Topic Title: Asus Radeon R9 290
Topic Summary: Black screen
Created On: 02/23/2014 10:43 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/23/2014 10:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DeBuGti
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/23/2014

Afternoon,

 

I am quite new to these forums, infact I've never posted here before, unfortunately it's not a great post to start things off with either. I've been running 2X MSI Radeon 6970's in Crossfire for 2-3 years now, I decided the other day even though they do run BF4 ok it's time to upgrade.

 

I decided to invest a large portion of my money into an Asus R9 290 after doing some light homework etc.... As the 780 was a bit to much for me with benchmarks and reviews i'd been seeing.

 

I unpackaged the R9 290 and installed it, the card ran fine on desktop, but very quickly when I tried putting it through it's paces the monitor would shut down and i'd just get a black screen.... Nothing at all... needing a reboot everytime. Ermmm, I read that it is mainly driver related at this time due to Elpida memory, instead of Hynix? Not sure what a moderators views are on that or other members on the forum?

 

Basically, I'd like some advise and answers before tomorrow, the card is repackaged and going back to the shop tomorrow and I will be asked to purchase an Asus GTX 780.... Unless anyone can supply me with a valid reason as to why the flagship cards with no real updates are doing this I can't keep my money and support in AMD anymore.

 

My system specs.

 

Asus Maximus Hero V motherboard

16 Gig Corsair Vengeance DDR3

WD 1TB Caviar Black HDD

Corsair TX850watt PSU

 

Happy to answer any other questions if need be?

 

Is there a fix before I leave AMD?

 02/23/2014 06:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TRock
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 01/17/2014

I have the same system and the same problem.

Tough black screens doesnt happen immidiatly. mostly after 20 to 90 mins of gaming.

If it black screens as soon as you start a 3d game, best thing is to take it back to the shop and but a 780.

So far , reasons for black screens are unclear , so waiting for a driver would be pointless, and you may lose your right to refund while waiting.

 02/24/2014 06:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DeBuGti
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/23/2014

Yup,

I traded it for a EVGA 780 SC... Wow... is all I can say...

Made me giggle actually... Was speaking to one of the chaps who has the 290X.... 60-70 FPS on Ultra on one of the new BF4 maps for him 100 FPS for me.... Weren't the 290X's supposed to perform better?

Sorry AMD..... I left behind your CPU's and now your GPU's

 02/24/2014 08:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

great move, that gtx 780 acx sc is the one im gonna get!



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 03/01/2014 06:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Z3r03557
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 03/01/2014

Yes good idea taking it back, have done the same with my gigabyte windforce 290 and using my MSI frozr II 7950 until I "need" an upgrade at which point in time I'll be buying NVIDIA.

A dedicated AMD user no more!

Statistics
84868 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.