Topic Title: Flickering/Artefacts powercolor 7970
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/27/2014 07:52 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/27/2014 07:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xxxseerxxx
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/27/2014

Hello all, 

 

i keep gettin artefacts (Amerias Army Proving Grounds ARMA I + II, Crysis 3) with my Radeon 7970 @ clock speed / temp. seems to doesnt matter, sometimes @ 50 ° C sometimes between 60 - 70°. If i switch to desktop (when the artefacts appear) and back the artefacts are gone for some time but they reappear after a while (alt+tab not fixing the artefacts on crysis 3). Tried different drivers , problem exist`s with evry of them. ATM im on the latest Driver 13.251-131206a-166389C.

My System specs are in the go file attached. 

I Had to RMA my first card because of a bad mounted fan so the GPU temps been way`s to high. Now with my second card im getting these artefacts and just want to make sure if i have to RMA the card again :/

Kind Regards

Seer  

PS File Upload not working so here are my specs: 

i 3570k @ 3,4

LG IPS 235 connected via DVI 

WIN 7 64 bit SP 1 Build 7601

Gigabyte / z77xD3H Bios F 16 (tried also a beta bios -> same artefacts)

8 GB Corsair Venegance Low Profile 

Be Quiet straight Power BQT e9 CM 480 W 80+ Gold 



-------------------------

i5 3570 k @ 3,4 / Gigabyte z77x d3h / 8 GB Corsair Vengeance Low profile / Powercolor 7970 v3 / Barracuda 1 TB / Sasmung ssd 850 120 GB / LG GH42NS / Corsair Vengeance k 90 / RAT 5 / Asus USB N13 / Asus U7 / beQuiet BQT E9 CM 480 W 80+ gold / Win 7 Home Premium 64 Bit 



Edited: 03/27/2014 at 10:22 AM by xxxseerxxx
 03/28/2014 04:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
goodplay
Master Looter

Posts: 400
Joined: 08/21/2011

Power supply insufficient,see Manufacturers requirements.

And buy a good quality psu(not a no name that is sold as 600 ,but really only 450).

Should also ad that my current set up (card not o.c.'d(yet)) pulls 531w at peak in crysis3.

So,if you want to go hard now /in the future upgrade 750+(5/7 year warranty).



-------------------------

i5 3570k(@4.5)./ga-z77x-ud5h-wb./hyper T4./2 x 4gb vengeance 1600 c8./sapphire dualX 7970 3gb OC boost v2./1tb WD FAEX Black./lg bh10 blu-ray r.w../corsair hx850./antec df30./z506 spkrs./lg e2240v./win 8(8.1) pro x64 (oem disc)



Edited: 03/28/2014 at 05:13 AM by goodplay
 04/06/2014 12:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xxxseerxxx
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/27/2014

thx 4 that info. 

I´m just wondering (cause my psu aint the badest one and it should be able to handle ~ 550W - seen many similiar setups like mine in different gaming forums with that psu + 7970 with no artefacting- some of them OC`ing too) that i got no problems (artefacting or shutting down etc.) with all the different stress test`s i tried so far. Any tips to pinpoint that its really psu caused ? 

cheers 



-------------------------

i5 3570 k @ 3,4 / Gigabyte z77x d3h / 8 GB Corsair Vengeance Low profile / Powercolor 7970 v3 / Barracuda 1 TB / Sasmung ssd 850 120 GB / LG GH42NS / Corsair Vengeance k 90 / RAT 5 / Asus USB N13 / Asus U7 / beQuiet BQT E9 CM 480 W 80+ gold / Win 7 Home Premium 64 Bit 

 04/07/2014 12:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 796
Joined: 01/05/2013

forums.atomicmpc.com.au/index.php?showtopic=264

Go to "graphs"...newer versions available, but just use as a general reference.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/07/2014 07:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xxxseerxxx
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/27/2014

Originally posted by: UcouldBrong forums.atomicmpc.com.au/index.php?showtopic=264

 

Go to "graphs"...newer versions available, but just use as a general reference.

 

thx, according to this guide my system should draw max 490 to 500 Watts at peak  with my config. My psu supports up to 550 W and seems to be a quality one , that`s why im somehow not convinced the artifacts are caused by a "to bad psu". 



-------------------------

i5 3570 k @ 3,4 / Gigabyte z77x d3h / 8 GB Corsair Vengeance Low profile / Powercolor 7970 v3 / Barracuda 1 TB / Sasmung ssd 850 120 GB / LG GH42NS / Corsair Vengeance k 90 / RAT 5 / Asus USB N13 / Asus U7 / beQuiet BQT E9 CM 480 W 80+ gold / Win 7 Home Premium 64 Bit 

 04/07/2014 08:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 796
Joined: 01/05/2013

Truedat.  Could be less or more efficient than you think (spec says "480W").  Always build for reserve extra power.

 

 



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/07/2014 09:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1152
Joined: 01/31/2010

I went for the top 850W model of the TX line so that I would have the most headroom for overclocking or using dual graphics or both.

The TX650 is good for a single slot box, it has enough current for even extreme gaming cards.

the newer RM650 is reasonable

 



-------------------------

 04/08/2014 06:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
goodplay
Master Looter

Posts: 400
Joined: 08/21/2011

My psu supports up to 550 W and seems to be a quality one , that`s why im somehow not convinced the artifacts are caused by a "to bad psu". 

 

Where did you get 550w from.from reviews that i read ,yes is can peak up to 550,but that does not mean it can run continously at that.

It has 4 x12v rails @18amp ea.((457w?)I think spec also mention A&B rails for CPU/Graphics).

You did not say what your game settings were(ultra/high....etc.).

Two ways to test if psu issue:-lower all game settings to minimum(see how it runs,then gradually increase settings until you get artifacts),or,borrow a 550-650w psu,and see what happens.

Third option is to put your card in a friends machine who has a quality 550w+ psu.



-------------------------

i5 3570k(@4.5)./ga-z77x-ud5h-wb./hyper T4./2 x 4gb vengeance 1600 c8./sapphire dualX 7970 3gb OC boost v2./1tb WD FAEX Black./lg bh10 blu-ray r.w../corsair hx850./antec df30./z506 spkrs./lg e2240v./win 8(8.1) pro x64 (oem disc)

 04/08/2014 12:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 796
Joined: 01/05/2013

Fourth option:  Buy a  850, 1000 or 1200w power supply and be done with this issue...forever.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/22/2014 08:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xxxseerxxx
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/27/2014

Thx for the input. Game settings was on highest settings on all games. As i dont got the option to test the card in a friends pc with a better psu ill try lower the settings and see if it helps (Problem occurs sometimes after 15 mins. the other time i can play for 5-6 hours or even some days till artefacts appear, made a short fraps vid yesterday on Amercias Army Proving grounds Gpu Temp was on 65C). I also contacted Be Quiet, will report what they say. So best option will be to buy a ~850 Watt quality psu and if artefacts then still appear to rma the card?



-------------------------

i5 3570 k @ 3,4 / Gigabyte z77x d3h / 8 GB Corsair Vengeance Low profile / Powercolor 7970 v3 / Barracuda 1 TB / Sasmung ssd 850 120 GB / LG GH42NS / Corsair Vengeance k 90 / RAT 5 / Asus USB N13 / Asus U7 / beQuiet BQT E9 CM 480 W 80+ gold / Win 7 Home Premium 64 Bit 

 04/22/2014 05:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 796
Joined: 01/05/2013

If you have tried overclocking/underclocking, voltage and Power Management settings and other exhaustive troubleshooting...



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/23/2014 09:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xxxseerxxx
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/27/2014

Didn`t wanted to over/under - Clock/Volt because of possible Warranty Issues (+ im an OC - Noob). What u mean with Power Managment (Power Target?) or other exhaustive Troubleshooting?. I really like the card und just try to get it to run @ standard clock speed w/o this artefacting. So far i tried different drivers (14,2 Beta atm) flashed different Mainboard Bioses, played with the Fan Speed of the Card, tried several different games (dx9/dx11) reinstalled DX and read loads of forums to come to a solution but nothing helped so far. Im Glad that u all are trying to help

So If it`s really the PSU (didnt get a reply so far from beQuiet - i just found some info in gaming forums from users with a similar setup like mine with the same PSU i got atm and they seem to dont have this artefacting) i dont mind to buy a better one. I Just dont want to get a new psu an then possibly still have the same issue.  



-------------------------

i5 3570 k @ 3,4 / Gigabyte z77x d3h / 8 GB Corsair Vengeance Low profile / Powercolor 7970 v3 / Barracuda 1 TB / Sasmung ssd 850 120 GB / LG GH42NS / Corsair Vengeance k 90 / RAT 5 / Asus USB N13 / Asus U7 / beQuiet BQT E9 CM 480 W 80+ gold / Win 7 Home Premium 64 Bit 



Edited: 04/23/2014 at 11:19 AM by xxxseerxxx
 04/24/2014 05:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
goodplay
Master Looter

Posts: 400
Joined: 08/21/2011

Windows power options(balanced /power saving/performance/custom),check them out.But,still going with low 4 rail psu.



-------------------------

i5 3570k(@4.5)./ga-z77x-ud5h-wb./hyper T4./2 x 4gb vengeance 1600 c8./sapphire dualX 7970 3gb OC boost v2./1tb WD FAEX Black./lg bh10 blu-ray r.w../corsair hx850./antec df30./z506 spkrs./lg e2240v./win 8(8.1) pro x64 (oem disc)



Edited: 04/24/2014 at 06:03 AM by goodplay
Statistics
84249 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.