Topic Title: R9 280x 2d Flickering
Topic Summary: Asus R9 280x flickers randomly when downclocked
Created On: 10/28/2013 11:04 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/24/2014 01:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Uns33n
Peon

Posts: 24
Joined: 02/22/2009

Originally posted by: custode
Originally posted by: Uns33n
Originally posted by: Edifier I managed to decrease the flickering occurence by increasing the 2D clocks from default 300MHz Core / 150MHz Mem to 400MHz core and 250MHz mem. It still flickers from time to time, but at least is less annoying.

 

 

 

   

 

AMD, where's the new driver to fix this? [IMG][/IMG]

 

 

 

   

 

 

 

 

What I have been doing is just "Enable Overdrive" with 300MHz Core and 150MHz Mem. By forcing it (without increasing clocks) flickering stops completely. However, we definitely NEED AMD to bring out a new driver to fix the issue :/

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have this problem too, can you tell what tool did you use to do this? With amd catalyst control center? 

 

Yes. Just the normal CCC Overdrive settings. Put values at 300/ 150 and enable checkbox. Before starting 3D games, uncheck the box.

 01/24/2014 04:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
psychok9
Peon

Posts: 29
Joined: 02/26/2010

Hello guys!
Have you tried to enable&disable Overdrive (with a little overclock applied!) and/or your favorite overclocking problem?

Tonight I've found the same problem on my Asus 280X DCII TOP, but diseppeared after I've tried to overclock (a little) on overdrive and after I've disabled.

The problem was shown in dual monitor only (1360x768, Monitor 1050p with HDready TV LCD).

I've updated the bios 15.41.0.0.AS02, but I don't think it's related to it.

I don't know if useful, but If you use dual monitor setup, try to manage monitors "duplicate" from CCC and not from Windows panel.

 02/11/2014 06:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
twister004
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/11/2014

I have this problem aswell with my MSI 280X card.

Have the latest bios installed 15.41
I did write to MSI support, but they do not respond.

Seems to be happing with the 290(x) cards aswell.
So the whole R9 serie has this problem. I thougt I would switch it for a 290 card but as they seem to have it, I might need to switch it for an Nvidia card this time
Anyway will send the card back to the retailer tomorrow will see what they do with it.


P.S. I'm running a dual monitor setup (TV attached) in mirrored mode 60Hz.

If I'm running a single screen mode with 100Hz or 120Hz the flickering stops.
So if you have a fast screen you might want to check if this is possible for you to run at a higher rate than 60Hz. My tv does not go faster than 60Hz so I'm screwed. But if you do not have the problem get it to run faster.



Edited: 02/11/2014 at 06:47 PM by twister004
 02/12/2014 05:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bonami2
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/12/2014

Im currently talking with sapphire i have a problem with 2d clock too with my 7950   ( the clock get stuck in 2d mode so i cant get 3d mode without rebooting.... Pure crap driver... Seriously amd Do something

 02/18/2014 01:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
clarbaden
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/18/2014

Can someone please help me! I have a R9 280x toxic and have installed the bios because I was getting flickering, however now it wont even run games at all and crashes on start up. can someone please tell me how to delete the bios that I have installed. Im a noob and stupidly installed it without really knowing what im doing. My 280x is brand new today and costs me 300 pounds.

 02/18/2014 09:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edifier
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/25/2013

Did you save a backup of the original BIOS (using GPU-Z)? If you did, you can just install that BIOS the same way you did with the newer BIOS. Now, if you have no backup, at this link (http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/index.php?manufacturer=Sapphire&model=R9+280X) there are 3 BIOS for Toxic, try downloading and installing one of those.

 02/20/2014 07:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
URBAN303
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/20/2014

Originally posted by: labudesnica Flickering in desktop Sapphire R9 280x Dual-X Catalyst 13.11 in all beta include beta 8

 

 

Do you have change Vddc of your card ? 

 

  1. If yes ; reset vddc with Sapphire Trixx tools 
  2. If not, reset via "AMD Overdrive" disabling "Overdrive Graphics"
Flickering: can be caused by Invalid Vddc

 



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 / Corsair H110 / Crossfire Sapphire R9 280x Tri-X OC / 16GB HyperX Beast DDR3-1866 / PSU Corsair RM 1000  80+Gold ^^

 03/02/2014 10:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brucy
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 03/02/2014

I just purchased two Gigabyte Radeon R9 280X's and have them running in cross fire mode. I'm experincing the same flickering. No issues in 3D games. I've opened a ticket with Gigabyte but have had very little luck.

I've tried overclocking to 400/250 but issue still exists. Tried the newest beta driver. Tried disabling one card and removing crossfire. No luck.

 03/07/2014 10:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
URBAN303
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/20/2014

The minimum of your PSU should be 1000W for R9 280X crossfire.
Then ... the temperature of the graphics cards does not exceed 75 °C load. Your pc case is sufficiently ventilated? avoid the heat remains inside the case. 

Did you change the frequency of your processor (cpu) or FSB ? 

"Flickering" indicate a "saturation" graphics card and/or motherboard due to poor changes. (bad overclocking)



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 / Corsair H110 / Crossfire Sapphire R9 280x Tri-X OC / 16GB HyperX Beast DDR3-1866 / PSU Corsair RM 1000  80+Gold ^^

 03/08/2014 08:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brucy
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 03/02/2014

My system is not overclocked. Everything is stock.


Intel i5 3570K

ASUS P8Z77-V PRO

2x GIGABYTE GV-R928XOC-3GD REV2 Radeon R9 280X

Kingston Hyper-X Blu 16GB

Antec 1000W PSU


I also have an Antec DF-85 case. So air flow is not a problem. The card does not exceed 75c ever and as the rest of this thread suggest it happens when idle or doing 2D tasks such as browsing.


I have sinced RMAed one of the cards because I thought I isolated it to one card and was recommended by Gigabyte. This was 3 days ago. The day after I started noticing a flicker on the other card by itself in my system.

I found a post on another forum that recommended downgrading drivers to the drivers that came on the CD with the card which is 13.10. Since fully uninstalling the old drivers and reverting to these drivers I have only noticed a flicker maybe once.

Based on that this leads me to believe this is purely driver or bios related. Not to mention other vendors ASUS, Sapphire have all fixed the issue with a BIOS update.

If I don’t get a resolution to this soon AMD will be losing a long term customer of almost 15 years.

 03/09/2014 01:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
usernine4
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/09/2014

Hello i also have this problem in games it seems to run fine ,i just had a screen flicker  while i was watching a stream on twitch tv and earlier in the desktop , i've read of a new vbios , or installing 13.10 drivers.....i don't know what to do. my card is Sapphire R9 280X 3gb gddr5 dual x oc version (UEFI)

i have a 750W Bronze + power supply

8 gb Ram

amd fx 6300 processor

 03/11/2014 05:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sabariboss
Nerfed

Posts: 52
Joined: 12/13/2013

Originally posted by: Uns33n
Originally posted by: sabariboss What the hell.. Everyone Facing the Flickering issues in 270x & 280x. What

 

 

 

is happening??? I don't find any Flickering issues in my card MSI AMD R9

 

 

 

280x 3gb

 

 

 

BIOS Version/Date Intel Corp. DBZ6810H.86A.0014.2011.0413.1049, 4/13/2011  

 

Driver packing version : 13.251-131206a-166389C-ATI
Catalyst Version : 13.12
2d Driver Version : 8.01.01.1360
Direct3D version : 9.14.10.01001
Open GLVersion: 6.14.10.12618
AMD Catalyst Control Center Version : 2013.1206.1603.28764
AMD Audio Driver Version: 7.12.0.7717
2D Driver File path: REGISTRY/MACHINE/SYSTEM/Controlset001/Control/CLASS/{4d36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}/0002
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2500K CPU @ 3.30GHz, 3301 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
OS Name Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate
SMBIOS Version 2.6
System Type x64-based PC
MY SPEC 
Intel Core i5 2500K @ 3.30GHz 
12.0 GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Intel Corporation DZ68DB
Samsung S24C350 LED Monitor FULLHD 24inch Resolution[IMG][/IMG]1920x1080)
3072MB MSI AMD R9 280X
977GB Seagate 
MS Windows 7 Pro 64-bit 

 

 

Well, good for you!

 

For us the flickering problems occur not in 3D games but in 2D apps... especially browsing internet, Unity engine, photo-editing softwares etc. 

 

Btw, will be great if you could also let us know your R9 280x BIOS version no. 

 

BIOS Version 015.039.000.001

BIOS Part Number 113-C3865000-G77

BIOS Date 2013/09/12

No Problem.. So far
 03/11/2014 10:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brucy
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 03/02/2014

What card brand?

 03/23/2014 05:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stigus
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/23/2014

i tried a bios for mine (his r9 280x) sorted now try here for bios: www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/index.php?architecture=ATI&manufacturer=&model=R9+280X&interface=&memType=&memSize= 

 04/08/2014 01:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CRYSTRIK
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/08/2014

Hi have problem screen flicking 2D. Video XFX R9-280X-TDFD

Old Driver 13.12 do not eliminate the problem.

AMD FX 8350 
ASUS M5A99FX PRO 2.0 
RAM G.Skill Sniper 8Gb
XFX R9 280X TDFD 
Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 120GB 
Seagate 3 TB 
Chiftec 850W 

 04/17/2014 11:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sakiboj
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/01/2014

Guys any fix for this flickering? 

I have this gpu

I have bloody no idea how to flash bios or what does that button on side do.

 

 04/22/2014 12:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Uns33n
Peon

Posts: 24
Joined: 02/22/2009

Hi again everyone... believe it or not but the BIOS/ drivers nothing fixes my 2D flickering issues (as I've been mentioning since before).

However, there are few steps after which flickering has reduced drastically (from like 80% to ~20%). Not very assuring numbers but still something to work with.

- Make sure pixel format = YCbCr 4:4:4 (if you guys are using HDTV as monitor - like me)
- Currently on drivers 13.12 (don't know if this helps)

- Disable hardware acceleration completely in firefox/ chrome

- Disable hardware acceleration in Flash player - browser

Doing all of the above has brought down my flickering :]

 04/24/2014 06:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CRYSTRIK
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/08/2014

I solved the problem with flickering 2D

To create need modifying profile AMD Catalist!

I recorded a video how to do it!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6pzTsvu5WxQ

 

 

 

 04/25/2014 07:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
f0b0s
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/25/2014

Originally posted by: CRYSTRIK I solved the problem with flickering 2D

 

To create need modifying profile AMD Catalist!

 

I recorded a video how to do it!

 

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6pzTsvu5WxQ

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hi,

I just registered here to say thanks. Actually, this worked pretty well for me, I have the XFX r9 280x with the 015.041 BIOS, and after trying diferents drivers with no luck, this workaroud made the miracle.

 

The temps went a little bit higher than default, but no more flickering. AMD needs to do something with this.

 05/07/2014 02:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Oleman123
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 05/07/2014

Hey i just bought 2x R9 280x TOXIC and OFC i have the flickering. Does the VBIOS work for the toxic edition if so please reply and if it do not please link me a bios that works.

EDIT : I Fixed it. This is what that was wrong with mine.

I use a ANALOG screen cable with with a analog to dvi convertor. I thought it was my screencards but i removed them and tested my old screencard and it same happend to that one. When i tested it with my old screencard i had some "out of range" problems so i had to connect my HDMI cable into the screencard. Suddenly the flicker was gone. Then i put in the ANALOG TO DVI cable in with the HDMI and duplicated the screens and it was FIXED!. I then connected my 2x R9 280x Toxic to test it and it worked. The tv screen i had hdmi with was no flickers while my PC screen with analog to dvi connect had flickers. I have not tested with a only DVI cable yet but if that does not fix it you might need to only use the HDMI cable. 



Edited: 05/08/2014 at 06:58 AM by Oleman123
AMD Support and Game » AMD Radeon™ Graphics » R9 280x 2d Flickering

<< 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Previous Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
88956 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.