:

 

Before I started, what I did was installing the beta drivers from AMD for the R9 series, so I never used the drivers from the cd.

 

1. Uninstalled CATALYST and restarted in Safe mode with networking

 

2. Downloaded GURU3D Driver Sweeper and cleaned my drivers plus disabled windows update driver downloading (all within the app). Also make sure to enable the checkbox that cleans AMD folders.

 

3. Restarted in normal mode, and installed the CD Version DRIVERS. Restarted again and bam > So far no flickering

 

Color hints: I tried my previous VGA and the problem didnt happen. Started to happen again when reinstalled the 280X. I tried switching PSU cables, just dont waste your time. And I pressed the dual bios button, if it did anything i will never know...

 

I will post again if this ever happens again. 

 

Though I wonder why it DID happen also in my ARCHLINUX os 

 



-------------------------

ASUS M5A97 EVO, AMD FX-8350 BE, ANTEC  650W EA Green, GSKILL 2*4GB 1600, AMD SAPPHIRE 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC, LG 60 HZ 1920x1080, WINDOWS 7 64BIT ULTIMATE

 11/13/2013 12:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EnderDragon
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 11/10/2013

revolucion09! I really do not understand what you write. Write to human language.



-------------------------

MSI Z77A-G43, Intel Core i5-3570K, 8Gb(2x4Gb)Kingston HyperX Genesis,SAPPHIRE DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC, SSD SATA III OCZ Vertex 3,ATX 750W Thermaltake TR2,Thermaltake Commander MS-II, Windows 8.1 Pro x 64

 11/13/2013 12:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
psykeed
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 11/11/2013

I understood him

He means that if u wanna to stop flickering u must underclock your gpu in 2D mode.

I prefer to w8 for AMD fix out. 

Meanwhile in the web - http://www.guru3d.com/files_details/amd_catalyst_13_11_whql_download.html

 11/13/2013 03:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EnderDragon
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 11/10/2013

I think that he is wrong. The jump frequency in this case - it is a feature of the new generation of GPU and implementation of technology in it PowerTune. A flickering screen - it's not normal.



-------------------------

MSI Z77A-G43, Intel Core i5-3570K, 8Gb(2x4Gb)Kingston HyperX Genesis,SAPPHIRE DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC, SSD SATA III OCZ Vertex 3,ATX 750W Thermaltake TR2,Thermaltake Commander MS-II, Windows 8.1 Pro x 64

 11/13/2013 07:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
victorji
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 11/13/2013

Same problem, Sapphire r9 280x Dual-x. Flickering browsing internet, at desktop or watching a video. No problems playing games. Any official word about that?

 11/13/2013 07:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
psykeed
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 11/11/2013

Originally posted by: victorji Same problem, Sapphire r9 280x Dual-x. Flickering browsing internet, at desktop or watching a video. No problems playing games. Any official word about that?

 

No isgust; 

I advice you to wtite a ticket to Sapphire.

 11/13/2013 08:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pelo
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/13/2013

Same problem here.

 

The VGa can perfectly run a 4 hours session of BF4 on ultra settings, but flickers a lot with Chrome and Mediaplayer

 

I will try the overclock FIX this evening and update you guys

 

Thanks for the support.

 11/13/2013 09:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
revolucion09
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 11/08/2013

Originally posted by: EnderDragon I think that he is wrong. The jump frequency in this case - it is a feature of the new generation of GPU and implementation of technology in it PowerTune. A flickering screen - it's not normal.

 

I am not wrong, if you underclock your GPU when in 2D mode, the flicker won't happen even with new drivers. Try it out yourself with Catalyst Overdrive.


this means, the flickering IS caused by the combination of both drivers and clock jumpiness. That is why SAPPHIRE corea fixed it through BIOS, while AMD states to wait for a drivers to fix it the other way around

Check here for the BIOS fix that sapphire corea made FOR the flickering (only 270X for now)



-------------------------

ASUS M5A97 EVO, AMD FX-8350 BE, ANTEC  650W EA Green, GSKILL 2*4GB 1600, AMD SAPPHIRE 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC, LG 60 HZ 1920x1080, WINDOWS 7 64BIT ULTIMATE

 11/13/2013 01:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EnderDragon
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 11/10/2013

revolution09!

At the signed release version drivers do not flicker. What are you harping the same thing? All beta drivers you install on your own risk. Do not know about this?



-------------------------

MSI Z77A-G43, Intel Core i5-3570K, 8Gb(2x4Gb)Kingston HyperX Genesis,SAPPHIRE DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC, SSD SATA III OCZ Vertex 3,ATX 750W Thermaltake TR2,Thermaltake Commander MS-II, Windows 8.1 Pro x 64



Edited: 11/13/2013 at 11:13 PM by EnderDragon
 11/14/2013 07:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheDemon
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 04/13/2012

This seems to be related to my Issue with "frame glitching" as well, on a 270x:

it appears exactly as shown in the Video from the first page's link, only in 3D though, and much less frequent.

But it looks almost like his issue, the driver seems to "cut out" a picture and "paste it" over the actual frame, causing to show a weird "misplaced" picture that shows a completely different frame for, well, one frame.

 

HARD to explain, but didnt happen on my oldish 6870, never ever. And it happens in EVERY game and 3D application.

 11/14/2013 12:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TalesofWin
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/14/2013

is there any fix for this yet? I have the same problem.

windows 8.1 64-bit

Asus R9 280x DCII

I have no overclocked my graphics card.

 

 11/15/2013 01:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
psykeed
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 11/11/2013

Not yet! Please, all who have such an issues, make a ticket to your customer!

 11/15/2013 11:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

I apologize for my late reply to this thread.  It got lost amongst other threads and tasks on my plate.  I had meant to let everyone know that this issue is something the Driver Teams are aware of, and looking into.

Thank you to those that have posted work-around solution in the interim to help the community.

;Marc



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

 11/15/2013 01:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
victorji
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 11/13/2013

Originally posted by: Marc@AMD I apologize for my late reply to this thread.  It got lost amongst other threads and tasks on my plate.  I had meant to let everyone know that this issue is something the Driver Teams are aware of, and looking into. Thank you to those that have posted work-around solution in the interim to help the community.

 

;Marc

 

Thank you, please keep us informed.

 11/15/2013 09:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EnderDragon
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 11/10/2013

When can we expect an updated driver?



-------------------------

MSI Z77A-G43, Intel Core i5-3570K, 8Gb(2x4Gb)Kingston HyperX Genesis,SAPPHIRE DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC, SSD SATA III OCZ Vertex 3,ATX 750W Thermaltake TR2,Thermaltake Commander MS-II, Windows 8.1 Pro x 64

 11/15/2013 10:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tossedSalads
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/15/2013

same with 7970 vapor x/7950 vapor - oc

the only solution for me it was to increase memory 2d clocks from 150 to 370 and core from 300 to 250(i did so in core,otherwise it wouldnt be stable) and gain like 2 celcius.

 

tried beta drivers,13.10,13.9,13.8and zillion of drivers but nothing.its quite annoying,it comes from time to time and i could simply just rma it but the process would take at least 30 days.

 11/16/2013 07:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EnderDragon
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 11/10/2013

While I will use 13.10



-------------------------

MSI Z77A-G43, Intel Core i5-3570K, 8Gb(2x4Gb)Kingston HyperX Genesis,SAPPHIRE DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC, SSD SATA III OCZ Vertex 3,ATX 750W Thermaltake TR2,Thermaltake Commander MS-II, Windows 8.1 Pro x 64

 11/16/2013 07:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EnderDragon
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 11/10/2013

Originally posted by: psykeed Not yet! Please, all who have such an issues, make a ticket to your customer!

 

You yourself then created a ticket? And what do you say?



-------------------------

MSI Z77A-G43, Intel Core i5-3570K, 8Gb(2x4Gb)Kingston HyperX Genesis,SAPPHIRE DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC, SSD SATA III OCZ Vertex 3,ATX 750W Thermaltake TR2,Thermaltake Commander MS-II, Windows 8.1 Pro x 64

 11/19/2013 04:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
psykeed
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 11/11/2013

Originally posted by: EnderDragon
Originally posted by: psykeed Not yet! Please, all who have such an issues, make a ticket to your customer!

 

 

 

You yourself then created a ticket? And what do you say?

 

 

Yes I created the one. Sapphire agent told me that the only way to install Catalyst 13.10 WHQL for now. Thats all he said... 

And 13.10 WHQL didn't clear this flickering at all. Yes, it became less than usual, but it is still here!

AMD Support and Game » AMD Radeon™ Graphics » R9 280x 2d Flickering

<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Previous Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
86495 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.