Topic Title: 7750/7770/7790 works on PCI-e Gen1?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/04/2013 11:28 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/04/2013 11:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nikola.lukic
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/04/2013

Hello,

 

I have an old motherboard dating to 2007 and I'm planning on upgrading my 3870x2 card. I was thinking something along the lines of above mentioned cards, but as I've come to realise there might be some compatiblity issues with my old PCIe express Gen 1 slot. 

 

So, before buying one of these cards I came here to ask you if they will or will not work on my Motherboard.

 

MB is: http://www.msi.com/product/mb/K9N-Neo-V2.html

 

 

 12/04/2013 04:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11577
Joined: 04/17/2008

They -should- but sometimes newer graphics cards can have issues with older boards. Might want to look for a cheaper used HD 5000 series instead.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/05/2013 02:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nikola.lukic
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/04/2013

Thank you for your answer. But, unfortunetly, I really need to know for sure. Because if I buy a card there is no returning it back. So, basically if it doesn't work I wasted my money.

 

Any expert got an answer to this one?

 12/06/2013 05:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nikola.lukic
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/04/2013

bump?

 12/06/2013 08:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Case Modder

Posts: 922
Joined: 11/22/2010

Cant say anything for sure, but I did run a HD7970 on a 2007 Asus P5KC for 3 months before replacing the pc around it, despite the huge bottlenecks with an old cpu and 1st gen pci-e, it worked fine. Make sure your PSU can power that new gpu.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 12/06/2013 11:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Sprite Maker

Posts: 3496
Joined: 03/01/2009

Originally posted by: nikola.lukic Thank you for your answer. But, unfortunetly, I really need to know for sure. Because if I buy a card there is no returning it back. So, basically if it doesn't work I wasted my money.

 

 

 

Any expert got an answer to this one?

 

It "should" work just fine . But you need to be asking MSI . Not here unless you get extremely lucky and find someone who has the exact same board you do.



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

Statistics
80952 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.