Topic Title: AMD Radeon HD 6870 BSoD's and Crashes with several games
Topic Summary: BSoD's and Crashes with Radeon HD 6870
Created On: 11/13/2013 02:37 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/13/2013 02:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aerron
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/13/2013

Hi everyone,

yeah, so basically, i've had my Radeon HD 6870 for about a year and a half now and have teh constant problem that i have graphical bugs, glitches, Blue Screens and Crashes with several games, most being Skyrim (no Blue Screens but alot of graphic bugs), Borderlands 2 (can't play 15min. straight without Bluescreen or Graphic Drivers Crashing) or Darksiders 2 ( can play about an hour, Blue Screen after that). The thing is that those bugs sometimes just aren't present, means some days i can play without any problems, but especially in the summer, there isn't a day without atleast 2-4 Bluescreens. For a time i thought maybe my card just wasn't good enough cooled, but temperature peaks are about 70-80° C. I am currently not even sure if it is my graphics card, but i just wanna go sure.

  • Win 7 x64
  • CCC 13.9
  • Radeon HD 6870
  • AMD FX-6100 Six-Core Processor á 3.8GHz
  • 8GB DDR3 Ram
  • Samsung SyncMaster T200HD 60Hz

(So, i tried attaching a dxdiag.txt, but it wouldn't let me )

Thanks in advance.

 11/13/2013 03:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dmdilks
Button Masher

Posts: 234
Joined: 03/22/2008

Microsoft has released two updates that optimize the performance of AMD Bulldozer CPUs on Windows 7-based or Windows Server 2008 R2-based computers.

KB2645594 (install this first)
The CPU scheduling techniques that are used by Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 are not optimized for the AMD Bulldozer module architecture. Therefore, multithreaded workloads may not be optimally distributed on computers that have one of these processors installed in a lightly-threaded environment. This may result in decreased system performance for some applications. When this update is installed, the scheduler will be aware that your Bulldozer processor contains dual-core modules. In essence, threads 1-4 now get assigned to their own module first.

KB2646060 (should only be installed after KB2645594)
The CPU Power Policies that are used by Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 are not optimized for the dual core AMD Bulldozer module architecture. This can result in decreased system performance with multithreaded workloads in lightly-threaded environments. When this update is installed, Bulldozer modules will be less likely to achieve the C6 power state. This potentially results in increased power consumption in more lightly-threaded environments.

 http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2645594



-------------------------

GIGABYTE-GA-GA-X79-UP4 i7-3930K 3.20GHz, G.Skill 32gb DDR3 2133 Quad, His HD 7850 4GB, In Win Glacier 900W, COOLER MASTER HAF 932 , 256gb SSD, Win7 Ult-64bit, 32" LED TV
GIGABYTE-GA-990FXA-UD5R, FX-8150 3.60GHz AM3+ 8-CORE, Mushkin 8gb DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 480-OC 1.5GB, Ultra 750W PSU, IN WIN BUC 101 Mid Tower, Win 7 Pro 64bit - Play around with computer



Edited: 11/13/2013 at 04:04 PM by dmdilks
 11/14/2013 12:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aerron
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/13/2013

Thanks for the try, but it didn't work.

I installed the hotfixes and tried to play Borderlands 2, but this time my graphics card crashed already in the launcher or atleast i think its the graphics card. Basically what i mean by crash is that my screen turns one-coloured, mostly grayish or brownish colours. The system itself still runs and i can still hear sounds and so on, but i can't see anything and it won't turn back until i restart the computer. Another thing is i played a bit with the CCC-Overdrive settings, means with the clock settings for High performance GPU and memory, setting GPU to 950 MHz and memory to 1200 MHz, but when always when i try setting it to maximum of 1000 (GPU) and 1250 (memory) my graphics crash instantly.

Last thing is, that i currently have 2 other suspicions what could be causing my problems: my processor or my hard drive. Could this be possible?

Thanks in advance.

 11/14/2013 01:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dmdilks
Button Masher

Posts: 234
Joined: 03/22/2008

I would say it is sounding like the video card. Do you have another card you could try?



-------------------------

GIGABYTE-GA-GA-X79-UP4 i7-3930K 3.20GHz, G.Skill 32gb DDR3 2133 Quad, His HD 7850 4GB, In Win Glacier 900W, COOLER MASTER HAF 932 , 256gb SSD, Win7 Ult-64bit, 32" LED TV
GIGABYTE-GA-990FXA-UD5R, FX-8150 3.60GHz AM3+ 8-CORE, Mushkin 8gb DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 480-OC 1.5GB, Ultra 750W PSU, IN WIN BUC 101 Mid Tower, Win 7 Pro 64bit - Play around with computer

 11/14/2013 01:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aerron
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/13/2013

Not atm, but my father is programmer/salesman, he could give me a spare one for test, but that'll be a day or 2. Still thanks, will reply again after the test.

PS: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/0y4hmrvqbfgybuk/uKvoeuoX-C (some pics of the current situation...)



Edited: 11/14/2013 at 02:20 PM by Aerron
Statistics
84189 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.