Topic Title: r9 290X black screen problem
Topic Summary: 290 290x crash
Created On: 12/31/2013 01:41 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 5 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/01/2014 07:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Z3r03557
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 03/01/2014

It seems to be there's a problem with the VRM or memory.

On my PC it reboots with hypertransport flood but on another newer machine it says PSU surge detected. So I guess there's some problem regulating voltage when it gets hot.

Gigabyte 290 OC Windforce. Elpida.

The card even performs worse in 3D Mark than my 7950.

Full details in other thread: http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=440&threadid=169188&enterthread=y

 03/02/2014 06:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CCJ39
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/02/2014

I have the Sapphire Tri-X R9 290X and a similar but a little bit different problem

before I used two Sapphire HD6870 Vapor-X for my 4 displays to work (and sure for gaming) and after a few days ago one of these cards were not working anymore, I bought the new card to use it directly for all 4 displays as single graphic card

the first 2 days everything was running fine including up to 4-5 hours gaming... then yesterday I let the computer alone for approx. 1 hour (on desktop with Steam, Outlook, FF and WinExplorer open) and when I came back all monitors were black and only the mouse was visible... after some time I reseted the system and after the small loading-symbol of Win8.1, I saw again only blackscreen with mouse... I tried several times reset as well as shutdown and wait, but always the same result => no chance to see anything of the windows login... when I enter blind the login, I was able to login and saw for approx. half a second the taskbar on black screen before the black was over the taskbar again

 

also there's no way to enter any boot-options for Win8.1 resp. to see them, because also in these cases (if Windows really open them) I only see the blackscreen

I removed the new graphiccard and replaced it with the remaining card (HD6870) and everything was running fine (sure only with 2 displays)... in this case I was able to switch drivers again (tried last public as well as latest beta) and when I shut down the system, replace then the card again to the new one, I can start windows and use it without problems... it doesn't matter if I uninstall drivers with old card completely and reinstall with the new card or if I change nothing with the drivers... as long as I start the system once with old card, I can start it without the blackscreen after it, but not directly

so my problem is something different to most blackscreen problems here, but maybe someone has an idea or it help for finding a solution

 03/02/2014 01:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lady_eboshi
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/22/2014

i have the same problem with MSI

i realy dont know what to do ;(

i my case i have black screen after "starting windows" i cant even start system after instaling drivers

i try from 13.1 to 14.2... ;[

 

 03/03/2014 03:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CCJ39
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/02/2014

can you try booting with another (older) card, shut down and then restart with the new one? would be interesting if this solves the problem temporary for you too... at the moment I think it should be a driver problem, so I'll wait until end of the week and try again if a new driver will be available then... until the weekend I work with my old graphiccard now and if there's no new driver at the weekend, I send the R9 290X back before I cannot return it anymore

 03/03/2014 04:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1157
Joined: 01/31/2010

guys check your power supply

the high end cards need a lot more power than many realize

 



-------------------------

 03/04/2014 02:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
privatejoh
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/28/2014

Originally posted by: TRock gpu inside the 4770k is disabled and I still get blackscreens.

 

 

Ok, mine is also disable and still getting black screens. So that is only part of the problem.

The issue seems to be more random than I thought.

I get black screens when playing with the CCC, for example when I try to disable one of my screens. It would just crash. Also when I try to get into the Video tab (I think it is calles something like that).

Also, the card works weird. Some times when I try to benchmark it, it just does not go to the full clock speed, but lingers around and produces a very low score. For example, Furmark  varies from 68 to 59, and Shogun 2 TW in DX11 1080 from 103 to 49. And I cannot find out why as nothing is changed between both runs.

And finally, there is some random flickering, sometimes is there, sometimes is not without changing any settings.

I am now with the latest non-beta driver version for w7 x64. I cannot really recall whether all of these issues are with this driver though.

I really hope AMD pull themself together and deliver a driver version that solves these problems. I know for sure their latest beta is not it.

 03/04/2014 10:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Z3r03557
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 03/01/2014

lady_eboshi - Is it your card overheating (faulty card etc)? If so, leave the PC for 30 mins and try turning it on again, if you can get into windows then this is the cause.

Another way to uninstall the drivers is to just go into safe mode.

Otherwise, confirm DVI/HDMI also doesn't work (which is unlikely to be the problem but have experienced an issue with this in the past).

You should not get a black screen booting a card on an underpowered PSU (unless it's really not enough to run even a basic graphics card). Booting into windows uses hardly any power, the power usage occurs in 3D applications such as games and that's when you'd notice a power off - in which case you'd check your PSU size, increase as required.



Edited: 03/04/2014 at 11:11 AM by Z3r03557
 03/05/2014 05:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CCJ39
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/02/2014

interesting news of my tests

 

when I run a HD6870 for 2 screens with DVI and a R9 290X for 2 additional screens on DVI after frech driver installation, everything is working fine... if I move one of the screens from HD6870 to 290X with a HDMI2DVI cable or on DP with active-DP2DVI connector, it's working for the moment too, but after next system restart, all screens on the 290X are black and the single display on the HD6870 is still working!!! if I open the CCC then, I get many error messages of crashed display driver and see in the display-overview, my 4 displays arranged, but only the one of the HD6870 is available in the lower list to select!!!

 

I tried reconnecting the HDMI/DP display back to DVI on the HD6870 but the system freezes and after reboot it's working there again... but the two displays on the 290X are still black now and in CCC I see now 2 of the 4 displays listed...

 

so now I'm sure the problem with black screen in idle mode is a problem of which connection is used for the displays... seems there's no problem initially with DVI, but combining HDMI or DP with DVI is causing definitely the problem!!!

 

Edit: but curious is the fact, that after the blackscreen happened e.g. after connecting DP or HDMI, the DVI screens won't work also after removing all but DVI and restarting... only removing the 290X card, starting system with another card and then add the 290X again with only DVI bring back the displays



Edited: 03/06/2014 at 02:32 AM by CCJ39
 03/07/2014 11:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mr2cam
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/07/2014

Wow I just found this thread.. I am on my 2nd 290x, first was a gigabyte windforce 290x, and it would blackscreen right after I installed it, I am now ona Sapphire TRI-X 290x, and I get black screens but not as often.. I am thinking I should send this card in and get a 780ti, I am using the 14.2 beta drivers.. Any suggestions on what I should do?????

 03/08/2014 01:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TRock
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 01/17/2014

if the second card also causes black screens, it would be wise to check the other components . What are you specs?

Is the bios configured correctly?



Edited: 03/08/2014 at 11:08 AM by TRock
 03/08/2014 11:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mr2cam
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/07/2014

Originally posted by: TRock if the second card also causes black screens, it would be wise to check the other components . What are you specs?

 

Is the bios configured correctly?

 

 

Havn't touched anything in the bios, it doesn't blackscreen that much, but I have had it happen a couple of times.  

 03/10/2014 04:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lady_eboshi
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/22/2014

·         CCJ39 - I dont have another card

·         y power suply is 660, ithink that this is enough

·         Z3r03557 - i cant even check my card, becouse when i'm instaling the driver, the screen come black ;/

·         i tried to uninstall by programs in safemode ;/

·         i will check DISPLAYPORT.. but i'm thinking that the problem isnt here ;/

  i think i send cart to RMA ;/

 03/11/2014 09:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CCJ39
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/02/2014

I tried it for some days again and again and everytime the blackscreen occured with HDMI and/or DisplayPort in use and driver installed while everything is fine without driver or when only using DVI... so there's something really wrong with the driver

I send my card back now and replaced it by a Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti... now everything is working fine with all 4 displays, means problem solved by using the first time since GeForce 4 again a nvidia card

 03/11/2014 10:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Joker93
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/11/2014

Anyone have any idea why the card is not working i have a r290x with a corsair 860W power supply... It seems to give a black screen of death everytime there is any stress on the card. I am beginning to think its a hardware problem, any advice? 

BTW: This will be the first and last time we buy a AMD card



Edited: 03/11/2014 at 10:21 PM by Joker93
 03/12/2014 10:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AnthFred
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/12/2014

Hey guys I have a temporary solution to fix the problem.


If u have a sapphire or another card just download the sofware like sapphire TRIXXor MSI afterburner and put the [VDDC Offset]  to 50 and the [Power Limit to +50] it must  solve ur black screens.

I did it last week and since 0 black screens!

PD: I had a black screen every 5 minutes since I bought the card

 03/13/2014 07:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
astrix
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 03/12/2014

I had this only happen a few times after switching to display port, switching back to Duel link DVI has made it go away. Havent had it on DVI so I am no longer using the Display Port. Win 8.1 CCC 14.2v3 120Hz.

Try switching to DVI!



-------------------------

ASUS Maximus VI Formula -  i7 4770K - H80i -  2x MSI R9 290X's - HyperX 16GB Ram - 250GB + 500GB SSD - Samsung SA950 1920x1080P @120hz - Seasonic 1000w 80 Plus Platnum...


 


 


 


BF4 -Ultra 1920x1080P @ 135% Resolution smashing out avg. 120+fps on Mantle. That's 2592x1458 internal resolution :)

 03/13/2014 07:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
astrix
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 03/12/2014

Originally posted by: mr2cam Wow I just found this thread.. I am on my 2nd 290x, first was a gigabyte windforce 290x, and it would blackscreen right after I installed it, I am now ona Sapphire TRI-X 290x, and I get black screens but not as often.. I am thinking I should send this card in and get a 780ti, I am using the 14.2 beta drivers.. Any suggestions on what I should do?????

What cables are you using? If it's DP I would recomend trying Duel link DVI until they fix the black screens with DP. Try that before you loose this card and what Mantle has to offer!



-------------------------

ASUS Maximus VI Formula -  i7 4770K - H80i -  2x MSI R9 290X's - HyperX 16GB Ram - 250GB + 500GB SSD - Samsung SA950 1920x1080P @120hz - Seasonic 1000w 80 Plus Platnum...


 


 


 


BF4 -Ultra 1920x1080P @ 135% Resolution smashing out avg. 120+fps on Mantle. That's 2592x1458 internal resolution :)

 03/14/2014 05:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
umnut
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 04/23/2011

Originally posted by: privatejoh I have a R9 290, using latest beta drivers. Dual screen setup, with main monitor driven by 290 and secondary by Intel grapics. Constant crashes (black screens).

As far as I can tell, these black screen crashes are caused by some kind of conflict between the integrated graphics and the main gpu. I disabled the integrated graphics in my i5-4670k, and no more crashes when both screens are driven by the 290.

Can anyone confirm that they are suffering black screens WITHOUT a procesor with integrated graphics?

That would help pinpoint the problem.

 



Edited: 03/14/2014 at 05:58 AM by umnut
 03/14/2014 05:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
umnut
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 04/23/2011

To those asking about whether this might be an integrated gfx problem, would seem to have an i7 920 @ 3.2 Ghz, so no ostensibly integrated gfx. My asus 290 oc DCII would appear to not feed any video signal from boot, though the computer would otherwise seem to be working properly (windows boots as usual).RMA-ed the card, and wanted to inquire as to whether this would be an issue with the 290/x line of cards, or/and would this extend to the entire R9 series?
 03/14/2014 08:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TRock
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 01/17/2014

Integrated graphics on the cpu is disabled, i still get black screen . I dont think they are related.

AMD Support and Game » AMD Radeon™ Graphics » r9 290X black screen problem

<< 1 2 3 4 5 Previous Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
84319 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.