Topic Title: Low HD7870 perfomance
Topic Summary: Low HD7870 perfomance in games and low gpu usage
Created On: 04/20/2014 11:45 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/20/2014 11:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
juansf24
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/20/2014

Hello!

I recently bought a AMD Radeon HD7870, and when I play I get FPS drops in every game, the temperatures are normal, CPU load at 70ºC and GPU load at 60ºC.......:

Combat Arms: 90fps drops to 40fps-----ultra settings at res 1280*1024

Metro Last Light: 25fps drops to 15fps (unplayable)-----ultra settings at res 1280*1024

Crysis 3: 65fps drops to 25fps-----ultra settings at res 1280*1024

I'm very unhappy with this situation , need your help!!

Here's my pc specs:

GPU: AMD Radeon HD7870 2GB with Catalyst 13.12

OS: Windows 7 64bits

Motherboard: ECS8200a Black Edition (PCIe 2.0 Slot)

Bios: v1.0

CPU: AMD Athlon II x4 2.6GHz

RAM: 6 GB DDR2 800MHz

HDD: SATA Western Digital 320GB

PSU: Superflower SF-750P14P 750W 55A

Screen: Benq 17'' 1280*1024

Thanks for reading!!

 04/21/2014 01:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 801
Joined: 01/05/2013

GPU temp is good...CPU too hot.  Increase cooling.

That's a 2008 low spec motherboard by today's standards.  You are using only DDR2 800 RAM and not much of it.

Check for BIOS updates...(6.47??)

Look for any and all "Power Management" tabs (Windows, CCC, etc.) and set to High Performance.

You can try to overclock the Athlon 620 quite a bit by boosting the HT Link...far as I know that chip has a locked multiplier. Remember, you'll need increased voltage settings.  Need more cooling awareness to offset increased heating.

Increase clocks a bit and fans on your 7870.

Could be that your cpu is throttling down performance as it heats up.  Crysis 3 can kill machines!

Be sure to read tfm.

Read Windows 7 Optimization Guide to free up load on your cpu.

 

 



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.



Edited: 04/21/2014 at 01:14 AM by UcouldBrong
 04/21/2014 01:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 882
Joined: 09/11/2008

If i had to make a guess,running a 5 yr old CPU with that GPU you probably have a CPU bottleneck.Try O/Cing it and see if that helps at all.

Maximum operating temperature 55°C - 71°C

 

 

http://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu.php?cpu=AMD+Athlon+II+X4+620

here's an old review on it:

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/Athlon_II_X4_620/



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 04/21/2014 08:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12453
Joined: 04/17/2008

Agreed with Earnhardt, a 2.6ghz processor is way to slow for the heavily CPU limited resolution of 1280x1024, and the HD 7870 is overkill for 1280x1024 as well. Not to mention that that board is nVidia GeForce based so make sure you have the latest chipset drivers from them.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 04/21/2014 12:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 801
Joined: 01/05/2013

It has been difficult, but am slowly coming to the same conclusion....ohhhh...wait...



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/21/2014 04:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
juansf24
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/20/2014

Thanks for your answers!!

So, when cpu overheat, lose perfomance right???? I will buy and aftermarket cooler and some fans for fix that!!

I will overclock the cpu, but I have considered buying a more recent motherboard, for the DDR3 memory and Crossfire....so what do you recommend?

1. Buy a new motherboard, and overclock my amd athlon (I will buy a new processor later ).

or

2. Buy AM3 processor like Phenom II 965 x4.

And other question, I saw on the motherboard that interested me, the MSI  970A, wich supports Athlon II, Phenom II, FX, etc, (It's AM3+), can I use my Athlon II??

In my cpu manual says that Athlon II works in a AM2+/AM3 socket...

Thanks again!!!!!

 04/21/2014 04:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 801
Joined: 01/05/2013

Liquid cooling is quieter and better cooling method. 

Get a 990 motherboard.  You may consider a board that is compatible with today's processors or compatible with the near future models. 

If you go Phenom...may as well get the 980...much better than 965.  Very good processors, however boards compatible with these will most likely not be compatible with newest AMD offerings.

Yay...you read tfm!



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/21/2014 04:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12453
Joined: 04/17/2008

I would say that with AMD due to finally move into this decade with a new socket and chipset with native support for USB 3.0, PCIe 3.0, among other things, I would get something like the Corsair H60 or H80i as all indications are that the new socket, Socket AM1, will use the same secure retention clip mounting system they have used since Socket AM2 (and Socket 939 as well if I remember correctly) so you can use it for future upgrades.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 04/22/2014 12:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 801
Joined: 01/05/2013

If you have room in your case, get a 240mm cooler with push/pull and be done with it for 3-5 years.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

Statistics
85319 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.