Topic Title: Fan 100% on HD 6870 with manual control not working
Topic Summary: Fan 100% on HD 6870 with manual control not working
Created On: 03/24/2014 08:46 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/24/2014 08:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zepiwane
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 03/24/2014

Hi,

I'm having issues with with HD 6870. The fan is blocked at 100% all the time since 2 weeks and i don't know why.

I've tried to :

- uninstall CCC and reinstall it

- uninstall CCC and reinstall an old version

- uninstall CCC and install the most rescent version (not beta)

- install CCC OVER the current installation with the current version, the old and the new version (not a t the same time uh)

- reboot my computer. BTW i reboot everytime i install/uninstall

Nothing change the fact that my GC fan is 100%.

When i use CCC with overdrive to take manual control of it, the fan is still 100% no mater what value i give. What is also weird is that in this window (overdrive), below the fan picture the speed is 28%, but i can tell with the noise, that this is 100% for sure. It's like what is shown is the order (28%) but not the mesured fan speed.

What can i add ? Activity is 0%, GPU clock is 100Mhz, MEM clock s 150MHz, Temp is 44°C.

Either overdrice checkbox is ckecked or not doesn't affect anything (of course i apply changes every times).

I also tried to plug my GC to another port (i have 2 on my motherboard) but still the same. I unistalled CCC and reinstalled it after port changing too.

Regarding my system, it's windows 7 64bits, system on SSD, i5-2600k, 8Go RAM.

 

I search the web for answers but couln't find any that works (all i tried is listed up there).

First i thought it was a faulty/burnt component but the card exam showed nothing. I thought of that because my 1year old son had fun with the reset button of my computer while playing video games and i know how bad it can be for componants.

Not to make it harder to find, but sometimes, the fan goes down to 20% as it used to be. Like it's working for a few minutes/seconds, and then it goes again 100%. The interesting fact is that during this "working period", i can change the fan speed manually via the CCC overdrive window and it works.

Unfortunally i don't have another compoter to test it on. I don't know what else to do. Do you guys have any suggestions ?

Thx for your help and congrats if u read all that.

 03/29/2014 09:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zepiwane
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 03/24/2014

up

 04/09/2014 06:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zepiwane
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 03/24/2014

up

 04/10/2014 02:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 839
Joined: 01/05/2013

Have you removed the card and reseated it in its PCI-e slot?  No information given on motherboard...does it have another slot you can try it in?  Are the card blades very clean? 

Check to see if "VDD PCIe Voltage" or similar is set to AUTO in your BIOS.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/10/2014 03:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zepiwane
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 03/24/2014

Yeah i've tried that.

I also tried to plug my GC to another port (pci-e slot)(i have 2 on my motherboard) but still the same. I unistalled CCC and reinstalled it after port changing too.

VCCSA and VCCIO are set to auto and this is the only VCC* shown, but i think those 2 are not related to GPU.

By the way, the EPU on my motherboard (Energy Processing Unit) seems not to affect anything regarding the GC as nothing changes whether it's on or off.

 04/10/2014 11:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 839
Joined: 01/05/2013

Why have you NOT told us what your motherboard IS ??



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/10/2014 02:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zepiwane
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 03/24/2014

Because I didn't know i had to..

P8P67 from ASUSTeK Computer INC.

http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/P8P67_PRO_REV_31/

 04/10/2014 03:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 295
Joined: 09/16/2012

I see that your card with 0 activity and fan running at 100% is at 44c tells me there's something wrong, either the cards heatsink is plugged with dust or your psu is crapping out wich can couse the card to overheat.

 

 

What make of 6870 do you have?  (HIS, Asus, Sapphire)

Are you having any other problems with the card?

 



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.



Edited: 04/10/2014 at 04:37 PM by Slayerx
 04/11/2014 12:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 839
Joined: 01/05/2013

SlayerX could have a good point...

 

Have you BIOS version 3602?



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/11/2014 07:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zepiwane
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 03/24/2014

I've completly cleaned the card, there is no dust on or in it. The heat is ok for me as the air temperature is around 24°C. It might explain why it can't cool down lower (if it was 18°C, the card would be around 38°C wich is ok i guess). Plus the computer is in a corner (10cm from walls) but i'm not sure it matters.

The temperature have always been like that, maybe 20 or 30 degrees more when i play 1080p games like Assisin's Creed 4 or so. Never had any other problem with the card ever.

Technically, the card is functionning great, the issue is with the fan nay the fan controller.

Regarding the card : SAPPHIRE RADEON HD 6870 1GO

 

Informations from CCC :

Fabricant de la carte graphique: Powered by AMD

Version du BIOS: 013.012.000.019

Référence du BIOS: 113-3E17420-S4I

Date du BIOS 2011/06/19

Taille de la mémoire 1024 Mo

Type de mémoire GDDR5

Puissance du processeur en MHz 900 MHz

Puissance de la mémoire en MHz 1050 MHz

Bande passante mémoire totale en Goctet/s 134,4 Goctet/s

The BIOS number is different from the one you provide. So you might be talking about the motherboard BIOS, wich is 3301 (05/14/2012).


Edited: 04/11/2014 at 08:08 AM by zepiwane
 04/11/2014 08:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zepiwane
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 03/24/2014

OK. So i've upgraded to 3602 and the problem remains the same.

 04/11/2014 08:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zepiwane
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 03/24/2014

I also notice that the fan goes 100% since the computer powers on, not when the OS is up.

 04/11/2014 11:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 839
Joined: 01/05/2013

Once had a 5000 series card do that at startup, then it would lower rpm.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/11/2014 03:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zepiwane
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 03/24/2014

Great for you but not the case here.

 04/11/2014 03:19 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13066
Joined: 04/17/2008

If it just started out of the blue then I would suspect some sort of hardware failure. Does it also happen with MSI Afterburner? I've seen where some are complaining about the 14.3 driver set messing up fan speed control.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 04/11/2014 05:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zepiwane
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 03/24/2014

I already tried, and just retried with MSI AfterBurner : no change at all.

Results :

Change over Fan speed does't do anything but changing the displayed fan speed, RPM (and the noise) is true.

GPU Temp : 42°C

GPU usage : 0% with some pics around 10

Fan Speed : 20%

Fan tachometer : 3620 RPM

Core clock : 100 MHz

Memory clock : 150 MHz

Memory usage : 206 MB

 

So by those results i can tell there is an issue with the fan as it says it's around 20% but the tachometer reveals it's max RPM (+3600). So yeah, maybe a hardware problem. But i want to be sure there is no other option before deciding to change the card (because the noise is really to loud 24/7).

Thx for your help.

 04/11/2014 11:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 839
Joined: 01/05/2013

Would install previous drivers until a version no longer caused the issue to manifest itself.  If no solution, the fan controller on the card may be malfunctioning/voltage issue...

Your card sells for under $200USD and you would most likely benefit from replacing it with a two or three generations newer card.

You may find these links of interest:

http://www.arctic.ac/us_en/products/cooling/vga/accelero-twin-turbo-ii.html

http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/96352/sapphire-hd6870-1024-101228.html

 



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/13/2014 09:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zepiwane
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 03/24/2014

I'v tried to go back to previous drivers, up to 4 generations, but still the same.

Your links are interesting. I downloaded the rom to try it, but never flashed GC rom before. I assume i must save the current one before flashing etc. Do you know a god software to do it ? I didn't see any options about that in CCC.

Also, replacing the fan might not work. I mean if the controller is the issue, the new fan will go 100% too right ?

Maybe i should save my money to buy another card soon, like r9 280X or GTX 760.

 04/13/2014 11:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 839
Joined: 01/05/2013

That is your best and SAFEST option.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/13/2014 11:54 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13066
Joined: 04/17/2008

AMD cards are starting to come back down now that the Cryptocraze is over, and I see several R9 280X on eBay sold for $250 or less, and several HD 7970s (same card as the 280X but with slightly lower stock clocks) for under $200.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
88741 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 11 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.