Topic Title: Radeon HD6670 not displaying video
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/09/2014 06:26 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/09/2014 06:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AH1101
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/09/2014

Graphics Card
The card in question is a Gigabyte Radeon HD6670 2GB. (Model number is GV-R667D3-2GI)

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
13.12

I haven't tried any previous versions with this card.

Operating System
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit SP1


Issue Details
Basically, whenever the card is plugged in, there is no image being output to the monitor. It stays black. The card is getting power as the fan is spinning, and the motherboard is obviously detecting it as the integrated graphics are disabled as well. I've tried using both my own VGA monitor and a family member's DVI-D monitor, and neither worked. I tried using the card in my brother's computer, and it worked. The slot is fine as well, as his Nvidia GT 610 functioned perfectly in it. The PSU is 450W (Requirement for card is 400W), and I also have tried my brother's 550W PSU, yet it still didn't work. I went to Gigabyte support with the issue, and they couldn't verify my motherboard. I'm essentially out of ideas.

Motherboard or System Make & Model
Pegatron AAHD2-HY (Also known as Pegatron 2ACF)

Power Supply

Raidmax RX-450L

http://raidmax.com/psu/rx_450k.html


Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used

Acer V173 with VGA cable. No adapters.

Applications and Games

Not applicable. There is no image on the monitor.

CPU Details
AMD A6-3650 APU @2.6Ghz w/ Radeon HD 6530D Integrated Graphics. No Overclock.

Motherboard BIOS Version
HP BIOS 7.07

System Memory Type & Amount
8GB DDR3 RAM

Not sure what the make is. It's the same that came with the computer originally.

Additional Hardware
hp DVD-RAM GH80N SATA DVD Drive

Seagate ST1000DM 003-9YN162 SATA 1TB Hard Disk Drive

Four case fans plus CPU fan.

Additional Details

I do constant malware sweeps and my computer is always running at it's best. There is no malware, and the hardware works as, like I said before, the Radeon works in my brother's computer, and his card works in mine.

 01/09/2014 06:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

When you plug the monitor in it should be done to the onboard graphics port. Then you should be able to enable Dual Graphics in CCC.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 01/09/2014 07:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AH1101
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/09/2014

My onboard graphics are disabled when the card is plugged in.

 01/09/2014 11:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

With that APU you should be able to have Dual graphics with 6670, 6570 and the 6450 cards.

So I guess the question iwould be s the APU disabled via the BIOS or just when the 6670 card is inserted.

What model HP desktop do you have.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 01/10/2014 02:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AH1101
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/09/2014

I have a p6-2143w. It's still all the same original specs, besides a replaced power supply.

 01/10/2014 09:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

So I read the specs on your system, and it does disable the onboard graphics. So this means no Dual graphics even if you want it.

So have you un-install the AMD CCC package prior to installing the 6670 card. This is a shot in the dark as to how Dual Graphics is set up. Im wondering if because APU graphics is disable automatically but the 6670 has never been enable it just will not work with the software installed prior to the card. At least this will eliminate the drivers as a issue. 

I would unistall the CCC package while the APU is active and reboot. You might even run a DDU so as to clean up all residue in the Registry and software. I use a utility for my clients and my machines which is located here.

http://www.wagnardmobile.com/DDU/

I would then shut down and install the 6670. Start the system back up and the default driver for windows should work. If no display then there is some sort of BIOS issue. If you do get the card to work then install the current AMD CCC package.

Good luck



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 01/10/2014 11:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AH1101
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/09/2014

Well, thanks for your help anyways, but I did as you suggested, uninstalling the entire driver package and clearing the registry of any remaining entries... And no dice. Guess I'm out of luck then. I suppose I'll just wait to custom-build a rig from scratch instead of upgrading the one I already have. Ah well, thanks for the help nonetheless.

 01/11/2014 12:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12909
Joined: 04/17/2008

You could just put in a more powerful video card. Dual Graphics does not give a HUGE improvement unless you are pairing an A10 series with the highest card it will let you. Take your 6670 + 6530D for example, you are only talking about, if there were perfect 100% linear scaling, the performance of an HD 6750. For under $140, you can have an R7 260X which has twice that power and will work in your system right now. You will need to get rid of that Raidmax piece of crap power supply and get a quality unit such as the Corsair CS550M.

Actually I would suggest in the strongest possible way for you to not play any games or put any stress on your system before you do replace the power supply. That Raidmax RX-450K is rated for a MAXIMUM of 21A at 12v, which only comes to 252w.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/11/2014 08:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AH1101
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/09/2014

I figured as much. The card was a gift in the first place, and previously I didn't have a gaming-worthy card anyways. (From what I understand, the 6670 isn't that great anyways.)

I'll continue with my plan to build a new one from scratch. I'm perpetually broke which is why I was so set on this card, but that won't be for long. I was considering a 7990, but I might just go for an R7/R9 card anyways. Thank you.



Edited: 10/10/2014 at 03:15 AM by AH1101
Statistics
87605 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.