Topic Title: switching from one AMD card to another
Topic Summary: AMD radeon 6950 to a Sapphire R9 270x
Created On: 04/21/2014 08:07 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/21/2014 08:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Roachmaan
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/21/2014

Hello there AMD,

I'm sure this kind of question is always asked but I'd apprecaite some help. I'm replacing my AMD radeon 6950 with a Sapphire R9 270x, I know how to install the new card but before I do I'd like some clarification on the drivers side of things.

Should I uninstall my current Catalyst center and then Install the new drivers from the sapphire website? I'm abit weary of doing this because I am not able to activate my onboard graphics for some reason and dont want to be left with a blank screen! I've downloaded the Sapphire drivers already, can I install them while using the 6950 and simply swap cards? Any help with these questions would be greatly appreciated.

Regards
Steve

 04/21/2014 09:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
robkarp
Nerfed

Posts: 65
Joined: 04/26/2010

You have to completely remove the old driver before installing your new card.  Use Control Panel and Express Uninstall then follow up with Driver Sweeper in safe mode to be sure the old driver is totally gone.  I would download the 13.2 driver from AMD and not use the Sapphire driver.  I speak to all of this from personal experience.  I once tried upgrading my card without totally removing the old driver and I can assure you, you will not enjoy what happens when you do that!



-------------------------
Rampage IV Formula; 3930K @ 4.4GHz; 16Gb Corsair Vengeance RAM @ 1866; Sapphire HD 7970 x2; Corsair AX1200 PSU
 04/21/2014 12:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 839
Joined: 01/05/2013

You'll still have your desktop even with the drivers removed.

If you have not purchased the new card, yet...more benefit will be realized if you make a bigger jump in card performance ability than from 6950 to 270.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/21/2014 12:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Roachmaan
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/21/2014

Ok great thanks for the responses so once I've removed the old drivers I will install the new drivers from AMD for the 270 and then install the new card, is that the correct way to go?

 04/21/2014 01:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 839
Joined: 01/05/2013

Yes, as previously noted, but either sequence order will work.  Personal recommendation from long experience is to use Driver Fusion (supercedes Driver Sweeper) after uninstall in Control Panel>Programs to remove any traces of the old drivers and then installing new drivers.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.



Edited: 04/21/2014 at 01:15 PM by UcouldBrong
 04/21/2014 04:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
robkarp
Nerfed

Posts: 65
Joined: 04/26/2010

Install the card after you remove the old drivers but before installing the new drivers.  You can't install the new drivers before you install the card; the catalyst software won't detect your new card because it won't be there!



-------------------------
Rampage IV Formula; 3930K @ 4.4GHz; 16Gb Corsair Vengeance RAM @ 1866; Sapphire HD 7970 x2; Corsair AX1200 PSU
 04/21/2014 04:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 839
Joined: 01/05/2013

 

Agree with that.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.



Edited: 04/21/2014 at 04:52 PM by UcouldBrong
 04/21/2014 05:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13080
Joined: 04/17/2008

A simple removal of drivers via Programs and Features would have been sufficient.

Also, don't expect a HUGE increase in performance, the 270x is only at best 17% faster than your 6950.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 04/21/2014 05:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 839
Joined: 01/05/2013

Agree with that way of saying the same thing.  17% could be generous...



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/21/2014 05:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7855
Joined: 11/13/2009

Ok...lets all agree. cha-ching



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 04/21/2014 06:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13080
Joined: 04/17/2008



-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 04/22/2014 01:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Roachmaan
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/21/2014

Guys thanks for the support on this, I was expecting a high increase in performance than that, the 270x i'm getting is the 4gb version but my main reason for the upgrade is that the 6950 i have is the xfx version which only has one fan which gets louder than I'd like on full load, I'm hoping the two larger fans on the 270x running slightly slower will make a sizeable difference. One other thing I'm planning on removing installing drivers in safe mode is that preferable?

 04/22/2014 04:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13080
Joined: 04/17/2008

It doesn't matter since you're not switching from Radeon to GeForce or vice versa.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
89052 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.