Topic Title: R9 270x 2d Flickering
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/10/2013 09:36 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/01/2013 09:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ggenev91
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/01/2013

Gigabyte fix is not working. I checked my BIOS version in the GPU-Z and it is updated.

Best game to test it is LoL. It's happening less but it is still there.

 12/01/2013 09:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BigBoss91
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 11/30/2013

It pains me more that we can't determine or they don't state what the problem actually is. Worst case scenario is that they are problematic and we can't take replacement because we can't prove the fault.

 12/01/2013 03:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Medussa
Peon

Posts: 18
Joined: 11/05/2013

It seams that profile 300/300 is not enough to stop flicker, so I tested last couple days new one. This one is 300/450 mhz and didnt saw any flicker, but temp rise to 35 idle.  This works only on Asus R9 270X and it is not same for other brands.

Still waiting new vbios from asus or some solution for flicker, until then I will use this profile in CCC.



-------------------------

i5 3570k,  Asus p8Z77-M pro,  Kingston 2x 4gb 1333,  Intel SSD,  PSU Seasonic 600w,  Asus R9 270X Top,  Dell U2212HM 1080p,  Win 8.1,  OSX 10.9

 12/02/2013 05:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RRdeon228
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/02/2013

Originally posted by: samsai Gigabyte R9 270x OC BIOS (F2) fix:

 

 

 

Step1) Download the Gigabyte VGA@BIOS tool first: http://www.gigabyte.com/support-downloads/utility.aspx?cg=3

 

Step2) Get the GV-R927XOC-2GD BIOS (F2) here (shared by me):

 

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Byw67CyZYE4QOEN2UzVFaGx4bkk/edit?usp=sharing&pli=1

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks for the information. But may I ask where did you get this fix bios. On the official site I do not see it. I see only a new bios for 3 gigabytes of memory cards. Sorry for my English only.

 12/02/2013 11:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BigBoss91
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 11/30/2013

Well I've read in a review that the actual deffault voltage for Asus DC2Top is the 1.163 for 1120 Mhz/5600 . Yet the stupid program shows and actually seems to using 1.207. I set now voltage to 1.163 mV and testing. 

 12/02/2013 01:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Medussa
Peon

Posts: 18
Joined: 11/05/2013

I tested mine in GPU-z with Tomb Raider -Ultimate- and got max Load=1.162v. In idle is about 0.873v

 

EDIT

 

Strange, I checked gpu-z log and noticed something strange. In one moment VDDC was -14.000v. maybe it is a moment when flicker appear, not sure continue to test!

 

EDIT 2

I was scared. I had a huge jump voltage VDDC=1,498 v.  Is it the bug in gpu-z or indeed something wrong with the card ...



-------------------------

i5 3570k,  Asus p8Z77-M pro,  Kingston 2x 4gb 1333,  Intel SSD,  PSU Seasonic 600w,  Asus R9 270X Top,  Dell U2212HM 1080p,  Win 8.1,  OSX 10.9



Edited: 12/02/2013 at 04:13 PM by Medussa
 12/03/2013 04:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BigBoss91
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 11/30/2013

From asus sent me email : " Regarding the described problem, please try to wait the new version of the firmware of the vga. we have already inform the responsible department. " 

 12/03/2013 06:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Medussa
Peon

Posts: 18
Joined: 11/05/2013

I can  w8 a little more for that but in my case this conversation with asus support lasts about a month.



-------------------------

i5 3570k,  Asus p8Z77-M pro,  Kingston 2x 4gb 1333,  Intel SSD,  PSU Seasonic 600w,  Asus R9 270X Top,  Dell U2212HM 1080p,  Win 8.1,  OSX 10.9

 12/03/2013 06:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BigBoss91
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 11/30/2013

I wonder actually which department ***** up

 12/03/2013 09:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RRdeon228
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/02/2013

Originally posted by: RRdeon228
Originally posted by: samsai Gigabyte R9 270x OC BIOS (F2) fix:

 

 

 

   

 

Step1) Download the Gigabyte VGA@BIOS tool first: http://www.gigabyte.com/support-downloads/utility.aspx?cg=3

 

 

 

Step2) Get the GV-R927XOC-2GD BIOS (F2) here (shared by me):  

 

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Byw67CyZYE4QOEN2UzVFaGx4bkk/edit?usp=sharing&pli=1

 

 

   

 

   

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks for the information. But may I ask where did you get this fix bios. On the official site I do not see it. I see only a new bios for 3 gigabytes of memory cards. Sorry for my English only.

 

 

 

Set your bios. Tested the graphics card the whole evening, during which time flicker was not found. I will test more.

 12/03/2013 09:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
samsai
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 11/12/2013

Originally posted by: RRdeon228
Originally posted by: samsai Gigabyte R9 270x OC BIOS (F2) fix:

 

 

 

Step1) Download the Gigabyte VGA@BIOS tool first: http://www.gigabyte.com/support-downloads/utility.aspx?cg=3

 

 

 

Step2) Get the GV-R927XOC-2GD BIOS (F2) here (shared by me):  

 

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Byw67CyZYE4QOEN2UzVFaGx4bkk/edit?usp=sharing&pli=1

 

 

   

 

   

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks for the information. But may I ask where did you get this fix bios. On the official site I do not see it. I see only a new bios for 3 gigabytes of memory cards. Sorry for my English only.

 

 

 

This updated BIOS is given by the gigabyte(TW) technical team after my 10days Q&A and non-stop pushing them.

Up to now (after 4 days), no flickering and hang when playing LOL.

 



-------------------------

i5-4440@3.1GHz, ASROCK B85 Pro4,  Gigabyte R9 270X OC, Kingston 2x 4gb 1600, Intel SSD, Corsair CX-500 V3 500W,Window 7

 12/03/2013 09:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RRdeon228
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/02/2013

 12/03/2013 03:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RRdeon228
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/02/2013

  • Resolves intermittent flickering seen on some AMD Radeon R9 270x graphics cards

 

Last Updates: 12/3/2013 
Article Number: RN-WIN-B13.11 

?
???????????????????

???The AM??D Catalyst™ 13.11 Beta9.5 Driver can be downloaded from the following links:


?NOTE! This Catalyst Driver is provided "AS IS", and under the terms and conditions of the End User License Agreement provided therewith.?


Feature Highlights of The AMD Catalyst 13.11 Beta9.5 Driver for Windows

  • Includes all Feature Highlights of The AMD Catalyst 13.11 Beta9.4 Driver
  • Resolves the issue of AMD Overdrive missing in the AMD Catalyst Control Center for the AMD Radeon R9 290 Series graphics cards
  • Resolves intermittent flickering seen on some AMD Radeon R9 270x graphics cards
  • Resolves graphics corruption seen in Starcraft®
  • Improves frace pacing r?esults in AMD Quad CrossFire configurations for the following: Hitman: Absolution, and Total War?: Rome 2
 12/03/2013 04:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BigBoss91
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 11/30/2013

Are they stupid? look what AMD told me 

 

"Thanks for your information. Have you tried to update your BIOS of Mother Board? (Previously, one of the users can fix his flickers problem by updating BIOS, maybe you can have a try.) I have read the forums in the link you sent me. Sorry, but we can’t confirm the flicker problem is common or not among all the R9 series product, as for the vBIOS problem, it is recommended to confirm with your graphics card manufacturer, as we are not so clear about the vBIOS part." 

 

Now the 9.5 driver says 

  • Resolves intermittent flickering seen on some AMD Radeon R9 270x graphics cards
 12/03/2013 08:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ashleylai87
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 11/26/2013

Can anyone verify whether the flickering issue still happening with R9 270X after installing the 13.11 v9.5?

 12/04/2013 03:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RRdeon228
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/02/2013

Originally posted by: ashleylai87 Can anyone verify whether the flickering issue still happening with R9 270X after installing the 13.11 v9.5?

 

I can not. I installed a different BIOS that cleaned flicker.

 12/04/2013 03:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RRdeon228
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/02/2013

Originally posted by: BigBoss91 Are they stupid? look what AMD told me 

 

 

 

"Thanks for your information. Have you tried to update your BIOS of Mother Board? (Previously, one of the users can fix his flickers problem by updating BIOS, maybe you can have a try.) I have read the forums in the link you sent me. Sorry, but we can’t confirm the flicker problem is common or not among all the R9 series product, as for the vBIOS problem, it is recommended to confirm with your graphics card manufacturer, as we are not so clear about the vBIOS part." 

 

 

 

Now the 9.5 driver says 

 

 

  • Resolves intermittent flickering seen on some AMD Radeon R9 270x graphics cards

 

Dont know what to say. Flicker gone after installing the new version BYOS on the graphics card. You installed new driver? they helped?

 12/04/2013 05:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BigBoss91
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 11/30/2013

Installing the new drivers yes seems to solved it. Not yet 100% sure but I have to see flickering for a lot of hours. So a bios fixes it as well as a driver...Interesting

 12/04/2013 06:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ashleylai87
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 11/26/2013

Originally posted by: BigBoss91 Installing the new drivers yes seems to solved it. Not yet 100% sure but I have to see flickering for a lot of hours. So a bios fixes it as well as a driver...Interesting

 



Sigh, 13.11 v9.5 doesn't fix my flickering issue. I guess as the release note mentioned, the fix is only for R9 270X.

There goes my Bonaire 7790 and R7 260X..............

 12/04/2013 07:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BigBoss91
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 11/30/2013

well *****, it started again... strange tho while installing the new drivers, there wasnt a newer version of driver into the package. I always do custom installation of the drivers and seems it didn't have a newer version of driver. Only CCC upd

AMD Support and Game » AMD Radeon™ Graphics » R9 270x 2d Flickering

<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Previous Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
81006 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.