Topic Title: Replacing HD5850 with R7 Card
Topic Summary: Double-checking specs before making a purchase~
Created On: 03/19/2014 03:19 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/19/2014 03:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
akaBlueKitty
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/19/2014

I've been wanting to replace my HD5850 with an R7 for a while now, and I've been reading over the specs. It all looks good, but I still have doubts it'll run at maximum potential; I've made mistakes with reading specs before and basically had an awful junk PC with a card made of gold shoved inside of it.

I'd like to know if it could handle an R7 260X or anything a bit higher than that.

Processor / Chipset

  • Type Intel Core i7 930 / 2.8 GHz
  • Chipset Type Intel 58H

Cache Memory

  • Installed Size L2 cache - 1.0 MB,
    L3 cache - 8.0 MB

RAM

  • Installed Size 9.0 GB / 12.0 GB (max)
  • Technology DDR3 SDRAM

Hard Drive

  • Capacity 1.5 TB
  • Interface Type Serial ATA

Optical Storage

  • Type BD-ROM / DVD+/-RW combo
  • Read Speed 6x (BD-ROM)

Storage Removable

  • Type None

Power Supply

  • 750W

Graphics Controller

  • Graphics Processor / Vendor ATI Mobility RADEON HD 5850
  • Video Memory 1.0 GB

Audio Output

  • Type Integrated

Expansion / Connectivity

  • Slots Memory - DIMM 240-pin,
    PCI Express x16,
    Memory card reader,
    PCI Express x1
  • Interfaces 1.0 x e-SATA - USB,
    HDMI - RJ-45,
    Audio,
    IEEE 1394 (FireWire),
    PS/2,
    Ethernet,
    DVI-output,
    USB


Edited: 03/19/2014 at 03:26 PM by akaBlueKitty
 03/19/2014 03:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12188
Joined: 04/17/2008

Is this a laptop?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/19/2014 03:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
akaBlueKitty
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/19/2014

No, it's a desktop.

 03/19/2014 04:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7029
Joined: 11/13/2009

I would read all the complaints about the Rseries cards before I spent any money. Probably it is just a driver issue. Probably.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 03/19/2014 04:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
akaBlueKitty
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/19/2014

Would it be better to go with a 7000 series then? Maybe the 7770?
As long as it's a significant and stable upgrade compared to my current one, I'll be happy.

 03/19/2014 04:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12188
Joined: 04/17/2008

What is your intended goal? In otherwords, what games are you wanting to run at what resolution?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/19/2014 04:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
akaBlueKitty
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/19/2014

Not sure if this is a good comparison:

I've just bought Titanfall and I can run most of the graphics on high in 1920x1080 with some decent hits to framerate. As-is, with AA and Anisotropic off and no vert sync, it's running at about 35-40 FPS; I think it could get up to 50 with a bit more power. I also play Skyrim with some heavy graphic mods, but even with mods not clashing with each other and memory-allocation programs set up (CleanMem, for one), the framerate could drip from 30 to 15 in specific cells. With the machine's current operating capacity, I just think it'd do much better all around with a better card.

 03/19/2014 07:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12188
Joined: 04/17/2008

Titanfall is a buggy PC release. Wait for a patch or two.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/19/2014 08:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1149
Joined: 01/31/2010

Originally posted by: black_zion Titanfall is a buggy PC release. Wait for a patch or two.

Game is problematic on Xbox 360, PC with AMD or NVIDIA graphics, and even died on an Xbox One I heard.

Seems to be rushed out way too early

 



-------------------------

Statistics
84121 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.