Topic Title: R9 270 graphic artifacts
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/06/2014 10:19 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/06/2014 10:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fatori1
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/06/2014

Hey fellas,


I bought a
Sapphire R9 270 2GB Dual-X OC with BOOST while ago and it started causing random artifacts in games. I first noticed it in GuildWars 2, but it also happend in FIFA14(very rare), RIFT(rare), wildstar beta, ESO beta. Im using it @ stock clocks.

I changed 3 different driver versions (13.10/13.12/14.1) but nothing...

Also I try underclocking/undervoltaging my card but it didnt worked

After this i sent it back to the retailer to check it. After two days they said me the card was OK.

Now I just dont know what to do to fix this problem.

http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=2w7qset&s=8#.U0IKiVdZ2ZQ

 

CPU: Intel i5-2500@3.3GHz

MoBo: Gigabyte H61M-D2-B3

RAM: 6GB

PSU: iMemory DR-8500BTX (500W)

OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
13.12 (currently used)

13.10

14.1

 

 04/06/2014 10:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7253
Joined: 11/13/2009

The card requires a 500watt power supply minimum. Can you borrow a PS, or put the card in a computer that has a 600watt or above?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 04/07/2014 12:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fatori1
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/06/2014

That's what im trying to do but I still havent find another PSU to borrow. Also I don't want to spend +50-60$ for a new psu if this doesn't solve my problem :S

Thx for the help anyway



Edited: 04/07/2014 at 08:47 PM by fatori1
 04/08/2014 12:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 805
Joined: 01/05/2013

Buy a much better psu...you need it or will soon need it, anyway.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/08/2014 05:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fatori1
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/06/2014

Will this solve my problem for sure?

 04/08/2014 05:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 805
Joined: 01/05/2013

It will certainly solve your low power supply problem.  You could ask your local computer repair store if you could rent or borrow one.  You have a $50-60  motherboard...you could consider upgrading that, too.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/09/2014 07:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fatori1
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/06/2014

You miss the point, I want to fix graphic artifacts in games, not update my whole rig(I cant afford it anyway). If this being caused by low power supply I will definitely buy a new psu, but not before Im totally sure this is the reason of artifacts.

 04/10/2014 02:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 805
Joined: 01/05/2013

Even IF you have enough watts from your psu...it could be a voltage issue with it.

Go into BIOS...find Hardware Monitor or System Monitor or PC Health Status or similar wording.  Look for output reading on "+12V".

If it is NOT in 11.4 to 12.60 (approximately) voltage range...you could have a cause of the artifacts.

No mention of gpu temperatures...what are they?

Get OC Scanner.  Test your graphic card.

Use Memtest86+ V=4.20 to eliminate possible memory errors or bad slot/memory controller.

Don't often "miss the point"...YOU do the work.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/10/2014 01:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fatori1
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/06/2014

Apo.logies, my fault I didn't mention these details from the start. I wouldn't mean to offend you.

  • "+12V" is at 12.025V 
  • gpu temps never exceeded 67C (neither other hardware)
  • I did test with various benchmarks(OC Scanner, 3DMark, Furmark, OCCT, Heaven). They didn't show anything
  • No error from Memtest86+ V4.20


Edited: 04/10/2014 at 02:21 PM by fatori1
 04/10/2014 02:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1252
Joined: 01/31/2010

maybe its time for a fresh install of Windows

I also am more aware that a low end PSU is not such a good idea, they overstate capacity and they tend to degrade more quickly

I use an 850W PSU after noticing that select video cards need 400+ W each.

The R9 295X for example is reputed to want close to 500W of power cranked up, three 8-pin PCIe connectors are needed

 

 

 



-------------------------

 04/10/2014 02:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fatori1
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/06/2014

I did a fresh install when I bought the card.

As the time pa.sses I tend to agree with the "low power supply" theory. I know I have to change my PSU anyway but Im still paying for my card so its hard for me to buy it now. Also I will be very disappointed if this change doesn't solve my problem.

 04/10/2014 05:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 280
Joined: 09/16/2012

I've noticed with my 280X that it dose NOT like going past 60c. Now its only done this once but I started getting artifacts on WOT set on maximim so I checked the gpu temp and it was hitting 65c. CCC was only bumping the fan speed up to 30%.

So now I use HIS's iturbo to control the fan speed and I've haven't had any artifacts since.

Anyhow try setting the fan control to manual to try to keep the temp under 60c and see if that helps.

As for your psu I would replace it as soon as posible even if setting the fan control fixes the problem a bad psu can kill your new card real fast.

 

Good luck



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 04/10/2014 06:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fatori1
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/06/2014

I dont think 65C are capable of making artifacts..actually is a good temp when gpu is under load. Anyway, I will replace my PSU asap and I hope it will solve my problem.

Thanks

 04/11/2014 12:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 805
Joined: 01/05/2013

WHEN you can afford it...throw a little more RAM onto your mobo, too.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 05/02/2014 05:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fatori1
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/06/2014

UPDATE: I replaced my old 500W psu with a Thermaltake Toughpower 700W but it didn't solve my problem

 05/02/2014 05:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1252
Joined: 01/31/2010

see this page and the pics shown

 



-------------------------

 05/02/2014 06:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fatori1
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/06/2014

As I don't have thermal problems, I can't see how this helps me.



Edited: 05/05/2014 at 07:32 PM by fatori1
Statistics
85760 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.