Topic Title: R9 290 very loud buzzing sound, louder then fan.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/10/2013 02:05 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/10/2013 02:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
4evrnyt
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 11/10/2013

So I have an ASUS r9 290.  I also have a brand new inwin 650W psu, it's bronze rated and has 4 rails.  It was highly reviewed as a quality product.  When I upgraded to my r9 290 I immediately heard a very loud buzzing coming from the card, not fan, when it would enter 3d mode.  When the frame rates drop the frequency of the buzzing slows down as well.  It does this on all of my current game titles but I was able to make it stop on one of my by enabling v-sync  in HL-2.  However this didn't work on any of my other games(Metro 2033, BF4, SimCity).  

As I've investigated the most common suggestion is to upgrade or replace the PSU but I just did that and 650W should be enough for an r9 290 with an i5 2500k.  It's a single video card build and nothing else in the case except my drives and some basic fans.  

For gits n shiggles I've ordered a 750W OCZ PSU since the ASUS card is currently out of stock I figured I'd trouble shoot the power supply in the meantime just to be 100% sure but I really don't think it is going to solve the problem.  I have an RMA for the video card but like I said its out of stock at the moment and I'm not even sure a new one wont make the same sound at this point.



-------------------------

i5-2500k OC'd to 4ghz  --  R9 290(hd6870 while I wait for my replacement 290) --  8GB OCZ RAM


 


 

 11/10/2013 02:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HairRazor
Peon

Posts: 44
Joined: 07/08/2011

upon looking and looking for the sound u are talking about, I think its coil wine, my 290 sapphire does it as well under load but when it goes to desktop or something other then gaming it quiets I think it is coilwine

 11/10/2013 02:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
4evrnyt
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 11/10/2013

So is it random whether you get one that does it or does everybody's 290 have coil whine?  

It's so loud I cant imagine it was intended and if so then I guess I can understand the price difference.  I think I'd pay the extra $100 now for a card that doesn't make that annoying sound.



-------------------------

i5-2500k OC'd to 4ghz  --  R9 290(hd6870 while I wait for my replacement 290) --  8GB OCZ RAM


 


 

 11/10/2013 03:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HairRazor
Peon

Posts: 44
Joined: 07/08/2011

well im still looking, and its looking like some do and some dont make the nosie, I think im gonna RMA mine and get a different one..  but there out of stock on the sapphire ones so I think I have to wait, that and the 13.11 drivers SUCK I keep getting black screens... I have bought only sapphire cards 4870,6970 and now this 290 and this is the only one I have bought with this many probs drivers AND coil whine... look up AMD R9 290 coil whine there will be vids out there of ppl with the 290x having the prob and even nvidia GTX 780s with coil whine...

 11/10/2013 03:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
4evrnyt
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 11/10/2013

I've read a few threads as well and have tried just about everything they suggest;  I've changed my windows power plan to performance and I've tried overclocking the video card with msi afterburner.  I only used marginal increases in clock speeds but it had no effect, on the noise.  I'm convinced more then ever that the new psu will have zero effect which is unfortunate because I doubt AMD is planning on remibursing me for the restocking fee when I return it.

It's loud enough that when anyone walks into the room the first thing they do is ask about the whinning noise coming from my computer, and it's always followed up with "is it supposed to do that?"  

Apparently so.  Why must it be this way I'd really like to know.



-------------------------

i5-2500k OC'd to 4ghz  --  R9 290(hd6870 while I wait for my replacement 290) --  8GB OCZ RAM


 


 

 11/10/2013 04:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HairRazor
Peon

Posts: 44
Joined: 07/08/2011

yeah a PSU didnt fix it for me, tho I dont have bad coil whine like many other ppl  do but its noticable.. if u got it off newegg they should not charge you, maybe u can exchange it or get a different brand I think I might stick it out with this one, tho the drivers are HORRID!  13.11 and the sapphire disk ones tho they are a bit better but they are not as good in crysis 3 as the 13.11 but least I have not ran into the black screens prob..

 11/10/2013 05:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Case Modder

Posts: 981
Joined: 01/31/2010

I have come to dislike multi-rail power supplies. I use a TX850V2 as I have a dual slot motherboard and I like to have lots of power in case I use 2 cards.

 

The cheaper TX650 is what you should use for a single card rig using uppity cards.

 



-------------------------

 11/10/2013 09:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HairRazor
Peon

Posts: 44
Joined: 07/08/2011

I think its just what some of the cards do coil whine.. o_O its not a PSU prob

 11/10/2013 10:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11569
Joined: 04/17/2008

What kind of a buzz is it? Is it a vibrational buzz or a high pitched squeal?

Also, you needed a new PSU anyway, that piece of ***** Inwin would have blown up.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/10/2013 11:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Elite

Posts: 1204
Joined: 07/13/2009

Coil whine is universal.  How bad it is depends on the quality of components, and sometimes just the luck of the draw.

The simplest way to reduce it is to use vsync.  It increases in intensity with frame rate, provided you've got the kind of load where it's prominent.

If you're one of those people who believe vsync causes noticeable display lag (which typically isn't true unless you have a laggy monitor to begin with), you can try using RadeonPro's frame rate limiter to reduce the frame rate to something higher than the refresh rate.  You'll still get tearing, but it should cut down greatly on coil whine. 

I just did a couple of quick tests with Tomb Raider: Legend using a pair of water-cooled 7970's at 2560x1600.  In normal rendering mode, it gets up to over 1200fps in a certain view (and is CPU-limited elsewhere), but there's no pronounced coil whine.  In next generation rendering mode (this is 2006, mind you), it gets up to around 600fps in the same view, and the coil whine is very pronounced, though it would be all but inaudible with game audio also playing on my headphones.  With vsync, I can tell that the cards are rendering, but that's about it.  With a 120fps frame rate cap, the sound is slightly more pronounced, but a tiny fraction of what it was at 600fps.

 11/11/2013 01:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
4evrnyt
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 11/10/2013

Originally posted by: black_zion   that piece of ***** Inwin would have blown up.

Can't agree with you there.  Watched two videos that opened up the unit and evaluated the internals and this PSU is very well built.  I don't know that all inwin's are but both videos pointed out that it was quite well made with very good components.



-------------------------

i5-2500k OC'd to 4ghz  --  R9 290(hd6870 while I wait for my replacement 290) --  8GB OCZ RAM


 


 

 11/11/2013 02:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11569
Joined: 04/17/2008

A 650w power supply with four 12v rails rated at 25A each (for a total of 1200w) is not sufficient. The Radeon R9 290 draws up to 275w of power just by itself, which leaves little room for overclocking, and is only 25w less than one rail can provide. InWin power supplies are made by FSP, Powerman, Andyson, ATNG, ChannelWell, or InWin themselves. I wouldn't trust any of those with being able to provide clean, constant power to my expensive hardware.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/12/2013 10:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
4evrnyt
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 11/10/2013

As expected the OCZ 750w PSU had no effect.  I'll be mailing the video card back to newegg tomorrow.  In quieter games like Simcity and Endless Space the sound is by far the loudest thing in the room and just not something I am able to tune out nor should I have to.  I hope it isn't too long before they get another shipment in.



-------------------------

i5-2500k OC'd to 4ghz  --  R9 290(hd6870 while I wait for my replacement 290) --  8GB OCZ RAM


 


 

 11/13/2013 12:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HairRazor
Peon

Posts: 44
Joined: 07/08/2011

yeah sorry to hear that man, I got that coil whine too but as I said its nothing like I heard alot of ppl having.. u can barely hear mine but its there for sure.. my 6970 had no coil whine

hope u get one back soon!

 11/13/2013 03:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HairRazor
Peon

Posts: 44
Joined: 07/08/2011

So the black screen prob came back, but I think I narrowed it down to  either or both of these, and that is overclocking the card and GPUz because once I left all all defaults and didnt use gpuz didnt have the prob, but I used gpuz before with stock clocks and didnt have the prob, so im thinking this black screen prob we are all getting is overclocking probs... as well as driver realted I think. more on this later!

Statistics
80912 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.