Topic Title: 6970 overheating
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/17/2014 01:43 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/17/2014 01:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheFLCLguy
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/26/2010

A friend gave me his 6970 when it started to overheat really badly.

Well the original fan was dead and so was the power pins on the card for the fan.

 

Now I am using fans from my dead 6950 and I have managed to get it mostly cool but temp #2 is still going above 90C.

Understress the temps are,
#1 - 74.5C
#2 - 94.5C
#3 - 81C

I have the GPU clock set at 500MHz, GPU memory clock at 1375MHz, and the voltage at 1.1750V.

I have tried redoing the thermal paste, and bought new thermal pads.

 06/19/2014 03:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheFLCLguy
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/26/2010

No one can help me?

 07/30/2014 04:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheFLCLguy
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/26/2010

These forums are ***** useless, why doesn't anyone know what the ***** is temp #2?

Does no one know?

 07/30/2014 08:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1248
Joined: 01/31/2010

download gpu-z and post the card specs panel and the senson panel

 

 



-------------------------

 07/30/2014 08:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

Supposably they are Core, Memory and Shader temps. At what speeds you are running the fans? You may need to set up a custom fan curve to efficiently cool it down (with MSI Afterburner for example).



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 07/30/2014 10:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1248
Joined: 01/31/2010

if you are using a custom fan profile, set the fans to 100% above 75C for best results

the card can tolerate more, if noise is a problem

 



-------------------------

 08/02/2014 05:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheFLCLguy
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/26/2010

 

Idle

 

Maxed

 

Also the original fan died so I rigged on fans from a dead 6950. And the fans are conected to a 4pin to 2pin +12v adapter, so they are overclocked to hell. I know the risks.

 08/22/2014 10:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheFLCLguy
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/26/2010

Any help?

 08/23/2014 12:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12546
Joined: 04/17/2008

Um, what is the problem here? I see nothing out of expectations for a higher end graphics card. If GPU Temp 2 is the memory temp, then it's just cooled by a barely adequate thermal pad, or thermal tape, between it and the heatsink without any, or with very little, airflow. Of course it could also be a faulty thermal sensor, as any card which is overheating will show artifacts in games due to corrupted data, or outright cause a VPU lockup and recovery, neither of which you are having.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/23/2014 07:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7253
Joined: 11/13/2009

I took these readings playing Wolfenstein N.O. at highest game settings, in CCC fans manual @ 65% and power slider set to +20.  No overclock. GPU #2 is the highest as well. It's the way the card runs. These readings are almost identical to the card when new. Graphics card page has different information than mine in the pixel area...but the rest looks fine to me.  Edit: I noticed your GPU clock is 700 while mine is 940MHz...just curious. My 

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 08/23/2014 at 08:11 PM by stumped
 08/24/2014 10:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheFLCLguy
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/26/2010

Well the real problem is the power for the fans on the card died so I have rigged on fans from my dead 6950.

I do not think it is the memory becuase I replaced the thermal pads with better ones and no change at all. Also when I lower the clock for the mem temp #2 doesn't change at all.

 08/25/2014 08:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1248
Joined: 01/31/2010

Originally posted by: TheFLCLguy A friend gave me his 6970 when it started to overheat really badly.

 

Well the original fan was dead and so was the power pins on the card for the fan.

 

 

 

Now I am using fans from my dead 6950 and I have managed to get it mostly cool but temp #2 is still going above 90C.

 

Understress the temps are, #1 - 74.5C #2 - 94.5C #3 - 81C

 

I have the GPU clock set at 500MHz, GPU memory clock at 1375MHz, and the voltage at 1.1750V.

 

I have tried redoing the thermal paste, and bought new thermal pads.

 

thermal pads are garbage, get some arctic mx-4 and redo the card

video cards are way to hot for low end solutions

 



-------------------------

 08/25/2014 04:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1417
Joined: 07/13/2009

Thermal pads are just fine for VRM's, provided there's some kind of heat sink there (a metal backplate is typically good enough).

 

 08/26/2014 12:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheFLCLguy
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/26/2010

I am using artic silver for the GPU but the memory requires thermal pads as there is a slight gap between them and the heat sink.

Statistics
85741 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.