Topic Title: R9 270x 2d Flickering
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/10/2013 09:36 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 4 5 6 7 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/01/2014 08:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
VWM
Peon

Posts: 29
Joined: 12/05/2013

12.03.2013 I flashed new vbios and after that no flicker, but sometimes whatn I use firefox and under gmail I get some small black square, but only there.

I still use 13.12 drivers, I don´t want to use beta drivers.

So I can say that everything is working ( if not consider the few black squares sometimes under Gmail with Firefox )



-------------------------

CPU: AMD FX-8350 (black edition FD8350FRHKBOOX) + Cooler Master Hyper 212 X Army (push/pull config. fans Enermax T.B.Silence UCTB12P) / MOBO: Asus M5A99FX Pro2.0 / GPU: Gigabyte Amd Radeon R9 279x ( GV-R927XOC-2GD ) / RAM: Kingston HyperX 2x4GB DDR3 1600Mhz / SSD: Samsung Evo 840 250Gb / Case: Coolermaster K280 / PSU: Chieftec Smart Series GPS-600A8



Edited: 04/02/2014 at 02:36 AM by VWM
 04/02/2014 03:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mindbomb
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/02/2014

edit: nvm, caused more problems than it solved.

 



Edited: 04/03/2014 at 12:14 AM by mindbomb
 04/30/2014 12:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
VolterMort
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/30/2014

I am thinking to buy a new card and the choise is Gigabyte Radeon R9 270 OC WindForce 2X but I dont know what to do...At this time this problem is still on? Is there any permanent and effective fix for it? 

Thanks!

 05/11/2014 03:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DaFrenk
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/11/2014

I've bought the Gigabyte R9 270x OC 2GB 2 weeks ago and I just started noticing the 2D screen flickering in 2D games (and now also in Chrome).

As it seems this problem wasn't officially resolved by Gigabyte by a public release of a new BIOS firmware, I'm thinking of exchanging the card for the same model of a different brand, say MSI or Asus as they have released BIOS updates to address this issue.

However, is it really resolved now? I still see people reporting the problem even after the firmware update?

 05/11/2014 08:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1193
Joined: 01/31/2010

The R9 270 has a single PCI Express 6-pin cable so this means that the card is not a hardcore power pig compared to some models AMD has designed.

 

I suggest you look at my page I have on power supplies.

On the needs of the R9 270, look for at least 35A on the 12V line for the box.

My PSU has 70A so its overkill, but its also ultra safe.

 



-------------------------

 05/11/2014 08:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DaFrenk
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/11/2014

Vegan, is this directed to me? Or just in general? My PSU has 38A on the +12V line according to the specs.

AMD Support and Game » AMD Radeon™ Graphics » R9 270x 2d Flickering

<< 4 5 6 7 Previous Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
84963 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.