Topic Title: Sapphire R9 290 BSOD
Topic Summary: 0XA0000001 Error
Created On: 11/16/2013 12:43 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 5 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/05/2014 04:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD_BSOD
Peon

Posts: 36
Joined: 08/04/2014

Originally posted by: Tessalon

I did nothing o.o It was one time error while watching youtube. After that I have been watching youtube etc. playing some games, testing with 3DMark11 and it didnt happen again (fingers crossed). But i see many people are still having this problem over and over again. I think its something with the drivers and AMD should fix it. R9 cards aren't cheap;/

I have pci 3.0 and instaled MSI Afterburner (just in case).

 

I have same problem. After a lot BSODs, i had for 1-2 Month no BSOD, no they are back ... but when you watch much videos over the web you will get BSODs.

On playing games no problem.

So i guess your memory is defect. You have to send it back to AMD. I have todo the same now.

I will buy a new graphiccard from AMD for 40 bucks, so i can overbridge the 8-10 weeks until i get it back.

Not very funny ... buying a new graphiccard and waiting so long. After the time i can buy the same graphiccard cheaper.

I dont want to say N.... is better. But N.... is better when you dont want BSODs because of defect Hardware or the drivers are so unstable on AMD that the best hardware is useless.

What ever you have to send it back like me.



Edited: 08/05/2014 at 09:28 PM by AMD_BSOD
 08/12/2014 04:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Darth Revan
Peon

Posts: 50
Joined: 09/26/2010

For those of you with BSOD Stopcode 0x0000007E (not the youtube one I guess), I have a possible solution:

http://www.overclock.net/t/1436497/official-amd-r9-290x-290-owners-club/28240#post_22687055

tl/dr: disable powerplay aka set your 2D clock speeds equivalent to you 3D ones.

 

 08/13/2014 11:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
yukapuka
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 08/04/2013

here is a simple solution return your 290 and get a 780ti 

i did it and life has never been better  

 08/17/2014 09:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Wezzor
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/17/2014

Guys I had exactly the same problem and I fixed it. What is causing those BSOD is that the GPU is jumping in and out of different powerstates because differing apps are making calls to the GPU. Then when a real load is presented it is caught off guard and in the wrong powerstate. It's then the BSOD occur because the GPU is in a powerstate that is not giving the GPU enough voltage to run at X clocks. You can use AfterBurner to control what app is allowed to initiate a powerstate change.



Edited: 08/17/2014 at 09:11 AM by Wezzor
AMD Support and Game » AMD Radeon™ Graphics » Sapphire R9 290 BSOD

<< 1 2 3 4 5 Previous Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
85296 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.