Topic Title: Sapphire R9 280X Dual-X driver problem?
Topic Summary: I need Your help to figure out what is causing my system to crash
Created On: 12/29/2013 01:05 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/29/2013 01:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DJbyme
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/29/2013

Hello, and first of all, happy holidays everyone
 
As I mentioned in the message title I think that I have problems with drivers on my new rig which I built this week. I noticed the problem when I tried to do the stress test (OCCT and FurMark). The CPU test went pretty well, max temps were around 45* to 50*C. But on the other side, when I tried to stress test the GPU, system crashes, whitout BSOD just shutdowns. Why I think that drivers are causing crash? Well, once I managed to find a crash dump file and it said that  AMD drivers were causing the crash. And, once, however I don't know how , the GPU was detected as HD 7900 series insted of R9 280 series. I know that 280X is just redesigned 7970 GHz so I tought to try to do the stress test and in OCCT GPU DX11 stress test passed, 10min whitout a problem, but FurMark showed that the GPU is R9 280 series and then it crashed. I have been struggling with this problem quite some time now but I hope that someone from this support forum can help me

This is the rig I built this week:

MBO: Gigabyte 990XA-UD3 rev. 3.0

CPU: AMD FX-8320

CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO

RAM: Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB 1600MHz

GPU: Sapphire R9 280X Dual-X

PSU: Corsair CX600 V2

HDD: WD Caviar Blue 500GB

OS: Windows 7 SP1 Ultimate x64

Optical Drive: LG DVD I don't know the speed but it's irrelevant for now

I'll get the SSD tommorow and instal the OS on it but just for the testing I tried to run OS from HDD

Thank you!

 12/29/2013 01:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DJbyme
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/29/2013

And yes I forgot, the drivers I used for the GPU are the latest from the AMD site, version 13.12.

 12/30/2013 10:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
goodplay
Cookie Monster

Posts: 401
Joined: 08/21/2011

Sapphire system requirements state 750w psu.

Did you run tests with original disc drivers also.



-------------------------

i5 3570k(@4.5)./ga-z77x-ud5h-wb./hyper T4./2 x 4gb vengeance 1600 c8./sapphire dualX 7970 3gb OC boost v2./1tb WD FAEX Black./lg bh10 blu-ray r.w../corsair hx850./antec df30./z506 spkrs./lg e2240v./win 8(8.1) pro x64 (oem disc)

 12/31/2013 08:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DJbyme
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/29/2013

Yes, I tried with the drivers from the original CD. Turns out that the drivers weren't the problem but PSU as You said. But I tried to power only CPU (8320 takes 125W at full load with hyper evo cooler, 3W), GPU (R9 280X takes 250W at full load), RAM (2x DDR3, 15W?), motherboard (lets say 50W), SSD (5W).  In total that is like 448 W, lets say 480W at most, and Corsair CX600 fails to power that? I think that I have PSU with some kind of malfunction.

Besides that, I tried to power this configuration with CX750 (friend's PSU) and it worked perfectly.

Statistics
84332 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.