Topic Title: HD 7850 1024MB vs HD 7850 2048MB
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/21/2014 12:23 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/21/2014 12:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1149
Joined: 01/31/2010

scanning eBay for HD 7850 I noticed 2 versions with varying VRAM.

I have a GTX 660 Ti now with 2048MB VRAM and some games do take advantage.

is this card an example of competitve pressure with the 1024MB version?

 



-------------------------

 04/21/2014 12:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 795
Joined: 01/05/2013

More VRAM allows the card to access a larger amount of data at any given time allowing higher resolutions and settings.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/21/2014 12:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1149
Joined: 01/31/2010

this GPU is the desktop equivalent of the PS4, the Xbox One is the HD 7790.

my GTX 660 Ti is available in the lower cost 2048MB version like I have or with 3072MB

the more powerful cards now have 3GB of VRAM which makes more sense with a 64-bit gaming rig

given my observation with games like Rage, the 2048MB version seems like the card of choice for the HD 7850

makes CFX a tad more expensive too

 



-------------------------

 04/21/2014 01:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 795
Joined: 01/05/2013

Opt for the larger VRAM.

In CrossfireX the VRAM is NOT cu mulative...two cards at 1, 2 or 3GB gives you 1, 2 or 3 GB of VRAM.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/21/2014 02:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1149
Joined: 01/31/2010

way it works with NVIDIA, mixing a 2GB with a 3GB gives you a 2GB SLI outcome, the rest of the VRAM is not used

 



-------------------------

 04/21/2014 04:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 795
Joined: 01/05/2013

Uhn huh...



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

Statistics
84103 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.