Topic Title: Radeon 7660d built in or Radeon HD 5450 2GB for Computer
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/21/2014 08:24 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/21/2014 08:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
westgz
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/21/2014

I was wondering which of these I would get the best result with (gaming and CAD work).  The Radeon 7660d was built into my HP p7-1227c computer, and it doesn't have dedicated memory.  Right now Newegg has a sale on {XFX HD545XCLH2 Radeon HD 5450 2GB 64-Bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.1 HDCP Ready Plug-in CardLow-profile Video Card} and I have no idea which would be better. Can someone help me? Also, is it possible to use both for 3+ moniters?

 

EDIT:

 

Graphics Card

HD7660D
65 W


AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
Don't Know as of now..
Operating System
Fully updated windows 7 64 bit/ also dual boot windows 8 64 bit, but would switch over completely for improvements if needed

Motherboard or System Make & Model

MSI MS-7778 (Jasmine)


Power Supply

Internal 300W (100V-240V)

  • Form factor: Internal ATX

  • Total wattage: 300W

  • Nominal input voltage range: 200-240V/3A (50-60Hz)

  • Dimensions: 150mm x 140mm x 86mm (5.9 x 5.5 x 3.4 inches)

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
Asus 19" LED Monitor (VGA/DVI)

Gateway 23" LED Monitor VGA/DVI

Philips 29" 1080P LED TV DVI/HDMI 
CPU Details

AMD A10-5700

  • TDP: 65W

  • Operating speed: 3.4 GHz (up to 4.0 GHz turbo)

  • Number of cores: 4

  • Socket: FM2



System Memory Type & Amount

12 GB

  • Amount: 12 GB

  • Speed: PC3-12800 MB/sec (runs as PC3-10600 in this system)

  • Type: DDR3-1600

 



Edited: 04/22/2014 at 11:01 AM by westgz
 04/21/2014 09:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7487
Joined: 11/13/2009

First, here is a list of all graphics card benchmarks. You can compare. Second, any change in graphics solutions could require a stronger power supply. Give the information asked for in "PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING' for a more informed response.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 04/21/2014 10:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12911
Joined: 04/17/2008

For CAD work you really should be looking at a FirePro series card.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 04/22/2014 11:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
westgz
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/21/2014

Origional message has now been updated. 

 04/22/2014 11:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7487
Joined: 11/13/2009

The 5450 requires a minimum power supply of 400watts. Recommended 450watts.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 04/22/2014 11:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
westgz
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/21/2014

Originally posted by: stumped The 5450 requires a minimum power supply of 400watts. Recommended 450watts.

 

 

Thank you for the info.  If I upgraded it, could I use both video cards?

 04/22/2014 03:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 289
Joined: 09/16/2012

I would forget about the 5450 you will be taking a real big back step in performance with it and no you can't use both at the same time.



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 04/24/2014 12:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
westgz
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/21/2014

Thanks again.  I'm thinking I will just take the budget dip and buy a 

EVGA GeForce GTX 750Ti instead.  How do you tell if a computer will support the new card?  Thanks for putting up with a beginner.

 04/24/2014 01:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 289
Joined: 09/16/2012

Your computer can support the 750Ti, no problem there but your PSU ( power supply) can't.

The 750Ti is going to draw more power than your psu is going to beable to handle and could couse the psu to fail or couse other problems and if or I should say when it fails it can take your new video card with it.

 

So i would go with what stumped recommended a 450W or even higher a 500W



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 04/24/2014 02:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
westgz
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/21/2014

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00IDG3PRI/ref=s9_simh_gw_p147_d0_i1?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=center-2&pf_rd_r=1CJAVFRZCXYCAJDGD1W0&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=1688200382&pf_rd_i=507846

 

I may be reading it wrong, but the link to this video card says it only needs a 300w power supply (I think).

Statistics
87635 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.