Topic Title: R290 BSOD and Random Reboot *fix*
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/22/2014 05:59 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/22/2014 05:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
The Koala
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/22/2014

Does your new computer randomly reboot when watching videos, surfing the web or even selecting songs on Winamp? My computer would randomly reboot 3-6 times most nights and I tried everything under the sun. Reading my minidump file always said the same thing: WHEA UNCORRECTABLE ERROR. So after troubleshooting everything and even buying a new PSU, I have finally fixed the issue with GPU Tweak. 

1. Download and install GPU Tweak.

2. Start GPU tweak.

3. Move mouse cursor over 3D Icon on the top left of GPU Tweak. Once you hover over the icon, a button appears for 3D|2D. Select 2D switching setting to gain access to 2D settings. 

4. Set your GPU Clock to 430Mhz, Memory Clock to 900Mhz, Fan Speed to whatever speed you'd like and hit apply. 

5. Save the new 2D settings to a profile and make sure you also select that profile everytime you reboot or restart windows..

 

That's it. My system has been been stable since Sunday night. 

Soo AMD.. when are you going to add user controls to 2D settings in CCC for your clients that are having this issue?

 02/22/2014 06:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pretelethal
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 02/02/2014

Would this fix random screen hardlocks while gaming and watching youtube vids as well as being on browsers? on R9 290X as well? 

 02/22/2014 06:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
The Koala
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/22/2014

Originally posted by: Pretelethal Would this fix random screen hardlocks while gaming and watching youtube vids as well as being on browsers? on R9 290X as well? 

 

Give it a shot.. Just make sure you disable MSI Afterburner and AMD Overdrive as they might conflict with GPU tweak. 

 02/22/2014 06:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pretelethal
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 02/02/2014

I might, everyone keeps talking about the BSOD and reboots but I dont even get those on my 290X my computer will just randomly freeze forcing me to reboot it since installing my 290X. 

 02/22/2014 07:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pretelethal
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 02/02/2014

I'm trying to apply my settings for my memory clock at 900 mhz though every time i hit apply it jumps up to 5000 mhz? Do you know why it's doing this

 

 02/23/2014 09:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
The Koala
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/22/2014

Originally posted by: Pretelethal I'm trying to apply my settings for my memory clock at 900 mhz though every time i hit apply it jumps up to 5000 mhz? Do you know why it's doing this

 

 

 

You able to get it corrected?

 03/01/2014 07:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Z3r03557
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 03/01/2014

If you have the gigabyte app on, you have to have overdrive ticked in the AMD catalyst settings for the gigabyte settings to apply  - confusing as that is.

I don't think this advice is a proper fix for the card faults and is just a temporary remedy in 2D mode, best off returning it :~(

 03/01/2014 10:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DjGroves
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/01/2014

This fixed mine, thaaaank you!

 03/01/2014 10:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DjGroves
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/01/2014

Also, to The Koala, you sure you're trying to change the 2D clocks and not the 3D?

 

 03/12/2014 09:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
guy66
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 02/10/2014

Same with my card R290 - today RMA'd it back to the supplier. A really bad batch of cards with bad memory, overheat problems. It's terrible quality control and really puts AMD and thier partners in a bad light. It would be great to get a statement from AMD and choice partners about all the issues and what they propose to do about them?

It seems that thay are currently happy to let customers experience weeks of hell before running to an RMA process. Not the type of customer service that generates return orders or any loyality!

Statistics
84185 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.