Topic Title: R9 270x 2d Flickering
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/10/2013 09:36 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/10/2013 09:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Medussa
Peon

Posts: 18
Joined: 11/05/2013

Hi ppl, I want to talk with you about flickering problem on R9 270x graph.cards. Many of you know that this problem is related with all R9 serie cards like 270x,280X, oc,not oc,vapor,dualx. All brands like Asus,sapphire,MSI and others have the same problem.

That flickering we can descirbe like shaking screen up down randomly, especialy when we using browsers like Chrome,Mozila or IE, watching movies.

Good news is that some manufacturers like MSI and sapphire admit error and they release new vbios for this card. Asus dont want to change anything in vbios bcs they thinking that driver can resolve the problem, but w8 maybe it is possible. We can alone change 2D clock in CCC profile to be core/mem 300/300 and fix the problem, but that is not final resolution and that is only temporary fix. Using new drivers with bugged vbios is totaly insane.

I must thaks to Korean manufacturers who made FLICKER free bios for Sapphire and MSI 270X cards, and bcs they admit error. Asking myself, why is too hard for someone to admit mistake. Bcs of all this events I want to hear what AMD thinking about this and want to hear , "yea we did mistake and we will force all other manufacturer to edit  and provide new vbios for all cards with flickering problem".

I will provide you links for Msi and sapphire new vbios for R9 270X models<

http://msi.waycos.co.kr/bbs/board.php?bo_table=data&wr_id=48

MSI R9 270X ?? ??? 4 2GD5/OC ??? ?? BIOS (????)

translate

MSI R9 270X Twin Pro 4 2GD5/OC gaming becomes official BIOS (screen flickering)

http://emtekinc.co.kr/?this_in=download&seq=1454

Sapphire R9 270X OC D5 2G Vapor-x ???? ???? ?? BIOS

translate

Sapphire R9 270X OC D5 2G Vapor-x official BIOS screen flickering problem solving

http://emtekinc.co.kr/?this_in=download&seq=1455

Sapphire R9 270X OC D5 2G Dual-X ???? ???? ?? BIOS

translate

Sapphire R9 270X OC D5 2G Dual-X BIOS screen flickering problem solving formal

 

Ty all in advance and hope that AMD team will do everithing to solve this problem.

Edit 1

It seams that 300/300 profile is not enough to stop flicker. So, for Asus users, I recommend 300/450 core/mem in CCC.

Last massage what I got from Asus is ended like this :"Case is still under verification." Btw they working on vbios and Elpida memory taiming and I realy hope that they will soon provide working vbios. Till now I tested two vbios from Asus and non one working.

 

Edit 2

 

Asus release new vbios for R9 270X cards. You can download vbios here

https://www.asus.com/Graphics_Cards/R9270XDC2T2GD5/#support

I can confirm that this vbios working well with old drivers 13.11 beta 9.4 and I tested him 7 days ago when was in beta stage! Ty asus!



-------------------------

i5 3570k,  Asus p8Z77-M pro,  Kingston 2x 4gb 1333,  Intel SSD,  PSU Seasonic 600w,  Asus R9 270X Top,  Dell U2212HM 1080p,  Win 8.1,  OSX 10.9



Edited: 12/10/2013 at 05:29 PM by Medussa
 11/10/2013 10:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
revolucion09
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 11/08/2013

Please tell us when this becomes available for the 280x ..



-------------------------

ASUS M5A97 EVO, AMD FX-8350 BE, ANTEC  650W EA Green, GSKILL 2*4GB 1600, AMD SAPPHIRE 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC, LG 60 HZ 1920x1080, WINDOWS 7 64BIT ULTIMATE

 11/10/2013 03:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EnderDragon
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 11/10/2013

I have the same problem at SAPPHIRE DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC. Will be the solution?



-------------------------

MSI Z77A-G43, Intel Core i5-3570K, 8Gb(2x4Gb)Kingston HyperX Genesis,SAPPHIRE DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC, SSD SATA III OCZ Vertex 3,ATX 750W Thermaltake TR2,Thermaltake Commander MS-II, Windows 8.1 Pro x 64

 11/12/2013 12:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EnderDragon
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 11/10/2013

Removed beta drivers and installed AMD_Catalyst_13.10_WHQL. The problem disappeared.



-------------------------

MSI Z77A-G43, Intel Core i5-3570K, 8Gb(2x4Gb)Kingston HyperX Genesis,SAPPHIRE DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC, SSD SATA III OCZ Vertex 3,ATX 750W Thermaltake TR2,Thermaltake Commander MS-II, Windows 8.1 Pro x 64

 11/13/2013 02:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Medussa
Peon

Posts: 18
Joined: 11/05/2013

Good news from Asus,

they working on new vbios for R9 270X and will provide it for couple working days, on their site.

So speculation about flicker is confirmed. There is a problem in vbios and I m glad that they will look in that direction, bcs making driver better to work with buged bios is insane



-------------------------

i5 3570k,  Asus p8Z77-M pro,  Kingston 2x 4gb 1333,  Intel SSD,  PSU Seasonic 600w,  Asus R9 270X Top,  Dell U2212HM 1080p,  Win 8.1,  OSX 10.9

 11/13/2013 07:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EnderDragon
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 11/10/2013

Provide an official confirmation of your words. It's just your word. Prove?



-------------------------

MSI Z77A-G43, Intel Core i5-3570K, 8Gb(2x4Gb)Kingston HyperX Genesis,SAPPHIRE DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC, SSD SATA III OCZ Vertex 3,ATX 750W Thermaltake TR2,Thermaltake Commander MS-II, Windows 8.1 Pro x 64

 11/14/2013 05:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bastinazus
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/14/2013

I have the same problem. Is there any official info about it??

 11/15/2013 12:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
samsai
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 11/12/2013

I am using Gibabyte R9 270x oc, have the same problem.

My screen even got hang for 1-3s when playing LOL.

 

Please provide the fix!!



-------------------------

i5-4440@3.1GHz, ASROCK B85 Pro4,  Gigabyte R9 270X OC, Kingston 2x 4gb 1600, Intel SSD, Corsair CX-500 V3 500W,Window 7

 11/16/2013 11:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AboveBeyond
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/16/2013

I have the MSI brand and getting flickers.  I even had one hard BSOD crash....

 11/18/2013 07:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
THS
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/18/2013

Hi everybody

I'm also a victim of the low quality products that AMD produced the last time (7870 - R9 270X). I remember the days of ATi and my 4870 when hardware issues was something that only a very small percentage of customers were facing which is something normal.

As we all understand to be price and performance competitive probably you have to lose in quality.

And now to the point. A short list of the issues i'm also facing.

  • Screen flickering. Solved with the BIOS update but no official word about that BIOS....Also i noticed that 13.11 beta9.2 was making things better but it didn't solve the problem at all.
  • Graphics artifacts on the address bar of firefox. It seemed to be fixed with 13.11 b9.2 but finally not. It only happens randomly and rarely and not all the time as it used to.
  • Recall from monitor power save or sleep mode. Monitor remains black. A problem that i saw for first time in my 7870. It also exists in the R9 270X but it also happens randomly and rarely.
  • BSOD. It happened to me only once and i don't want more.
  • Noisy chips. I was running the Windows Experience Index and at the time that craphics were tested my GPU produced an electric sound. I almost could hear the stream in the circuit. (Both 7870 and R9 270X).
  • Games. 270X performance in games is very very good for its price (full graphics). I had no problems in a in-game environment. (Tomb Raider, Starcraft, Skyrim)

Conclusion: Nowadays buying a 'not quite cheap' product it doesn't mean that it is problems free not even that it has only childhood illness that can be easily cured. I understand the human error factor to the design of a product but as i know such problems are recognised and solved to the quality control level. So...no quality control? I suggest AMD to be serious if they want to keep their share on the market and offer more reliable products(GPUs) even if they are going to cost a little bit more.



Edited: 11/18/2013 at 07:23 AM by THS
 11/18/2013 11:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EnderDragon
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 11/10/2013

THS! You have written a complete nonsense. Read carefully the subject. You've read the first post and immediately answered. Without reading the other posts. The problem of flicker is observed from different manufacturers. So it must be the logical conclusion that the problem is in the drivers. Be patient and wait a bit. I have the same problem. Here's a test of my video card http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PN-99UTFq5Y 



-------------------------

MSI Z77A-G43, Intel Core i5-3570K, 8Gb(2x4Gb)Kingston HyperX Genesis,SAPPHIRE DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC, SSD SATA III OCZ Vertex 3,ATX 750W Thermaltake TR2,Thermaltake Commander MS-II, Windows 8.1 Pro x 64



Edited: 11/18/2013 at 12:04 PM by EnderDragon
 11/18/2013 03:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
THS
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/18/2013

Originally posted by: EnderDragon THS! You have written a complete nonsense. Read carefully the subject. You've read the first post and immediately answered. Without reading the other posts. The problem of flicker is observed from different manufacturers. So it must be the logical conclusion that the problem is in the drivers. Be patient and wait a bit.

EnderDragon or Mr. optimistic I'm with your side since the first days of 7870. I always believed that 7870 problems are going to be solved through drivers, BIOS etc. I' sorry that i am used to Plug and Play and not Plug and Pray. Why you have to search all the internet for a solution since you are the customer. You PAID for it. Now i hope i made myself clear. Have a nice day.



Edited: 11/18/2013 at 03:24 PM by THS
 11/19/2013 05:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Medussa
Peon

Posts: 18
Joined: 11/05/2013

@THS

I agree with you. I tried many things but not help. 13.10 whql not helping me. My friends who have Sapphire cards fix that with new bios, but not me with asus card. Im lusing a fate and tired of looking solution. I will replace this one in next couple days for Asus GTX 760.

@EnderDragon

I send ticket to asus 10 days ago, and from then till now we looking togather for resolution. Why you need prove for anything? You are not Asus user.



-------------------------

i5 3570k,  Asus p8Z77-M pro,  Kingston 2x 4gb 1333,  Intel SSD,  PSU Seasonic 600w,  Asus R9 270X Top,  Dell U2212HM 1080p,  Win 8.1,  OSX 10.9

 11/19/2013 09:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bastinazus
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/14/2013

I installed the vbios from the korean website. No more flickers, for now...

 11/21/2013 01:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DavidBGD
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 11/21/2013

Any new about GIGABYTE Radeon R9 270X 2GB 256bit - GV-R927XOC-2GD flickering fix?

 11/21/2013 08:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Medussa
Peon

Posts: 18
Joined: 11/05/2013

If someone has a CRT monitor, then need to test him. There is a chance that the flicker not appear when using it. I really do not know what this is all about, and what is the root cause. I tested last 8 hours  my old CRT monitor and did not see flicker (DVI-I-VGA adapter). It seams that flicker only appear on my Dell and viewsonic LCD. On the other side Monitors are tested on HD 7850, Intel HD 4000 and GTX 660 without flicker



-------------------------

i5 3570k,  Asus p8Z77-M pro,  Kingston 2x 4gb 1333,  Intel SSD,  PSU Seasonic 600w,  Asus R9 270X Top,  Dell U2212HM 1080p,  Win 8.1,  OSX 10.9

 11/22/2013 11:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EnderDragon
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 11/10/2013

Intel and Nvidia have different drivers have. You should not compare them.



-------------------------

MSI Z77A-G43, Intel Core i5-3570K, 8Gb(2x4Gb)Kingston HyperX Genesis,SAPPHIRE DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC, SSD SATA III OCZ Vertex 3,ATX 750W Thermaltake TR2,Thermaltake Commander MS-II, Windows 8.1 Pro x 64

 11/22/2013 01:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Medussa
Peon

Posts: 18
Joined: 11/05/2013

Yes, that's why I said to have been tested so that everybody knows that the monitors were completely correct, and I suspect there is a incompatibility between card and the monitors, but little chances for that.



-------------------------

i5 3570k,  Asus p8Z77-M pro,  Kingston 2x 4gb 1333,  Intel SSD,  PSU Seasonic 600w,  Asus R9 270X Top,  Dell U2212HM 1080p,  Win 8.1,  OSX 10.9

 11/22/2013 04:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TERROR404
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/22/2013

I tried switching between HDMI and DVI on an LCD and it didn't do anything. I wish I still had my CRT to test it.

Was anyone here lucky/fortunate enough to try multiple R9s (preferably the same model)? I wonder if this happens to every R9 or only to some cards.



Edited: 11/22/2013 at 07:46 PM by TERROR404
 11/25/2013 01:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
samsai
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 11/12/2013

Originally posted by: DavidBGD Any new about GIGABYTE Radeon R9 270X 2GB 256bit - GV-R927XOC-2GD flickering fix?

 

 

I have the same card as you.

Besides flickering when I just simply browsering internet...I got problem when playing LOL, the screen freezes for 1-3 sometimes. (Do you have this problem?)

I sent email to Gigabyte, but they said no problem found....it is totally disappointed to me!!!!



-------------------------

i5-4440@3.1GHz, ASROCK B85 Pro4,  Gigabyte R9 270X OC, Kingston 2x 4gb 1600, Intel SSD, Corsair CX-500 V3 500W,Window 7

AMD Support and Game » AMD Radeon™ Graphics » R9 270x 2d Flickering

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
84280 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.