Topic Title: amd radeon r7 260x doesn't display at startup
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/06/2013 11:13 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/06/2013 11:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bdaniel5
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/06/2013

 

Graphics Card
- AMD Radeon R7 260x. not overclocked

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
driver version 13.250.18.0 and the only version i've installed since i got the card on 11/3.

Operating System
- windows 8 64 bit (haven't installed 8.1 yet)


Issue Details

I've just installed a new AMD Radeon R7 260x. It's wonderful and I'm really liking the better graphics. However, when I first turn on my computer and it's going through the BIOS startup, it doesn't display any video. I've tried using every port on the card except display port since i don't have a display port cable. eventually when windows boots it starts to display video and i'm able to use it. 

I’ve even had to manually turn off the computer w/ the switch on the power supply and back on to get it to boot all the way to windows w/ video


Motherboard or System Make & Model
- ASUS Essentio series CM1745

Power Supply

installed a 600w thermaltake TR2 when i bought the video card


Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
ViewSonic 27” LCD, tried the issue w/ DVI and HDMI and DVI-VGA adapter


Applications and Games

at boot, can’t see the bios screen or initial windows load

CPU Details
AMD A8 processor

 


Motherboard BIOS Version
- 1008 i think, can't get to BIOS right now to check.

System Memory Type & Amount
8gb not sure of brand

 11/06/2013 11:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12501
Joined: 04/17/2008

You have an APU, so it sounds like in BIOS it is set to use the APU as the primary output, so attach the monitor to those outputs, enter BIOS, and change the primary display adapter from IGP (or On Board or Integrated, however it is labeled) to PCIe (or Dedicated, or Discrete, however it is labeled.)

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/06/2013 11:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bdaniel5
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/06/2013

i forgot to mention that i've already done that. when i hookup to the video port for the APU it doesn't display any video.

 11/06/2013 11:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

That is because the GPU in the APU will be disabled. But you might want to remove the card and boot it with the APU only. What black_zion told you about the bios is worth checking out. If there is setting change it and power off. Put the card back in.

I only see my bios at startup only every once and while. It doesn't bother me that I don't see it.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 11/06/2013 11:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12501
Joined: 04/17/2008

Normally I wouldn't suggest this, but ASUS has a program to update your BIOS from within Windows (ASUS EZ Flash, if your board supports it). According to The product support page the latest BIOS is 5202.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/08/2013 02:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hirata
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 11/08/2013

Because Radeon R7 260X doesn't support the new BIOS that Windows 8 or Windows 8.1 pre-installed comptuers that ship. So there is no way to fix it.

Statistics
85517 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.