Topic Title: Radeon HD 5450 3 Monitors
Topic Summary: 3 monitors displayport, dvi and vga
Created On: 11/21/2013 09:53 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/21/2013 09:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kaflaful
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/21/2013

I have a Radeon HD 5450 video card that has three monitors connected to it. One is VGA, one is DVI and one is displayport. The DVI and VGA are working fine but the display port will not detect.

It is a straight displayport cable and not an adapter connected to a viewsonic monitor with a native displayport connection.

I have restarted the PC numerous times, disconnected and reconnected, tried to hook the displayport up to the other hd monitor and nothing changes. Please help.

 11/22/2013 09:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3979
Joined: 01/27/2008

Unplug the DVI and try the displayport. It's possible they are sharing the output and the DVI is stopping the DP from working.



-------------------------

#1: Phenom II C2 955BE @ 3.6, Antec Kuhler 920, Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 4 x 1gig OCZ2N1066SR2GK @800, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Vistax64
#2: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram,  Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 11/22/2013 09:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kaflaful
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/21/2013

Thanks for the suggestion. Just tried it. No go.

I disconnected both the DVI and the DP. Restarted. Reconnected the DP, still no video. So I restarted it again leaving the DP connected. Still nothing. Attempted to redetect attached monitors and still nothing. It would only show on the VGA cable. So I disconnected everything BUT the DP and restarted. Same issue. Any other ideas?

 11/22/2013 09:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kaflaful
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/21/2013

It's possible this may be my fault but I cant be sure. I noticed when you would plug it in initially the DP monitor light would go from amber to blue as if it was going to get signal and then say no signal and go back to amber which seemed like it might be a power issue on the card. Like it didnt have enough to feed all three displays.

 

I decided to open up the case and look at the card just to make sure there wasnt a PCIe power plug I didn't connect or something, which there isnt.

 

However, there is a 2 pin connector similar to the kind you would see on a small fan.Is this nessessary to connect to the power supply in order to power the card properly or is this actually a connector for a fan on the off chance that you need it.

 11/23/2013 06:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3979
Joined: 01/27/2008

Regarding the pins, it would really help to know the exact make and model of your vidcard.

You could try a different DP cable too or verify the one you have works with other equipment.



-------------------------

#1: Phenom II C2 955BE @ 3.6, Antec Kuhler 920, Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 4 x 1gig OCZ2N1066SR2GK @800, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Vistax64
#2: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram,  Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 12/02/2013 12:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kaflaful
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/21/2013

HIS ATI Radeon HD5450 Silence 1 GB DDR3 VGA/ DVI/ DisplayPort Low Profile PCI-Express Video Card H545H1GD1

 12/03/2013 03:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kaflaful
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/21/2013

Nevermind...I am super dumb...I played with the cable connections and the dp cable worked for to the other monitor. Evidently I had tried the DP to dvi adapter to all monitors. And then when I got the DP cable i just tried it to one monitor. Sorry about that...Everything works fine...just need to send a monitor back.

Statistics
80912 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.