Topic Title: R9 290x issues
Topic Summary: Computer will randomly restart..
Created On: 11/17/2013 05:54 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/17/2013 05:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Randall421
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 11/17/2013

I just bought the new R9 290X and so far I love it but I am having some issues with it that I don't know how to fix. I will be playing games on my pc and out of no where my computer will just shut off and restart. I thought maybe the card was getting too hot but when the computer turns back on and I check the temps it will only 50-60c. This last time the screen flickered and blurred a couple times before the computer shut down. 

If anyone can offer some help I would really appreciate it. I really like the card so I don't want to RMA if I can help it. 

 

intel i7-3820 @3.8

8Gb Ram

875w PSU

R9 290x



-------------------------

Alienware Aurora R4 ALX: Intel i7-3820 @3.6, 8Gb RAM @1600,AMD Radeon R9 290x, 2Tb HDD, 875w PSU and 450w sPSU.

 11/17/2013 07:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Qwixt
Grinding Levels

Posts: 121
Joined: 02/07/2008

When I read the title, I thought it would be a PSU issue and not enough power. 875w should be more than enough. I would try supplying the 6 pin connector from a different rail than the 8-pin connector.

 11/18/2013 11:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dmdilks
Button Masher

Posts: 239
Joined: 03/22/2008

What brand of PSU do you have? Plus there is really no diference between a single rail PSU & a multiple rail PSu.

http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=157583



-------------------------

Gigabyte-Ga-x99-UD4 i7-5820K 3.30Ghz G.Skill 16gb DDR4 2133Quad, His R9 290X IceQ X2 4GB, IN Win Glacier 900w Cooler Master HAF 932, 2-240Gb SSD Array Win7 Ult-64bit 39" LED TV 
GIGABYTE-GA-990FXA-UD5R, FX-9370 4.4GHz AM3+ 8-CORE, Mushkin 8gb DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 480-OC 1.5GB, Ultra 750W PSU, cooler Master HAF 922, Win7 Pro 64bit & Win-10 64bit - Play around with computer

 11/18/2013 03:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Randall421
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 11/17/2013

I honestly don't know what brand it is. I have an alienware computer and I still have the original PSU that came with it. All I know is that it is 875w and just over a year old. 

I also been noticing the screen blur and over saturate with color while I'm playing games too. It's hard to explain exactly what it looks like but the screen blurs almost like when a camera loses focus and objects and images will have a reddish glow.. Thats the best I can describe it. Its only for a split second and happens randomly. 

I haven't tried changing any of the overclock or power settings so everything its default exactly how it shipped to me and I been keeping an eye on it while I'm gaming and it runs right around 80-90c like its supposed to and sometimes it will run fine like that for hours and other times I will play for 10 minutes and it will just shut off my computer. 

I'm putting it all out there so hopefully someone will come across it and know what it is and know how to fix it. I think I have 30 days to RMA so I have some time yet. 



-------------------------

Alienware Aurora R4 ALX: Intel i7-3820 @3.6, 8Gb RAM @1600,AMD Radeon R9 290x, 2Tb HDD, 875w PSU and 450w sPSU.

 11/18/2013 04:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mikexx
Peon

Posts: 29
Joined: 11/17/2013

Another 290x card that doesnt work, time to rma the card and get something decent that works out of the box.. something like an nvidia card.

 11/18/2013 06:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Randall421
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 11/17/2013

I like AMD... If I RMA I will probably just get another 290x.



-------------------------

Alienware Aurora R4 ALX: Intel i7-3820 @3.6, 8Gb RAM @1600,AMD Radeon R9 290x, 2Tb HDD, 875w PSU and 450w sPSU.

 11/18/2013 06:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Qwixt
Grinding Levels

Posts: 121
Joined: 02/07/2008

Originally posted by: dmdilks What brand of PSU do you have? Plus there is really no diference between a single rail PSU & a multiple rail PSu.

 

http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=157583

 

I recently tried an OC 780, and the second power connection required me using a separate 4-pin to 8-pin converter because it couldn't handle the power load on the normal video card graphics power connector. I returned this card because of a different issue, like the fan would run at 100% for no reason, lol.

 

After reading your last post Randall, I would rma the card and get different one.

 11/18/2013 07:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13067
Joined: 04/17/2008

I honestly don't know what brand it is. I have an alienware computer and I still have the original PSU that came with it. All I know is that it is 875w and just over a year old.


Take the bloody side panel off and look at the DELL PSU. There's a sticker on the side. If that's an Alienware Aurora, then it is a Dell W299G, and that has 5 12v rails at 18A each, which is only 216W which is insufficient for the 290x. You need to load balance or get rid of that piece of ***** and get a real, quality PSU (SeaSonic or Enermax made).

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/19/2013 12:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Randall421
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 11/17/2013

I did take the panel off but the sticker is on the other side. I have to pull the whole psu out so I just looked it up online. It doesn't say the brand but it is 875w. I do think you're right that its is the dell W299G but that's still a 875w psu. I looked it up after reading your comment.

I read more about what's happening though and it does sound like its a PSU overload shut down so I probably do need a new psu. I really don't want to rewire everything in my computer and I really don't have another $200 to spend on a psu.

I still dont understand how it can run sometimes for 3 hours under full load with no problems and other times crash almost instantly. I don't know what else it would be either unless its just a faulty card. 

I have until Jan 31st to RMA so maybe I'll get a psu and see if it works and if not just return everything. Get my money back for the psu and exchange the gpu. 

 



-------------------------

Alienware Aurora R4 ALX: Intel i7-3820 @3.6, 8Gb RAM @1600,AMD Radeon R9 290x, 2Tb HDD, 875w PSU and 450w sPSU.

 11/19/2013 07:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1494
Joined: 07/13/2009

It's very likely that getting a quality single-rail PSU (which makes a huge difference) will solve your problem.

 

 11/19/2013 08:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Randall421
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 11/17/2013

This is probably a stupid a question but does every power supply come standard with all the plugs i'm going to need for the motherboard, hard drives, optical drives, fans, water pump, etc? 

I'm really just now learning how to do all this type of stuff myself and I never rewired a system so I don't want to go and spend $250 on a seasonic power supply just to find out it won't power my computer. 

Every PSU I looked at looks like it comes standard with all the same plugs but I still want to double check and make sure before I go spending more money. 

I still have a hard time understanding how this PSU can't handle a 290x. You can order a alienware with 2 780's in sli or 2 7970's in crossfire hooked up to this PSU so you would think it's enough for 290's as well. 

 

 



-------------------------

Alienware Aurora R4 ALX: Intel i7-3820 @3.6, 8Gb RAM @1600,AMD Radeon R9 290x, 2Tb HDD, 875w PSU and 450w sPSU.

 11/19/2013 09:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13067
Joined: 04/17/2008

All new quality power supplies come with a generous assortment of PCIe and Molex connectors in addition to the P4/EPS8 and ATX24. And you can get a good quality SeaSonic X650 for $129 at Newegg.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/19/2013 11:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Randall421
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 11/17/2013

I was looking at the 1200w seasonic on newegg for $250.. The PSU i have now is 875w so I want to get something bigger. 

I just wish there was a way to check and be 100% certain its my psu before I spend the money. I have a hard time believing this psu can power two 780's in sli but not one 290x.

Plus there's so many people complaining about heat issues and faulty cards it makes me even more uncertain about what's causing the problem. I'm sure you're all right and that it's my psu. All yous probably know more about this stuff than I do.

And to be completely honest I'm intimidated by all the wires in my computer. If it was my ram or my cpu I would feel better about it because I know how to replace them. I'm sure I'll be able to rewire the computer too but I don't know what kind of plugs I need or what plugs go where. 

What I'm going to do is leave all these wires plugged in when I get the new psu and replace one plug at a time so I know where to plug everything and once all the wires from my old psu are unplugged then I know I have everything. 



-------------------------

Alienware Aurora R4 ALX: Intel i7-3820 @3.6, 8Gb RAM @1600,AMD Radeon R9 290x, 2Tb HDD, 875w PSU and 450w sPSU.

 11/20/2013 03:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Qwixt
Grinding Levels

Posts: 121
Joined: 02/07/2008

You should do fine. It's really hard to mess up since the plugs should only work in the right slot. I built my current computer 2 or 3 years ago, and after I did the minimal setup, it wouldn't turn on. It had been a long time since I built a computer, and they added a 3rd motherboard power connector in that time

 

 11/20/2013 07:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Randall421
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 11/17/2013

Thats why I'm probably going to just leave all the old wires plugged in until they're replaced with the new wires from the new PSU. It'll probably make cable management a pain in the ass but at least I will know I have everything done properly. 

I took the time to look at all the plugs the way they are now and there is a lot of empty plugs on the boards so if I unplugged all the old wires first I would have a hard time knowing what plugs go where. I'm sure I could check the manual but I think my way would be a bit easier.

I'm going to try and order it today if I can get the money together. What I'm going to do is order the psu and once I get it before I rewire the whole computer I'm just going to take the side panel off and plug in the gpu with the new psu and run some tests. I know now exactly what settings start causing issues with benchmark software so I'll see if the new psu helps. If it does then I will rewire everything. If it doesn't then I will return the psu and exchange the gpu. That's the best plan I can think of.

I'll update this as I go. I'm sure I will do fine but like I said its intimidating to look at the inside of a gaming computer especially when you didn't build it and you don't know what goes where or how they organized everything. As long as I take my time and replace one wire at a time I'm sure I will do alright and if I run into trouble I can always call alienwares tech support and have them talk me through it. If anything I'm more worried about getting half way through it and realizing I don't have a plug I need or something is the wrong size, something like that. 



-------------------------

Alienware Aurora R4 ALX: Intel i7-3820 @3.6, 8Gb RAM @1600,AMD Radeon R9 290x, 2Tb HDD, 875w PSU and 450w sPSU.

 11/20/2013 08:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1494
Joined: 07/13/2009

Here's a picture of all three types of power connectors you'll find on a motherboard.  For the middle one, the PSU might have two 4-pin connectors side-by-side, which you simply hold together to insert .  All of the connectors have a lock tab that shows you which way they go.  They won't go in the wrong way, either.  

If your motherboard has any of those connectors not occupied, that alone could be causing your problem.

 11/20/2013 11:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Randall421
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 11/17/2013

I'm going with fsp power booster. Instead of rewiring my computer this will sit in my drive bay and provide 450w to my gpu's and its pretty cheap compared to replacing my psu so I can still upgrade a few other parts.



-------------------------

Alienware Aurora R4 ALX: Intel i7-3820 @3.6, 8Gb RAM @1600,AMD Radeon R9 290x, 2Tb HDD, 875w PSU and 450w sPSU.

 11/22/2013 04:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Randall421
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 11/17/2013

It's not the PSU. I just got the 450w GPU power booster and still have the same problems =( now I have to RMA both of these things. 

Damn it I was really hoping this would fix it. I didn't want have to return this and wait 2 or 3 weeks for a new one. It is what it is I guess.



-------------------------

Alienware Aurora R4 ALX: Intel i7-3820 @3.6, 8Gb RAM @1600,AMD Radeon R9 290x, 2Tb HDD, 875w PSU and 450w sPSU.

Statistics
88757 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.