Topic Title: R9 280x 2d Flickering
Topic Summary: Asus R9 280x flickers randomly when downclocked
Created On: 10/28/2013 11:04 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 4 5 6 7 8 9 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/18/2013 10:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Uns33n
Peon

Posts: 23
Joined: 02/22/2009

Originally posted by: bwat47 At some point AMD said they were looking into it to fix in the driver, but so far they've only fixed it for r9 270 cards (according to the changelog of the newest amd driver and comments here) :/

 

Some owners of r9 280x cards have been able to fix it via an updated vbios. I have the sapphire Dual-X R9 280x and I was able to use the vbios posted earlier in this thread, and it did fix the issue for me. If you contact sapphire support they may be able to send you an updated vbios for the toxic variant (the user that posted the dual-x vbios recieved it from sapphire support).

 

This is just too bad... they solved flickering for 270x and 280x owners are still waiting for a proper fix. What is worse is that even I own R9 280x Dual-X Sapphire edition... got vBIOS update from Sapphire like the other person here but it just didn't fix my problem. Has anyone tried 13.12 and managed to check if flickering is solved in 280x too? 

 

 

 12/25/2013 05:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vadimmitropolsky
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/05/2013

I already checked and dont work/ In 13.12 WHQL issue persist too. Sapphire support send me vbios v41 and this fixed issue,but vbios is legacy image,so i wont use my videocard now in UEFI mode and switched it to non-UEFI mode. I dont like this,its driver problem so i think this is only temporarly fix and waiting for issue to be solved in next catalyst release. My VGA - Saphhire R9 280X Dual-X OC (UEFI) 

 12/25/2013 11:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Uns33n
Peon

Posts: 23
Joined: 02/22/2009

Originally posted by: vadimmitropolsky I already checked and dont work/ In 13.12 WHQL issue persist too. Sapphire support send me vbios v41 and this fixed issue,but vbios is legacy image,so i wont use my videocard now in UEFI mode and switched it to non-UEFI mode. I dont like this,its driver problem so i think this is only temporarly fix and waiting for issue to be solved in next catalyst release. My VGA - Saphhire R9 280X Dual-X OC (UEFI) 

 

Thanks again for your reply. So, I'll just wait for a better release :/

 12/26/2013 12:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sabariboss
Peon

Posts: 29
Joined: 12/13/2013

What the hell.. Everyone Facing the Flickering issues in 270x & 280x. What

is happening??? I don't find any Flickering issues in my card MSI AMD R9

280x 3gb

BIOS Version/Date Intel Corp. DBZ6810H.86A.0014.2011.0413.1049, 4/13/2011

Driver packing version : 13.251-131206a-166389C-ATI
Catalyst Version : 13.12
2d Driver Version : 8.01.01.1360
Direct3D version : 9.14.10.01001
Open GLVersion: 6.14.10.12618
AMD Catalyst Control Center Version : 2013.1206.1603.28764
AMD Audio Driver Version: 7.12.0.7717
2D Driver File path: REGISTRY/MACHINE/SYSTEM/Controlset001/Control/CLASS/{4d36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}/0002
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2500K CPU @ 3.30GHz, 3301 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
OS Name Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate
SMBIOS Version 2.6
System Type x64-based PC
MY SPEC 
Intel Core i5 2500K @ 3.30GHz 
12.0 GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Intel Corporation DZ68DB
Samsung S24C350 LED Monitor FULLHD 24inch Resolution1920x1080)
3072MB MSI AMD R9 280X
977GB Seagate 
MS Windows 7 Pro 64-bit 
 12/26/2013 02:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zurruck
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/04/2013

Originally posted by: sabariboss What the hell.. Everyone Facing the Flickering issues in 270x & 280x. What

 

is happening??? I don't find any Flickering issues in my card MSI AMD R9

280x 3gb

 

is not a every cards problem, just some has the problem. i have friends whit no problems, and i return mi first one for that motive and the second has the same. im not going to a hospital telling everybody "i dont have cancer whit the people complai about that?" just because i dont have that problem. maybe is time to start thinking in the rest and not only in u, dont u think?

 

 12/26/2013 05:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Uns33n
Peon

Posts: 23
Joined: 02/22/2009

Originally posted by: sabariboss What the hell.. Everyone Facing the Flickering issues in 270x & 280x. What

 

is happening??? I don't find any Flickering issues in my card MSI AMD R9

 

280x 3gb

 

BIOS Version/Date Intel Corp. DBZ6810H.86A.0014.2011.0413.1049, 4/13/2011

 

Driver packing version : 13.251-131206a-166389C-ATI
Catalyst Version : 13.12
2d Driver Version : 8.01.01.1360
Direct3D version : 9.14.10.01001
Open GLVersion: 6.14.10.12618
AMD Catalyst Control Center Version : 2013.1206.1603.28764
AMD Audio Driver Version: 7.12.0.7717
2D Driver File path: REGISTRY/MACHINE/SYSTEM/Controlset001/Control/CLASS/{4d36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}/0002
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2500K CPU @ 3.30GHz, 3301 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
OS Name Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate
SMBIOS Version 2.6
System Type x64-based PC
MY SPEC 
Intel Core i5 2500K @ 3.30GHz 
12.0 GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Intel Corporation DZ68DB
Samsung S24C350 LED Monitor FULLHD 24inch Resolution1920x1080)
3072MB MSI AMD R9 280X
977GB Seagate 
MS Windows 7 Pro 64-bit 

Well, good for you!

For us the flickering problems occur not in 3D games but in 2D apps... especially browsing internet, Unity engine, photo-editing softwares etc. 


Btw, will be great if you could also let us know your R9 280x BIOS version no. 

 12/26/2013 06:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tiag
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/18/2013

Thanks for the reply, someone tell if this flicker problem can get worse with time of use, or can I get without worry and wait for a solution?

 12/26/2013 10:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Uns33n
Peon

Posts: 23
Joined: 02/22/2009

Originally posted by: Tiag Thanks for the reply, someone tell if this flicker problem can get worse with time of use, or can I get without worry and wait for a solution?

 

I don't think it'll get worse with time. It just happens due to memory clock fluctuation. But, its just my opinion

 12/28/2013 05:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TalesofWin
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/14/2013

I still have this problem with my Asus R9 280x card. Is there a bios update for the asus version?

 12/30/2013 05:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
s016
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/30/2013

I have this issue with Gigabyte R9 280x as well. Is there any bios update i can use?

 12/30/2013 05:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kelvincesar
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/30/2013

I bought a R9 280x from Gigabyte, the 2d flickering don't happen more after the BIOS update, but i'm still having problens in Battlefield 4 or when the GPU get stress, the screen get flickering and if i don't stop the game crashes or the PC restart, anyone knows why this happen? Thanks

 12/30/2013 07:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aasda1
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/30/2013

Originally posted by: kelvincesar I bought a R9 280x from Gigabyte, the 2d flickering don't happen more after the BIOS update, but i'm still having problens in Battlefield 4 or when the GPU get stress, the screen get flickering and if i don't stop the game crashes or the PC restart, anyone knows why this happen? Thanks

 

What is the version of BIOS that you updated to?

 12/30/2013 07:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kelvincesar
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/30/2013

F60, i found it in web

 12/31/2013 08:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FuriousMittens
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/31/2013

I'm experiencing this exact same issue, tried to fix it with all the different versions of catalyst. I'm at the stage of trying to update my vbios. I have a sapphire 280x toxic. Will I be able to use the updated bios from one of sapphire's other models like the Vapor-X or Dual-X? Or do I just have to wait around until AMD fixes this thing?

 01/01/2014 01:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Uns33n
Peon

Posts: 23
Joined: 02/22/2009

Originally posted by: FuriousMittens I'm experiencing this exact same issue, tried to fix it with all the different versions of catalyst. I'm at the stage of trying to update my vbios. I have a sapphire 280x toxic. Will I be able to use the updated bios from one of sapphire's other models like the Vapor-X or Dual-X? Or do I just have to wait around until AMD fixes this thing?

 

No you must not use the bios from other versions of the card. Also, check TechPowerUp vBIOS collection. They have updated for R9 280x.

 01/02/2014 05:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ragnador
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 09/04/2013

Since 280x is a overclocked relabled hd7k

..............................................................

 

For me it is definitly a voltage problem.

Possible zero core or something.

 

 

After reducing my idle clock of 300 (7870 pcs+) to 270 [possible i could have done less then 30 mhz reduce, but didnt wanted to test since i dont need clock power in idle].

The flickering is away. This idea came to mind since the flickering disapeared when my gpu was above 30°C and came back after gaming session after getting under 30°C. Other people told me that fixed voltage was disabling the problem too[resulting in higher temps above 30°C]

This looked for me like a voltage prob. So with reducing the clock i was able bypass this error without more stress on videocard.

 

 

Possible this problem only occurs since i used an own build fan which cooled my card under 30°C in idle - not planned by manufacturer.

And for others: Possible new driver let the cards run cooler in idle or gives less voltage?

 

I used this tool do change my bios.

----------------------------- !!! You loose warranty if you do a bios flash without permission of manufacturer !!! -----------------------------

Dont use Bios flash if you dont have a Bios switch or know how to safe a bricked card with start disk (Winflash is unstable with windows 8.0 8.1 and will not work on a bricked card)

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/vbe7-vbios-editor-for-radeon-hd-7000-series-cards.189089/

 01/02/2014 01:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zackzackab
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/02/2014

I own a Sapphire R9 280x Toxic (3GB - UEFI) and faced flickering during video playback with Microsoft Silverlight and generally while browsing with Mozilla Firefox. I was able to work around the issue by setting the memclocks to 1400 (minimum). Today Sapphire has provided me with a new vbios through their support ticket system. I flashed my legacy und uefi vbios version and the flickering is history with normal clock settings (GPU minimum: 300 mhz; vram minimum: 150 mhz).


PS: I have asked Sapphire support permission to upload the bios, so that other Sapphire r9 280x toxic owners can profit from it. The request is pending.

 

PPS: After some time with the new vbios I still experience occasional flickering when browsing the internet with firefox. No more flickering during video playback, too. And overall it's gotten a lot better, but it's not a perfect fix.



Edited: 01/04/2014 at 05:50 AM by zackzackab
 01/03/2014 01:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mrraz
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/03/2014

Thanks

F60 bios stops the flickering

 01/03/2014 01:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
custode
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/03/2014

Originally posted by: Tiag Hello good afternoon, I have a flicker problem with my video card Sapphire Toxic R9 280x, this problem is hardware or software? is there any way to solve this with some kind of driver or Vbios? have to request an exchange for a new video card?, how to proceed?. Thank you.

 

 

I have the same card (sapphire 280x toxic) and the same problem, please upload the bios as soon as you can

 01/03/2014 01:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FuriousMittens
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/31/2013

ZackZackab, you have no idea how jealous I am!

I've had an open ticket with Sapphire for three days now. They bounced me to a different company (Althon Micro) which then claimed to have sent me the vbios but I still haven't received anything (gave them two different email addresses to try). And on Sapphire's end, I have asked for an updated vbios with every single reply on the ticket and they have yet to address why they can't actually send it to me. Responses have been

1: "Contact other company"

2: "Other company says they're handling it"

then after explaining that I didn't receive the vbios

3: "did you receive email?"

Bughlagulah.....

 

So yeah, upload that sucker when you can. If this were reddit I'd give you gold, but since it's an AMD forum, just know you'll be solving a big problem for a lot of frustrated new owners of the toxic 280x.

AMD Support and Game » AMD Radeon™ Graphics » R9 280x 2d Flickering

<< 4 5 6 7 8 9 Previous Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
81040 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.