Topic Title: 1080p not fullscreen with R9 280x and LG 27EN43
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/13/2013 05:36 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/13/2013 05:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wakkawakka321
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/13/2013

Hi,

 

I have 1 LG 27EN43 attached via HDMI and 1 dell 2709w attached via DVI-D. The dell displays at 1920x1200 perfectly fine, but the LG doesn't display full screen with 1080p resolution. If I run it at 1600x900, I get fullscreen.

 

I have tried both 13.9 and the latest 13.11 beta, the issue is the same. I am running windows 8 x64 enterprise.

 

Any suggestions?

 

Thanks!

 

Edit - To clarify "doesn't display full screen", the aspect ratio is correct but the screen size is about 80-90% of what it should be. I'm using a HDMI 1.4 cable I believe, have restarted the PC and checked cabling is secure.



Edited: 11/13/2013 at 07:28 AM by wakkawakka321
 11/13/2013 07:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
victorji
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 11/13/2013

Hi wakkawakka321, its LG monitor fault. If you connect that monitor via DVI/VGA you will get fullscreen, HDMI have that problem in lg monitors.

(I have a 24" LG monitor, same problem)

Sorry for my english

 11/13/2013 07:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wakkawakka321
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/13/2013

My old video card which was a nvidia 570, could display 1080p fine without issue.

 

Surely such a simple thing as 1080p over HDMI is possible? The monitor I have is only a few months old. 

 11/13/2013 07:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
victorji
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 11/13/2013

Hi again. If you check your monitor's manual http://www.lg.com/us/support-product/lg-27EN43V-B# You will notice at page 10 this:

Note: If you use HDMI PC, it can cause compatibility
problem.

My manual says it too..I use DVI and no problem 1080p at fullscreen.

I guess that HDMI works fine with a blu ray player or a console..but for any reason it has problems with pc :/

 11/18/2013 09:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
maxhugen
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/18/2013

I'm getting the same problem.

Dell XPS 8500 with AMD Radeon 7770 graphics card, 1 Dell monitor (HDMI) plus 1 Samsung (DVI).

Won't use full screen if 1920x1080, but OK if 1600x900.

It's driving me nuts; don't know what to try.

 11/18/2013 10:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
maxhugen
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/18/2013

Problem Solved!

The AMD Catalyst Control Center appears to be set by default  to ~10% Underscan - which is just ridiculous.

As per http://www.justin.my/2011/12/cannot-display-full-screen-using-ati-amd-radeon/ :

Catalyst > My Digital Flat-Panels > Scaling Options : slide to 0% scaling and [Apply].

Statistics
84842 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.