Topic Title: Need help are these two graphics cards compatible
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/27/2013 04:19 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/27/2013 04:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zerik88
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/27/2013

I was wondering if these to are compatible

MSI Radeon HD 7770 R7770-PMD1GD5 Video Card

Sapphire Radeon HD 5450 1GB DDR3 Video Card

and if not i heard that i could use two different graphics cards one for physx and the other for textures and everything else.

I just want to know if i need to do anything specific in order to get both of these to work together or something



Edited: 11/27/2013 at 05:16 PM by zerik88
 11/27/2013 05:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12661
Joined: 04/17/2008

No.
Hybrid PhysX setups are overrated given most games are using cross platform alternatives.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/27/2013 05:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1458
Joined: 07/13/2009

Hybrid PhysX requires using an nVidia card for the PhysX.  You also have to jump through some hoops to get it working properly, including patching the nVidia drivers, and renaming/deleting PhysX library files in each game's directory.

If you're even thinking of doing that, you should already know which games you have use hardware PhysX.

 

 11/27/2013 06:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zerik88
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/27/2013

im just wondering if they will work well together if i install them

its mostly to thin out the work the main graphics card has to deal with

im not looking to max anything out just spread the job

 11/27/2013 06:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kdawgmaster
Peon

Posts: 37
Joined: 11/01/2010

If the plan is to add the abilities for another display then the answer is yes.

 

But if ur trying to get better performance in 3D applications then the answer is no.

 

Amd cards going up to the 7000 have to be the same series of cards. What i mean by this is a 7900 series will work with a 7900 series and a 7800 series will work with a 7800 series.

 

The only cards that were able to down from one and another was the 6770 and the 5770 because they were the same card just rebranded.



-------------------------
Tri-Fire R9 290x 2560X1440
Game benchmarker
Benchmarking youtube channel http://www.youtube.com/user/kdawgmaster?feature=mhum
 11/27/2013 07:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zerik88
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/27/2013

ok thanks i was hoping it would improve performance but i guess not thanks

ill just use the msi one and save up for another one or something better

Statistics
86419 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.