Topic Title: HD 7990 black screen on windows start
Topic Summary: Black screen, even in safe mode, and on new windows setup
Created On: 12/01/2013 11:18 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/01/2013 11:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SeeChao
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/01/2013

Just got an hd 7990, and it gives me a black screen as soon as the windows loading screen should pop up, same result in safe mode, and even on a clean windows install. Windows still seems to boot up fine in the background. Works with other video card, and as long as the hd7990 is in my 2nd pci-e slot, it seems to work, I just need to use catalyst to clone the display onto the 7990 and swap the cable. However, it will not work after a reboot, even if I disable the other video card before rebooting. Tried the stable and beta drivers. Really at a loss here, especially since it won't work on a new windows setup, it goes black as soon as windows is done copying the files and it should go into that low-res setup gui. Anyone have any ideas?

 12/02/2013 11:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
samuelmorris
Button Masher

Posts: 259
Joined: 04/16/2008

Is this windows 8? If so, this might possibly help

http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/faq/id-1650840/fix-black-screen-booting-windows.html



-------------------------
i5 750 @ 4.12Ghz, Gigabyte P55A-UD4, 2x XFX HD6970, 12GB Corsair XMS3, 40GB X25-V, WD1001FALS, HD753LJ, Zalman ZM850-HP, Coolermaster HAF932.
 12/04/2013 11:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SeeChao
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/01/2013

It's windows 7 64bit, Windows 8 is icky... But sounds like a similar issue, I'll give it a try. Thanks

 12/05/2013 03:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SeeChao
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/01/2013

I can't roll back the driver, I can't boot into safe mode. Even a completly new windows install, on a formated hdd, goes black as soon as the "Windows is copying setup files" progress bar is done, when it should pop into a low res GUI and ask me what language I want. 

 12/07/2013 02:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SeeChao
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/01/2013

Seriously, should I be filling out an RMA form at this point?

Statistics
84733 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.