Topic Title: 290X issues AMD DONT IGNORE US!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/17/2013 08:53 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 6 7 8 9 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/09/2014 07:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tuunade98
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/12/2010

I just bought this card today the gigabyte windforce r9 290, and am having the exact problems that everyone in this thread is having. Black screens/freezing/crashing. Has anyone figured out how to fix it?

 05/09/2014 12:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fishman
Button Masher

Posts: 293
Joined: 10/14/2011

Seems to me its probably a ID 10 T error for most.



-------------------------

GA-MA-790FXT-UD5P/ AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black/2 x XFX HD5870 /RipjawsX 2x4gb DDR3 1333/ Corsair TX750M/ Antec 900 case/ Windows 7x64 Ult.


 05/09/2014 05:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TRock
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 01/17/2014

if these problems still continue with the new cards, then its terrible. They should have fixed it by now.

 

I had these problems, i sent the card to RMA . And services confirms that ,it's a hardware malfunction. They refunded the money. Thats the only solution as far i as know.

 05/09/2014 08:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tuunade98
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/12/2010

yerp.... i only just got it yesteray and already filled out a RMA form on my shop's website.. waiting for their reply. Its not just this card that screwed up for me, i previously returned an ASUS r9 280x which artifacted like crazy. This will be my 2nd time returning an item. Im fed up with this RADEON AMD trash. Right now im considering a refund, or i might just get an evga gtx 770 4gb. If that fails im just gonna switch to console gaming -.-

 05/11/2014 08:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moozoo
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 12/05/2013

Well my problem has gotten worst.
It clearly a hardware problem.
Screen started going to a low res pixellated static, The Intel screen was still up and I took a photo of GPU-Z. AMD video card  was idle, low temp and clocks.

It now freezes playing videos.
The first time the Catayst icon in the system tray popped up a message saying the video drive driver was restarting, this was just prior to it going to pixelatted static.

I took the video card out and cleaned the pcie contacts with a pencil eraser, this made them appear a bit more shiny. There was a liquid stain type residue on the pcie connector guide, but not in the electrical connections.
Doing this seem to fix the problem, but it must have been dumb luck because it came back while watching a number of short videos.

It did a freeze and pixelated static only once going into Wow. However I can normally get in and play wow for hours with out issue.

I have updated all the drivers to the versions given by the Gigabyte APP center. No change.

I'm going to take it back and see if they will switch it for an ASUS (if I pay the difference). Switching to Nvidia isnt an option for me because I need the Double Precision support in the 290x. I mostly got the card for GPGPU. The only Nvidia option is the Titan which besides costing alot more only supports opencl 1.1

 

 

 05/12/2014 12:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moozoo
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 12/05/2013

Re the original black screen problem, Looks like Intel has a similar problem, fortunately they aren't in denial about it.

https://communities.intel.com/thread/39881

 

 05/12/2014 12:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7064
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: moozoo Re the original black screen problem, Looks like Intel has a similar problem, fortunately they aren't in denial about it.

 

https://communities.intel.com/thread/39881

 

 

 

A bit dated isn't it?  Apr 24, 2013 12:36 PM



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 05/12/2014 01:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tuunade98
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/12/2010

just brought my card back, they found no problems. Im starting to get really frustrated... I don't know what to do anymore, what a waste of 509 dollars.. and the issues seem to be happening since 2013. That is really really BAD, what the hell is going on??

 05/12/2014 09:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TRock
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 01/17/2014

send it again.

I sent mine twice, and the second time they were able to find the error.

I would ask for refund . Just too much problems with these R290 series.

 05/13/2014 09:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aj90lfc
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/13/2014

I'm having a similar issue, although i'm not getting a black screen, after a few minutes in some cases and others it's a couple of hours of playing a game  my system freezes.  Sound and video just freezes and i hear a buzzing noise for a second or two and my system reboots. I don't know what to do with this, if i send it back to supplier they'll just say they've tested it and it worked fine because i can pass 3Dmark, but during games it just crashes after a few hours.

 

I'm completely lost for what to do here, i've tried 13.12 drivers, 14.4 drivers,  stock clocks/Overclocks/Underclocks  all of them still  result in a crash between 30 minutes onwards. My temps aren't going over 70'C because i'm using a Sapphire Tri-X OC version which i monitor by ALT+Tab'ing out.



-------------------------

ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Rev2.0


Corsair Graphite 760T


16GB @ 1333 mhz


FX8350


Corsair RM850 +80 Gold


Sapphire 4GB OC TRI-X R9 290

 05/15/2014 01:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moozoo
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 12/05/2013

Originally posted by: moozoo

 

I'm going to take it back and see if they will switch it for an ASUS (if I pay the difference).

They did this for me. I now have an ASUS R9290X-DC2OC-4GD5 DirectCU II OC.

It has not frozen or displayed low res pixelated static. It runs cooler and at a lower fan speed (on my GPGPU application opencl Solar System). The frame rate in WOW is 10-20fps faster than my HD 7770 i.e. better than the XFX.

However this morning it black screened on exiting WoW.

I have not yet done a full amd driver clean and re-install.

Note that the HD 7770 which uses exactly the same driver does not have any of these issues. i.e. shutdown machine, swap in HD 7770, power up, change nothing and the problem does not occur, ever.

I'm probably going to replace my mother board with a newer Z97 one.
I'm going to try a Windows 8 refresh and then maybe a full reload (grr).

The issue I have with this is I don't want to muck about with my 400Gb odd of steam games. My full developement enviroment and setup. I know there are ways around re-downloading all the steam games. but still.

Question is it recommended or required that you do a full amd clean and driver reinstall when switching between cards supported by that driver in the same PCIe slot? I have done cleans and reinstalls , but its a pain because I have to re-install my AMD opencl sdk's etc.

 

AMD Support and Game » AMD Radeon™ Graphics » 290X issues AMD DONT IGNORE US!

<< 6 7 8 9 Previous Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
84259 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.