Topic Title: Horrible Fps on MSI AMD R9 280x 3gb Edition
Topic Summary: Low FPS
Created On: 02/05/2014 06:03 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/05/2014 06:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sabariboss
Peon

Posts: 46
Joined: 12/13/2013

I couldn't play The Bureau xcom declassified games on my card with physx on & off.. I am getting 15fps only.. What the hell was that?? I was using 14.1beta version drivers

 02/06/2014 11:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 867
Joined: 09/11/2008

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=440&threadid=160417&enterthread=y



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 02/06/2014 12:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sabariboss
Peon

Posts: 46
Joined: 12/13/2013

Graphics Card

MSI AMD R9 280x 3GB 

GAMING MODE

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History

14.1 Beta Drivers

previously tested Drivers

13.11 & 13.12

Operating System

WINDOWS 7 64BIT

Issue Details

Low FPS ON GAMES

Motherboard or System Make & Mode

INTEL Dz68DB

Power Supply

Cooler Master GX 650watts

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used

HDMI Prolink

Applications and Games

The bureau Xcom Declassifieds

Mafia II

Splinter Cell Blacklist

CPU Details

Intel Core i5 2500k II gen 3.30Ghz

NOT Overclocked

System Memory Type & Amount

Transcend 12GB DDR3 4x4X4

Additional Hardware

Processor CoolerMAster THX & 120mm cabinet 5 LED FANS

Motherboard BIOS Version

BIOS Version/Date Intel Corp. DBZ6810H.86A.0014.2011.0413.1049, 4/13/2011

SMBIOS VER 2.6

Additional Details

Microsoft security Essential (No Virus)

No hardware fault



Edited: 02/07/2014 at 03:22 AM by sabariboss
 02/06/2014 03:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12241
Joined: 04/17/2008

What about 13.12 WHQL? You don't need 14.1 Beta unless you are playing Battlefield 4 and have updated it with the Mantle patch.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 02/07/2014 02:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sabariboss
Peon

Posts: 46
Joined: 12/13/2013

Ya I have tested in 13.12 WHQL also & upgraded to 14.1 beta drivers with mantle performance in battlefield 4.. But those physx game sucks on amd machines game like example, The Bureau xcom Declassified & mafia II so far tested got low fps.. These are all i can accept physx meant for NVIDIA it will run like a crap on AMD machines. But the holly ***** game The splinter cell blacklist game says that your card was unsupported to run this game. It asks for Will you able to play it or not??? I can't accept it...

 02/07/2014 03:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alphaproject
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 02/05/2014

I'm thinking something is bad....somewhere because the 280X is easily one of the better GFX cards out there and even my 7850 gets better fps on games than yours.

 

I also have similar specs like mobo/CPU. Intel i5-2500k@4200 although I have less Ram @ 8 gigs.

 

Maybe test your memory, check PSU with another video card?

 

No idea. How new is the card? If it's brand new it sounds broke.

 02/07/2014 03:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sabariboss
Peon

Posts: 46
Joined: 12/13/2013

I have GEFORCE NVIDIA GTX 560Ti Twin Frozer II 2gb OC edition & i had tested it with those games it runs better than AMD R9280x.. There was nothing wrong with my memory & hardware.. The card was one month old played & completed COD ghosts & battlefield 4 & assassin creed Black flag & Need For speed Rivals without issues in AMD R9280x 3gb.. I don't know why some of those physx games sucks on amd R9280x & got very low fps on old games.. 



Edited: 02/07/2014 at 03:26 AM by sabariboss
 02/07/2014 04:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alphaproject
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 02/05/2014

Indeed it's a strange issue. No matter what game you play the 280X shuld destroy the 560ti...physx or not. Since AMD doesn't use Physx the games sometimes offload that onto the CPU but most times the games won't allow you to enable Physx anyways so that shouldn't be an issue. So if current games run fine with the 280X send a support ticket and see what AMD says.

 02/07/2014 05:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lukas108
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/07/2014

Don't you have black screens?  



-------------------------
AMD Phenom x4 965 BE, MSI Radeon R9 290 Gaming 4G, 16 GB RAM DDR3, 1 SSD + 5 HDD, WIndows 7 64bit
 02/08/2014 04:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sabariboss
Peon

Posts: 46
Joined: 12/13/2013

I don't have any blackscreen issues. I don't have any problems with my current games. But i was little worried about that i couldn't play back my old games on MSI AMD R9 280x 3gb.. AMD have to look back in it...

Statistics
84268 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.