Topic Title: HD7950 and my motherboard..
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/13/2013 12:30 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/13/2013 12:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dalobo
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 11/13/2013

Hello everyone !! (sorry for my bad english i am french)

I bought a VTX3D Radeon hd7950 X-Edition Boost but when i plug it all i get it's a black screen. I already tried almost everything i found on others forum and the last question insolved is : is my motherboard compatible with this graphics card ??

Graphics card : VTX3D Radeon hd7950 X-Edition Boost

Motherboard : Medion MS-7728

Bios : AMI E7728MLN.209

RAM : 2X8 Kingston HyperX DDR3

Power supply : 800W +80 Bronze LEPA (http://www.lepatek.com/eng/product_content/1/1/21/#produkte)

Thanks if anyone can answer !

 

 11/14/2013 08:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dalobo
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 11/13/2013

any answer ?

 11/15/2013 09:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tacosundance
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/15/2013

You may have to go into your BIOS and manually disable your boards integrated graphics first. I have had to do this in the past when setting up new cards.

 11/15/2013 02:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dalobo
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 11/13/2013

Thanks, at least one answered

But no, my motherboard doesn t have integrated graphics..

I applied a update on the bios, tried with one RAM (with another brand RAM too), tried to boot only with motherboard and the graphics cards power supplied... no results .. still this damn black screen :/

 11/15/2013 06:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3505
Joined: 03/01/2009

Originally posted by: Dalobo Thanks, at least one answered

 

But no, my motherboard doesn t have integrated graphics..

 

I applied a update on the bios, tried with one RAM (with another brand RAM too), tried to boot only with motherboard and the graphics cards power supplied... no results .. still this damn black screen :/

 

Then either your card is dead or the board won't support it. I'm leaning towards the card being bad as the board use's a H61 chipset which should work just fine. 

Otherwise if the card works fine , and the board doens't you can thank the OEM manufacturers for putting limitations on it. 



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 11/15/2013 07:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dalobo
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 11/13/2013

I will try tomorrow the card with a friend's computer .. i am afraid that my new power supply has a problem and burned the card :/

 11/15/2013 09:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3505
Joined: 03/01/2009

I wouldn't place blame on the power supply the 7950 is only a 220W GPU and that power supply puts out 800W on a single 12v rail. 

At least they claim to. I don't know who makes there actual power supplies so I can't talk for there reliablility or anything. 



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 11/15/2013 09:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12320
Joined: 04/17/2008

Actually Lepatek PSUs are split between Enermax, Channelwell, and Sirtec, so they're not all garbage. The B800-MAS that you linked is made by ChannelWell. They have been around for 20 years so they're about as good as SeaSonic and Enermax units, but supposedly they're a big player in the industrial market. So it could be called a quality unit.

I would say it is a compatibility issue, which can happen with OEM motherboards because they're built down to a price, though it could be a graphics card issue which you will rule out tomorrow. Next time you buy a graphics card stick with one of the long time manufacturers, such as Sapphire, XFX, HIS, Gigabyte, and Asus (in that descending order).

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
84659 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 8 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.