Topic Title: R290 BSOD and Random Reboot *fix*
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/22/2014 05:59 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/22/2014 05:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
The Koala
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/22/2014

Does your new computer randomly reboot when watching videos, surfing the web or even selecting songs on Winamp? My computer would randomly reboot 3-6 times most nights and I tried everything under the sun. Reading my minidump file always said the same thing: WHEA UNCORRECTABLE ERROR. So after troubleshooting everything and even buying a new PSU, I have finally fixed the issue with GPU Tweak. 

1. Download and install GPU Tweak.

2. Start GPU tweak.

3. Move mouse cursor over 3D Icon on the top left of GPU Tweak. Once you hover over the icon, a button appears for 3D|2D. Select 2D switching setting to gain access to 2D settings. 

4. Set your GPU Clock to 430Mhz, Memory Clock to 900Mhz, Fan Speed to whatever speed you'd like and hit apply. 

5. Save the new 2D settings to a profile and make sure you also select that profile everytime you reboot or restart windows..

 

That's it. My system has been been stable since Sunday night. 

Soo AMD.. when are you going to add user controls to 2D settings in CCC for your clients that are having this issue?

 02/22/2014 06:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pretelethal
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 02/02/2014

Would this fix random screen hardlocks while gaming and watching youtube vids as well as being on browsers? on R9 290X as well? 

 02/22/2014 06:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
The Koala
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/22/2014

Originally posted by: Pretelethal Would this fix random screen hardlocks while gaming and watching youtube vids as well as being on browsers? on R9 290X as well? 

 

Give it a shot.. Just make sure you disable MSI Afterburner and AMD Overdrive as they might conflict with GPU tweak. 

 02/22/2014 06:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pretelethal
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 02/02/2014

I might, everyone keeps talking about the BSOD and reboots but I dont even get those on my 290X my computer will just randomly freeze forcing me to reboot it since installing my 290X. 

 02/22/2014 07:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pretelethal
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 02/02/2014

I'm trying to apply my settings for my memory clock at 900 mhz though every time i hit apply it jumps up to 5000 mhz? Do you know why it's doing this

 

 02/23/2014 09:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
The Koala
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/22/2014

Originally posted by: Pretelethal I'm trying to apply my settings for my memory clock at 900 mhz though every time i hit apply it jumps up to 5000 mhz? Do you know why it's doing this

 

 

 

You able to get it corrected?

 03/01/2014 07:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Z3r03557
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 03/01/2014

If you have the gigabyte app on, you have to have overdrive ticked in the AMD catalyst settings for the gigabyte settings to apply  - confusing as that is.

I don't think this advice is a proper fix for the card faults and is just a temporary remedy in 2D mode, best off returning it :~(

 03/01/2014 10:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DjGroves
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/01/2014

This fixed mine, thaaaank you!

 03/01/2014 10:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DjGroves
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/01/2014

Also, to The Koala, you sure you're trying to change the 2D clocks and not the 3D?

 

 03/12/2014 09:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
guy66
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 02/10/2014

Same with my card R290 - today RMA'd it back to the supplier. A really bad batch of cards with bad memory, overheat problems. It's terrible quality control and really puts AMD and thier partners in a bad light. It would be great to get a statement from AMD and choice partners about all the issues and what they propose to do about them?

It seems that thay are currently happy to let customers experience weeks of hell before running to an RMA process. Not the type of customer service that generates return orders or any loyality!

 08/13/2014 05:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lurquer
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 07/02/2014

Hey man thanks you really heklp me!!!....i'll sen my gpu for the garanti the secund time!!...and now is really working!!

 

Thanks!!

 08/13/2014 11:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
yukapuka
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 08/04/2013

thats terrible solution

here is a better one

i took out the evil roots of the r9 290x out of my motherboard took it back to the lair of evil retailer where i bought it from and purchased the excelsior 780ti and killed the beast of BSOD and black screens and every other graphic driver hardwarre problem

now i can breathe like a man  

 01/06/2015 04:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rr72
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/09/2013

OP, I don't know how you discovered this, but it gave me immediate stability on two different PCs with the same graphics card model (MSI R9 290X LIGHTNING) and same problem. I had tried countless other solutions before this one. I should have tried this first.

In my case I only bumped the 2D GPU Clock to 430 MHz (didn't touch the Memory Clock) and everything is stable. I also keep Afterburner running at the same time (for GPU temp/framerate monitoring through RTSS) and have no problems.

I would love a VBIOS editor that supports the R9 series so I could set the 2D clock there and not have to leave GPU Tweak running 24/7. Or a driver that fixes this issue. I am using the latest Catalyst driver (14.12 Omega).

Thank you for posting this and helping out those of us with this very frustrating problem.



-------------------------

PC 1: GA-78LMT-USB3 / FX-4130 / 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 / MSI R9 290X LIGHTNING / Antec EA650 / Windows 7 Home Premium x64 SP1


PC 2: M5A78L-M/USB3 / FX-6300 / 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 / MSI R9 290X LIGHTNING / Antec EA650 / Windows 7 Home Premium x64 SP1

 03/06/2015 09:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nachowarrior
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/06/2015

The random reboots found on r9-290x cards are not generally fixable via a software tweak. It might *seem* like the problem can be fixed from time to time, but that's usually because it's actually due to unstable or bad memory on the card.  You can exacerbate the failures by opening something that uses lots of vram, such as hd video's on youtube.   

 

Here's how you fix it: RMA the card.

but this is a pain in the ass, right?   Not usually. If you are in warranty you can usually contact the manufacturer via their web page. ASUS is particularly easy to deal with on warranty parts.  

How to verify: Video memory stress test. 

Go to:

http://mikelab.kiev.ua/index_en.php?page=PROGRAMS/vmt_en

or pick it up on a mirror site like:

http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/video_memory_stress_test.html

then extract the files.

Make note of, or copy, the file path.

 

click start, type "cmd" into the search box

right click on 'cmd.exe'

click 'run as administrator' 

drill down to the location of your download.  Usually "c:\users\%username%\downloads\vmt"or right click a blank spot in the command line and it should paste what you copied from earlier.

 

to read the help file and determine how to launch this for your situation type in:

readme.en.txt

there's an example in there of how to change parameters. 

 

to skip on and just run the test type in:

vmt.exe 4096

hit enter, and the program should launch. 

 

This is how I read the help file and this is what worked for me.  There's not a load of support out there for this program that I can find, but it does work.

I noticed when I ran the program that it states "memory used" at somewhere around 1gb even when I enter in the 4096 parameter... The program completed a few passes without error, so I know the i could not get it to test the entire 4gb in one shot... So, I restarted my machine between tests, and ran it again until it found the errors.  I could then find verifiable errors repeatedly. 

 

I hope this helps. I know there's not a lot of definitive help on this issue, so I decided to sign up and post my 2cents here on this forum.  If this works for anyone reading, please take this fix and replicate it on other forums.

 

 

 

notes: I highly suggest you read the readme.  If your system utilizes other types of memory for graphics, you will also need to eliminate the possiblity of bad ram sticks. I sugguest useing memtest on a bootable thumbdrive or cd/dvd before running this program to ensure your system ram is stable. 

 

 03/06/2015 10:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Recompile The World

Posts: 2887
Joined: 11/14/2010

Here's how you fix it: RMA the card.

Yep, i would go with that.

Unless there is a particular updated video bios version for the r9 290x that fixes this issue, or AMD admits that the 2d clock is unstable on the default voltage (unlikely that this is the case), then it's a faulty card, a motherboard incompatibility/ conflict (unlikely) or a software/ os corruption.

 

There is another workaround though:

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/updated-amd-ati-2d-clock-guide.117633/

And, of course, any stressful synthetic benchmark that maxes vram and gpu usage would probably show you any artifacting/ instability/ crashes.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
AMD Catalyst 15.4 beta

Statistics
93137 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2015 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.