Topic Title: should i buy AMD R9 290x ?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/20/2014 10:50 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/20/2014 10:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
m1tp2king
Nerfed

Posts: 61
Joined: 02/09/2009

hi. i want to build a totaly new PC. interested in the AMD R9 290x. i read on this forum that many people have issues with the AMD R9 290x. what percentage of us have these bad issues?

the way i think is this. if someone has a perfect experience with the AMD R9 290x then they probably would not be interested in this forum. so maybe the people that visit this forum are the unlucky few who have bad issues. what do you think ?

 i want to play at a high resolution 2560x1440

 



-------------------------

INTEL Q9550 (2.83 quad) | AMD 6970  | 4 GB DDR3 | INTEL motherboard | Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W w0156 | CREATIVE LABS TITANIUM FATAL1TY CHAMPION x-Fi | LOGITECH Z-5500 5.1 | LG M2294A 22 inch screen | WINDOWS 7 64-bit



Edited: 03/20/2014 at 11:14 AM by m1tp2king
 03/20/2014 11:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Agente Silva
Peon

Posts: 23
Joined: 02/26/2014

Eheheh, that is actually true for most posters...

If you are gaming on 1920*1080 resolution probably a R9290X is too much (if any affordability is being considered). If you want to shock-and-wow your friends maxing Crysis 3 and Battlefield 4 and do over 80 FPS you surely wanna go that way...

Anything else below the extreme user (being above enthusiast ) will be achieve with R9280X or even 270X (saving almost 300&euro.



-------------------------
 03/20/2014 11:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TRock
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 01/17/2014

Check the newegg comments. Problems are very common.

 03/20/2014 12:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hammey
Grinding Levels

Posts: 179
Joined: 05/09/2012

Hi well with that Q9550 you will never max out crysis 3 or Battlefield 4 and get 80 FPS no matter what video card you have. So for you with that CPU a R9290X is over kill. If you plan to upgrade the cpu and motherboard in the future then the R9290X makes sence.

-------------------------
MSI Mpower Max, I7-4770K, MSI GTX 780 Lightning, G.SKILL Trident X Series 16GB DDR3-2400, 2X Kingston HyperX 3K 480GB , 1Tb Raptor, Creative ZXR Sound, 1000 watt Coolermaster Single 80 amp Rail, G700s Mouse, Z5500 Speakers
 03/20/2014 01:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1006
Joined: 11/22/2010

You are most definitely looking towards a cpu/motherboard upgrade if you wish to use a r9 290x, preferrably with at least 8gb cl9 1866mhz ddr3 ram as well. Even with a high end i5/i7 you will STILL be slightly bottlenecked which can be resolved by overclocking them.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 03/20/2014 11:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TRock
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 01/17/2014

Even if you have enough CPU, i don't see a reason to buy a well known problematic GPU .

R290, Black Screen , BSOD problems are well known and common. AMD doesn't provide the support you pay for. Why would you consider buying a R9 290x in the first place?

 03/21/2014 11:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12249
Joined: 04/17/2008

Many times problems are caused by the user...

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/21/2014 03:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hammey
Grinding Levels

Posts: 179
Joined: 05/09/2012

Hi last I heard AMD does not make those cards support comes from what ever brand of card you bought.

-------------------------
MSI Mpower Max, I7-4770K, MSI GTX 780 Lightning, G.SKILL Trident X Series 16GB DDR3-2400, 2X Kingston HyperX 3K 480GB , 1Tb Raptor, Creative ZXR Sound, 1000 watt Coolermaster Single 80 amp Rail, G700s Mouse, Z5500 Speakers
 03/21/2014 07:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TRock
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 01/17/2014

Can you inform us how the problems are caused by the users?

Many times, the user just replace the card with a Nvidia 780 or the card is RMA ,replaced , and all problems are gone. Same user, same computer , the only chaning component is the R290 .

 

Also brands doesnt provide the proper support either. i

 03/21/2014 07:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12249
Joined: 04/17/2008

The board partners make the cards, how can they not provide support?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/21/2014 08:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1156
Joined: 01/31/2010

lets see, crysis 1 came out how many years ago?  Crysis was released November 13, 2007 by Electronic Arts.

When did AMD start providing support for ambient occlusion in their drivers?

NVIDIA did not do so for many years after Crysis 1 and other games that use ambient occlusion or one of its variants.

 



-------------------------

 03/21/2014 08:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TRock
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 01/17/2014

Well , they don't provide proper support in some (many ) cases.

You maybe getting random black screens and they may claim that the card is working fine.  Your hands are tied, only solution is to get a legal action which is too much trouble.

Since these Black screen problems are very common, both the board partners and AMD must have information about the problem. They should inform the Auth Tech Services about it. Also they should make a statement about the problem , then we would know if we should RMA the cards or not.

 

They could solve this problem more professionally.  insisting that its a user error is not what a serious company would do.

 03/22/2014 11:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hammey
Grinding Levels

Posts: 179
Joined: 05/09/2012

Hi I do not see where the idea of it is users fault came from. If you look in the release notes on the 31.12 drivers it tells you.  May resolve intermittent black screens or display loss observed on some AMD Radeontm R9 290X and AMD Radeon R9 290 graphics cards. So it does seem as if AMD is aware of the issue and is working on it.

-------------------------
MSI Mpower Max, I7-4770K, MSI GTX 780 Lightning, G.SKILL Trident X Series 16GB DDR3-2400, 2X Kingston HyperX 3K 480GB , 1Tb Raptor, Creative ZXR Sound, 1000 watt Coolermaster Single 80 amp Rail, G700s Mouse, Z5500 Speakers
 03/22/2014 06:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TRock
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 01/17/2014

The problem is , these cards has been in the sale for almost 5 months. Any major issue should have been solved by now.

 

A serious company can't sell a nunfunctioning hardware , and expect users to wait until they solve these problems in some uncertain future.

 03/22/2014 07:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12249
Joined: 04/17/2008

Are you here just to complain TRock?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/22/2014 09:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TRock
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 01/17/2014

No , i am here to thank them for selling me a $500 brick?????

 

And why are you even here? Since you claim that its a user error. You could just tell us the solution , and you would be helping thousands of users.

 03/22/2014 10:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12249
Joined: 04/17/2008

I said "Many times problems are caused by the user...", not all the time. And what of the thousands of people who bought 290 and 290X cards who never experienced issues? Same with the HD 7000 series users who did not have the "huge mouse cursor" issue (I didn't)? Somebody else should not buy a 290 or 290X card because YOU had problems?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/22/2014 10:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TRock
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 01/17/2014

Why don't you tell us the solution since you know????

 

The problem isnt that i had problems with the card. The problem is the erros are very common and there maybe a solution or you may end up with a brick. Since AMD doesnt admit the error, you may not be able to RMA the card. Now , do you understand????

Microsoft had a  red ring of death  problem with XBox 360. They didn't insist that its a user error, they just admitted the fault and replaced the users machine. See the difference???? this is what a company should do.

Just check the newegg comments , and see how common they are .

 

So , question is "should is buy a AMD R9 290?" . And  we are here to help the other users (i hope you are not here to help AMD?????) . Then the answer is NO!. Why would you unless you like being ripped off or something ?



Edited: 03/22/2014 at 10:53 PM by TRock
 03/22/2014 11:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12249
Joined: 04/17/2008

And I would say YES he should buy a R9 290 because there are many people who do not have this issue.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/22/2014 11:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TRock
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 01/17/2014

Since this is a very weird logic, there is no point to argue further.

Maybe you should invest all your money in the lottery, since some people win the lottery?????

@m1tp2king , if Microsoft didn't admit that there is a red ring of death  problem, and claimed that its a user error, would you buy Xbox 360???? Think, some user dont have the problem, you can be one of those lucky ones????

R290 is a decent gpu , with a decent performance, and excellent p/f. why do you think it has only 3 stars on Newegg? some users keep getting black screens even after the second, third card. And they switch to something else , problems are gone.

 

Yes you can buy a R290X , and waste your time trying to find a solution to the problems someone else is responsible for , or you can buy something that is known to be stable , and play your games . The choice is yours.

 

Check the newegg reviews.

http://tinyurl.com/mes7ow5

Statistics
84308 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.