Topic Title: R9 290x Screen Freezing crashes.
Topic Summary: :/
Created On: 02/16/2014 03:42 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/16/2014 03:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pretelethal
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 02/02/2014

Any solution? Playing games and going on browsers randomly freezes my screen and I have to restart my computer. It started when I got my R9 290X so I know this is the reason. I can't use the keybord my mouse or anything. I have to cold reboot by my powersupply switch. 

Specs: Radeon R9 290X Diamond (Reference)

FX 8350 8 Core 4.0 ghz

16 GB DDR3 AM

ASUS M5A88-M Motherboard 

13.12 Drivers (14.1 Beta sucks) 

1200w PSU Coolmax

No overclocking

MSI Afterburner Fan speed is on 10% per 10 degrees 

BIOS Version: 1702

Windows 8.1 64 Bit

Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256 GB

I've tried everything. Defragg clean installs of drivers. BIOS updates, Chipset updates, registery cleaing, nothing works, I keep getting freezing screens randomly!

EDIT! I took the R9 290X out driver sweeped all of AMD and reinstalled my GTX 760 :/ So far no more screen locks or anything. This is such a bum, I spent $600 dollars on this card and I was so excited for it. And now I can't even use it. 

EDIT 2: Forgot to mention 14.1 beta casuses the same problem as well just random freeze locks while gaming or web browsing. Though 14.1 has its own problem with the video drivers breaking when my computer goes idle to long, requiring me to restart my PC throuh the start menu. 



Edited: 02/17/2014 at 07:28 PM by Pretelethal
 02/16/2014 05:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pretelethal
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 02/02/2014

Any help? Its not the black screen people seem to be getting it's purely a hard lock and my screen will just stay where its at forever if i dont reboot. 

 02/22/2014 05:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pretelethal
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 02/02/2014

So I tried lower my target temp to 70-75 degree C and I did notice less freezing now I freeze around every few hours or so. I tried 14.1 and I still screen freezing. This is the only card I have experinced with this. Should I RMA my card? Or wait. Is it a driver issue? I just want an idea here. 

 02/23/2014 12:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TRock
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 01/17/2014

i would RMA that card. seems like a defective one.

 02/23/2014 04:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Trastito2es
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 11/28/2013

I have the same since November, but with the 290 Sapphire OEM.

I tried doing a RMA, nothing. I tried by changing the BIOS, nothing. I PREBE back to Win 7, nothing. I tried putting a new PSU (Corsair RM850), same thing.

I do not know what to do. While it is true that as releasing new drivers were unloaded frostbite have been disappearing in games still exists (although it depends on which).

My theory is that the VCORE is the GPU, which is not high enough, but as AMD has over topping you can touch the Vcore ...

What I do know is that my next GPU will not be AMD. Sorry, passage of more problems as well, I've had enough.

 02/23/2014 06:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pretelethal
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 02/02/2014

Im fairly new to graphics card hardware. I have a limited understanding so I'm not sure what VCORE is. Though I'm wondering will future driver releases fix this random hardlock problem? Or will I have to just get my money back. 

 02/24/2014 04:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pretelethal
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 02/02/2014

I got sick of my computer freezing while play games so I reinstalled my 760 gtx for the time being. I'll give them a month or 2 to release a driver that might solve this issue. If not I'll try to go back to the place I've bought it from or maybe send it back to its manufacter however you RMA it. I've never had to do this before with a card. 

Statistics
85566 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.