Topic Title: Radeon HD 6670 - Constant Reinstalling
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/26/2014 01:16 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/26/2014 01:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DanC
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/26/2014

Hi there,

My old graphics card was an nVidia product, which basically stopped working. Therefore, I purchased the Radeon HD 6670 & it works perfectly... however I have to install the driver every time I turn my computer on, therefore 99% of the time i end up sleeping the computer to avoid this.

 

Anyone have any suggestions? I've a slight feeling it may be that nVidia was not correctly uninstalled, but if someone could confirm it would be appreicated.

 

Many thanks!

Danny

 02/26/2014 02:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7426
Joined: 11/13/2009

Download this version of Driver Sweeper (3.2.0). Uninstall the AMD software using your computer 'uninstall a program' in control panel...find AMD installer and express uninstall all AMD software including the installer. (This is assuming you have Intel processor, if you have a AMD processor, 'custom' uinstall the graphics driver and CCC). Reboot into Safe mode. Run Driver Sweeper by selecting AMD graphics and Nvidia graphics (both)...analyise, then delete all it finds. (be patient, it takes a few minutes). Reboot. Install the AMD drivers of your choice.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 02/26/2014 03:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 924
Joined: 09/11/2008

Originally posted by: stumped Download this version of Driver Sweeper (3.2.0). Uninstall the AMD software using your computer 'uninstall a program' in control panel...find AMD installer and express uninstall all AMD software including the installer. (This is assuming you have Intel processor, if you have a AMD processor, 'custom' uinstall the graphics driver and CCC). Reboot into Safe mode. Run Driver Sweeper by selecting AMD graphics and Nvidia graphics (both)...analyise, then delete all it finds. (be patient, it takes a few minutes). Reboot. Install the AMD drivers of your choice.

 

http://www.howtogeek.com/171816/htg-explains-do-you-need-to-use-a-driver-cleaner-when-upgrading-hardware-drivers/

 

 



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 02/26/2014 04:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7426
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: Earnhardt
Originally posted by: stumped Download this version of Driver Sweeper (3.2.0). Uninstall the AMD software using your computer 'uninstall a program' in control panel...find AMD installer and express uninstall all AMD software including the installer. (This is assuming you have Intel processor, if you have a AMD processor, 'custom' uinstall the graphics driver and CCC). Reboot into Safe mode. Run Driver Sweeper by selecting AMD graphics and Nvidia graphics (both)...analyise, then delete all it finds. (be patient, it takes a few minutes). Reboot. Install the AMD drivers of your choice.

 

http://www.howtogeek.com/171816/htg-explains-do-you-need-to-use-a-driver-cleaner-when-upgrading-hardware-drivers/

 

 

Good article...but as the article says "

Users who didn’t do this and did run into problems had to uninstall their drivers, run the cleaner to wipe out all traces of drivers, and reinstall the drivers.

So, is running a driver cleaner necessary? Only if you’ve updated your graphics and experienced crashes or other problems."

And he has a problem. Changing from Nvidia to AMD.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 02/26/2014 08:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 924
Joined: 09/11/2008

I was waiting for the changing from Nvidia  to AMD.I replaced a 6950 on my old back up rig a year or so ago,removed drivers through control panel only,installed a GTX560Ti(it lasted maybe 2 hours and fried)Uninstalled and replaced with a 7850.Zero issues

I did this just to see what would happen,and nothing happened,each worked fine just by using the add/remove programs .

I just dont believe in them personaly.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.



Edited: 02/26/2014 at 08:48 PM by Earnhardt
 02/27/2014 11:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1417
Joined: 01/31/2010

Originally posted by: DanC Hi there,

 

My old graphics card was an nVidia product, which basically stopped working. Therefore, I purchased the Radeon HD 6670 & it works perfectly... however I have to install the driver every time I turn my computer on, therefore 99% of the time i end up sleeping the computer to avoid this.

 

 

 

Anyone have any suggestions? I've a slight feeling it may be that nVidia was not correctly uninstalled, but if someone could confirm it would be appreicated.

 

 

 

Many thanks!

 

Danny

 

 

9/10 times when changing from Radeon to GeForce or vice versa, you need to install Windows fresh. Both have issues galore.

 



-------------------------

Statistics
87467 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.