Topic Title: AMD 14.4 Beta and WHQL Driver delivering awfull results
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/01/2014 07:24 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/01/2014 07:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
maguumo
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/01/2014

Heyho,

today i switched from the 14.3 Beta Driver to the new 14.4 WHQL Driver. In Battlefield 4 it delivers awfull results under DirectX (Framedrops to 40 FPS, they should stick to 60 with VSync enabled). Same for the 14.4 Beta Driver. I can't use Mantle with this driver, it just floods my VRAM and starts lagging like hell when the 4GB are full.

 

Also the GPU-Load looks kind of "wrong" while gaming: 

http://puu.sh/8tL2L

http://puu.sh/8v96X

GPU-Z Refresh rate is set to 1sec.

I'm using a Xeon E3 1230v3 on a ASUS H87 Pro (C2), 8GB RAM, Windows 7 64 Bit and a Sapphire R9 290 (Reference).

 

How can i fix this and if that's not possible, were can i download the 14.3 Beta Driver that worked way better for me?



-------------------------
Give a man a fire and he's warm for a day. But set a man on fire and he's warm for the rest of his life.
 05/01/2014 08:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1150
Joined: 01/31/2010

Go back to DX with games, Mantle needs more work on it

Go back to 13.12 which seems to be the most stable

 



-------------------------

 05/02/2014 02:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 795
Joined: 01/05/2013

OR...you could NOT listen to people that tell you to take three steps backward and keep working on it! 

When I first installed Mantle got low frame rates and reinstalled.  Lowered resolution percentage (sampling) ingame and adjusted through CCC...better frame rates and completely stable, now.  Only issue is 15 second lag/freeze in cut scenes that ALWAYS resolves itself so that...not perturbed enough to eliminate it.

Crossfire did not function in ARMAIII...works beautifully, now!  For some reason that have not been able to fathom...AMD drivers work better the more you tinker with them...jussayin.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.



Edited: 05/02/2014 at 02:29 AM by UcouldBrong
 05/02/2014 05:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
maguumo
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/01/2014

Reducing Settings does not help with these Framedrops, disabling V-Sync does. But playing without limited FPS results in tearing (and the card making sounds as if it's about to die, really need to replace the reference cooler).

 

Also i don't buy a 400$ card to reduce settings. Playing with lower resolution scale/without MSAA/HBAO is something i could also use a R9 280X/GTX 770 for...

Thanks for the tipps, i guess i'll just experiment a bit with the 14.4 Driver and if nothing helps switch back to 13.12....



-------------------------
Give a man a fire and he's warm for a day. But set a man on fire and he's warm for the rest of his life.
 05/02/2014 10:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12207
Joined: 04/17/2008

Go back to 13.12. If you don't experience a problem specifically stated in the release notes as resolved, then you don't need to update your drivers. Mantle is targeted at APU setups primarily at this time and, as people forget to mention, it is BETA SOFTWARE.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/02/2014 01:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
maguumo
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/01/2014

Yeah, i know mantle is beta software. But with 14.4 WHQL it doesn't work in any way, 14.3 was fine. Also, and that's the main problem, even DirectX is bugging under 14.4.

 

I switched back to 13.12 WHQL, but i don't know whats up with the 14.4 driver....



-------------------------
Give a man a fire and he's warm for a day. But set a man on fire and he's warm for the rest of his life.
 05/03/2014 08:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rick216
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 05/02/2014

Is 13.12 the best stable drivers? My 280x flickers during gameplay. I'm using 14.4.

 05/04/2014 09:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1150
Joined: 01/31/2010

I only have an HD 5450 which is far too sluggish for games.

I ran Windows update on the M4A77D box and there still is no new driver there

I ran some benchmarks to see if the rig was working ok, no problems, ouside of a sluggish GPU

I bought the HD5450 for a low power card to install Windows server

 

 



-------------------------

 05/05/2014 09:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 795
Joined: 01/05/2013

Maguumo...you may have missed the point completely.  It is NOT about reducing the settings and hmmmpf...there's your solution.  The point is I was having problems and tried different things and finally it worked beautifully!  Now I've even upped the  AA to supersampling.

Don't see where you uninstalled...cleaned...reinstalled as recommended ad nauseum.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

Statistics
84175 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.