Topic Title: r9 290X black screen problem
Topic Summary: 290 290x crash
Created On: 12/31/2013 01:41 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 5 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/08/2014 05:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

georgi,

nice accomplishment for you today bro!

you sir, had a good day!!

i just finished reinstalling windows 8.1, all my applications are gone as of that (my favorite games bf4, bf3 and bfbc2.. will take a nice 48 hours just to redownload!) and as soon as i clicked install on ccc install manager i got a black screen..

 



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 02/08/2014 05:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

i swear on my Lord Almighty, when i got my gtx 650 ti boost back in the summer and after installing it on a win 7 with lots of old drivers still around i did not have a single, a tiny bit of problem.

bf3 ran so smooth that i said "hey, why not send it back as unwanted and get a more powerful 7870 in crossfire (my old motherboard did not support sli), 

since 

 

then my problems started..

 

 

spending over £1,000 to make everything right, i dont have a working pc after 6 months, had to go through hell to RMA those 7870s, got this new card and now my birthday present from AMD, "Black Screen" game.

 

 

 

 

a year ago my good German friend told me not to buy AMD gpus, i did not listen.

i wish i would listen, then i would have my pc right now on the weekend playing with friends and laughing at AMD users complaining everyday about this and that.

a big difference, isnt it?



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//



Edited: 02/08/2014 at 05:53 PM by deathcrush87
 02/08/2014 06:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TRock
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 01/17/2014

Originally posted by: deathcrush87 TRock, where do you live, where did you buy the card from and where exactly did you send the card to for RMA?

 

I live in Turkey. I bought the card from one of those big electronic stores (not online) . I returned the card to the store (in 30 days from the purchase) and they sent it to the Authorized Tech service. 

The problem is "black screen". But also there are random BSODs, freezes . 

This is a terrible service.  I emailed them with the info about the black screen problem. They don't even bother to inform the user. 

 

I'm using the integrated GPU on the 4770k at the moment . It's slow but at least it works.  This is the last time i'm buying any thing that has a AMD Logo on it.  It doesn't matter how fast it is in the bechmarks, if it doesnt work properly.

 02/09/2014 09:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KrmlMonsta
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/07/2014

not a single blackscreen yesterday ... 3 in a row today within 5 minutes (1. Win startup; 2. Ts startup; 3. opening the amd forums)  

and still no official post on this problem. 

 02/09/2014 11:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
georgi
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/07/2014

Originally posted by: KrmlMonsta not a single blackscreen yesterday ... 3 in a row today within 5 minutes (1. Win startup; 2. Ts startup; 3. opening the amd forums)  

 

and still no official post on this problem. 

 

 

same for me,i have blacks screens continuously on the desktop...and in game menu

 02/10/2014 11:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KrmlMonsta
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/07/2014

sent mine back. getting me something else. what is this marketing policy nowadays?everybody is selling unfinished crap everywhere ...  games, hardware, whatever... pick one thing. and the customer support is a joke. not only from amd. sapphire support wanted me to upload a video(!) of the occasional blackscreens(!). do they take this as a joke? that made it for me. bye amd, bye sapphire. we had a good time but now we have to break up. i don`t know if we can get back together again.

 02/10/2014 05:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

nice job! im sending mine back tomorrow, cant afford a 780 ti, will probably settle with an EVGA 780.

 



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 02/11/2014 11:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lukas108
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/07/2014

I have checked some options around the causes of back screens. Two points which attracted my attention here:

1. Steam - black screen happens almost always when i have it in autostart - some seconds after booting desktop.

2. During switching energy save mode in windows settings.

 



-------------------------
AMD Phenom x4 965 BE, MSI Radeon R9 290 Gaming 4G, 16 GB RAM DDR3, 1 SSD + 5 HDD, WIndows 7 64bit
 02/11/2014 01:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
talesw
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/10/2014

Sapphire R7 260X 2gb OC GDDR5, with same problem, random blackscreen, I dont know what do more....

 02/11/2014 01:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

i sent mine back today.

cant wait to switch to Nvidia.

 



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 02/11/2014 02:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
talesw
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/10/2014

Originally posted by: deathcrush87 i sent mine back today.

 

cant wait to switch to Nvidia.

 

 

 

Sent back to where?

 02/11/2014 06:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

the retailer.



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 02/25/2014 10:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nManJofo
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/02/2013

I also have a problem with black SOD...

 

GIGABYTE R929XWF3-4GD, brand new, works in 2D but after driver installation and restart, I got black screen before entering Windows. Not only Windows, but I tested it on Linux as well, same result, on another computer too. Tried 14.1 beta 1.6 and 13.12, no difference (I formatted the drive with each drivers tested). It's actually a second card, the first one I sent to RMA did the same stuff.

HOW COME such a card passes quality checks and makes it to box! And probably not a single, but because I had the card replaced with another brand new but defective, a whole batch must be bad. I have new Xeon E3 computer with 650W 80Plus Gold power supply, the other computer I tested on has 950W PSU, so no question about lack of power.

Moreover, the computer hangs TOTALLY, I had to force it to shut down because even reset button didn't work!

 02/25/2014 02:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ericlecarde
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/25/2014

 Increased the VCCSA (System Agent Voltage) to 1.1V in the System BIOS.

This made a big difference for me, so far I havent had black screen freeze in 24 hours. Before this I could not play at all. I have an Asrock Z77 Extreme3 with the P1.50 bios with all default settings.

 02/25/2014 04:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

i happily received my refund today and immidiately i pre-ordered an EVGA gtx 780..

byeeeeee amd......



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 02/25/2014 05:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
serys
Peon

Posts: 26
Joined: 11/12/2013

I putted my 3 R9 290x in the garbage. I will give a try with 3 new GTX 780 ti. Good bye AMD forever.

 02/26/2014 04:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nManJofo
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/02/2013

Originally posted by: ericlecarde  Increased the VCCSA (System Agent Voltage) to 1.1V in the System BIOS.

 

Nice, but I will not increase anything in BIOS. I have put quite a lot of money into that card and it must work without any hacks.

 02/27/2014 12:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

could not resist, but it will be my last post;

got my EVGA GTX 780 sc acx this morning, played games for 6-8 hours and no crashes, no freezings, no black screen etc..

works like a charm on the same pc some ppl called "not prepared"!!

thank you Nvidia, thank you EVGA!

 



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 02/28/2014 10:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
privatejoh
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/28/2014

I have a R9 290, using latest beta drivers. Dual screen setup, with main monitor driven by 290 and secondary by Intel grapics. Constant crashes (black screens).

As far as I can tell, these black screen crashes are caused by some kind of conflict between the integrated graphics and the main gpu. I disabled the integrated graphics in my i5-4670k, and no more crashes when both screens are driven by the 290.

Can anyone confirm that they are suffering black screens WITHOUT a procesor with integrated graphics?

That would help pinpoint the problem.

 

 02/28/2014 06:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TRock
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 01/17/2014

gpu inside the 4770k is disabled and I still get blackscreens.

AMD Support and Game » AMD Radeon™ Graphics » r9 290X black screen problem

<< 1 2 3 4 5 Previous Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
81036 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.