Topic Title: Problem with a HD7970
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/03/2013 04:04 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/03/2013 04:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

A little problem started pestering me recently and I couldn't figure out the cause. Whenever I start playing a video file regardless of format or the player that is used this happens http://tinypic.com/r/11hdmi0/5 , it doesn't happen with games or stress tests and as long as I don't start watching a video, the PC could run fine for days.Weird thing is it only occurs on the main monitor and the OS doesn't crash, I can still do stuff on other screens. I can make the display operational again by either rebooting or turning it off with hotkeys and turning it back on. I have tried taking the gpu out, pluggin it back in, updated catalyst to 13.9, then to latest 13.11 beta, tried a different DVI cable, even tried using a displayport cable thinking the output is damaged but, the problem persists. Specs in the sig.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11


Edited: 12/03/2013 at 04:11 AM by zipsi
 12/13/2013 11:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

Whole new set of cabling seemingly fixed this issue for 1,5 weeks, but now it came back after running an MP4 file, what makes this so weird, it only ever occurs on the Asus monitor with any cable (DVI-D, HDMI, DP), but on the TV (HDMI) I could run a 1000 files and it never happens. The problem can't be the monitor..?



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 12/13/2013 12:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12725
Joined: 04/17/2008

Thinking HDCP support is not being detected properly causing a scrambled image? If it happened to me it would be a faulty monitor, but it looks more like a software conflict of some sort.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
86629 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.